We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Ideal Location for Exploring Languedoc”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Libellule

Rooftop terrace
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Rooftop terrace
Eating area Sitting area near kitchen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
27 reviews
Rooftop terrace
Eating area
Sitting area near kitchen
Main floor bedroom
Ensuite bathroom for main floor bedroom
Upper floor bedroom (also has ensuite bathroom)
Rooftop terrace
Rooftop terrace
Rooftop Terrace
Village square
Village café
Pezenas
Hiking trail starts near our house
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 5
Neffies, Herault, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 27 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
RWC37
Wintergreen, Virginia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Ideal Location for Exploring Languedoc”
Reviewed 24 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

This was our first time exploring this fascinating area of France and it was simply wonderful. Libellule made the perfect base location. It is a quiet haven in the scenic town of Neffies with easy auto access to the plethora of regional attractions (wineries, markets, beach, hiking, and oodles of interesting history to name just a few) .

Libellule itself is a historic multi-level home that offers plenty of room with 2 spacious bedrooms (each with its own bathroom). It is fully equipped with all manner of modern conveniences, from kitchen, utility, to entertainment electronics . It even has a roof top terrace with a nice view of the town and countryside. We enjoyed this immensely as we found it to be the perfect spot to unwind and "test" the wine and goodies purchased during the the day's sightseeing. The wireless even works on the rooftop - what a way to catch up on your email!

Neffies is a quaint peaceful refuge that is home to all the truly essential needs and all with a few hundred yards from Libellule: Les Goutailles, one of the finest restaurants in the area (make a reservation in advance to be safe), a wonderful boulangerie (fresh pain-chocolate everyday for breakfast!), and a pleasingly complete and friendly small grocery. For all other needs there is a large modern supermarket only 10 minutes away.

The region is full of wonderful markets to explore. These are the perfect places to find all manner of regional delicacies to bring back to Libellule for a fantastic meal. Our favorite market was the one in Clermont-l'Herault (Google routes you via the major roads but we really enjoyed taking D15 directly from Neffies as it goes through some beautiful mountains and countryside). We really liked the nearby town of Pezanas which was full of squares with fine cafes, restaurants, art shops, museums, and lots of interesting shopping. Within easy reach is the Mediterranean. We visited the seafood mecca of Sete (the "Venice" of France) and did a delightful gourmet walking tour and learned much about the interesting background of Sete all the while enjoying many of its edible pleasures. Neffies is also is within easy access to the major highways for ranging further afield (we did a blue cheese pilgrimage day trip to Roquefort-sur-Soulzon for example).

We would highly recommend Libellule and the Neffies area as a perfect vacation.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The peacefulness of Neffies
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BD_Singap...
Singapore, Singapore
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Historic and comfortable”
Reviewed 23 December 2012 for a stay in October 2012

We were looking for a quiet relaxing week with varied activities nearby and some good restaurants, and we found exactly that. You can’t help but relax in the historic town of Neffies which is less touristy than others nearby. It’s like stepping into the past, with well-preserved and interesting buildings and winding cobblestone side streets to explore.

This part of France is best traveled by car, but there is plenty of parking in the main square which is only a 30 second walk from the front door. Inside, it is clean, bright, with all the modern conveniences of home, and comfortable beds and lots of storage space. The kitchen has plenty of counter space and a new dishwasher. The second floor living room hosts numerous international TV channels and wireless internet to keep you entertained.

The scenic view from the rooftop terrace overlooking the valley and vineyards was a great place to have a glass of local wine before heading for dinner. There are plenty of restaurant options in the area, a couple within walking distance in Neffies and plenty more in the nearby town of Pezenas, all which have fantastically creative menus for reasonable prices. It’s a minute walk to the little bakery down the street which sells all the bread and pastries you will need, and there is a grocery store in the square.

The area is great for cycling, mountain biking or hiking to burn off all that yummy food. My road bike and I spent many hours climbing the nearby hills on route D15 which heads north out of town, while a short drive west gives you access to the seemingly never ending switchbacks of the Haute-Languedoc region which provide scenic and challenging climbs with very light traffic. My favourite route was the 12km 7% climb up the Col de Fontfroide near Ollarges. You can rent a fully equipped road bike (and other types) from the local Pezenas bike store at good weekly rates, and the well-marked hiking trails lead to lovely views of the valley below.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: So many things to do in the area
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Salt Spring Island, Canada
Reviewed 4 July 2012 for a stay in May 2012

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We loved the intimate cultural feel of Libellule, Neffiès and the countryside.
Liked least: The steep, irregular rises of the stairs - part of the charm - but ascend and descend with care.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JuliaBath
Bath
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Libellule is spot on - one of my best rentals in the non-luxury category”
Reviewed 2 May 2012 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Very well equipped, quiet, well presented, comfortable and good value so able to feel at home very quickly. I would certainly return. The owners were great in helping us out on one or two requests and phoned to check out that all was going well.
It isn't luxurious, but is very homely, and ideal for a relaxed holiday, but stairs are pretty steep, especially for the terrace, so not for anyone with limited mobility.
The village of Neffies is great - 2 good restaurants (closed Sat midday so don't count on them for changeover day!) - a good traditional boulangerie and village shop. Exceptionally easy car access to loads of other places (Pezanas, Sete, Orb valley, Beziers ... the list is too long!), which, along with lovely walks would keep you occupied for weeks! Website is good and very accurate so do have a look!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: lack of dishwasher
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sharyn_40
Ottawa, Canada
1 review
“Three weeks of perfect holiday in Libellule, Neffies”
Reviewed 18 March 2012 for a stay in March 2012

Gill's review of Neffies.

I was greatly in need of a quiet holiday, where I could relax, and get away from the demands of my daily life. I found such a place in Neffies. It is a wonderful little medieval village, tucked away in the wine making area of Southern France. Despite its isolation, there is easy access to civilisation via a beautifully kept network of good roads, which pass through lovely countryside, and other little villages scattered like jewels, to be discovered by the foraging explorer. It has a great advantage over holiday locations such as Pezenas, because it is smaller, and the local people are really friendly and welcoming. One cannot walk down the street without being hailed by a local, opening their shutters, and wishing one good day and happy hunting.
The owners of Libellule have done a remarkably good job of providing all the basic comforts of modern living, without ruining the atmosphere of this quaint medieval home. We wanted for nothing. The house was clean, with comfortable beds, and modern bathrooms. There was endless hot water for showers. The kitchen was well appointed with stove, microwave, toaster etc, and a good fridge/freezer. There were very good instructions left for the use of all appliances, phone and television. If one does not wish to shut out the world completely, there is wireless internet access, free calls to Canada, and satellite TV with French and English channels. Full modern laundry facilities were much appreciated since we were here for 3 weeks. The owners are available by phone if there are any problems, although we did not encounter any.
Access to food and basic supplies was easily found within walking distance in the village. There is a delightful local store which appears to provide everything one can think of during the holiday – even a variety of different batteries for cameras. The owner is very friendly, and has been very patient with our stuttering attempts at communication. There is also an excellent bakery, two equally excellent restaurants and, of course, ready access to wine.
I have thoroughly enjoyed my 3 weeks at Libellule in Neffies, and would not hesitate to return for another stay. It combined the ability to get away from our bustling modern world by stepping back several hundred years, while maintaining the choice to return to that world at intervals, and on one's own terms.

Gill Puxty

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Modern bathrooms and constant hot water
Liked least: Steep staircases to enter and to get to sitting room.
Travelling group: With Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing