We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing!”
other travellers have booked this property
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
26 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Cottage -
3 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 7
Dormans, Marne, Grand Est

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 26 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Mrsmac28
Midlands
Level 4 Contributor
30 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“Amazing! ”
Reviewed 23 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015

Just returned from a fabulous weeks stay at Le Clos Rigaux in early May 2015

Had a wonderful time at this stunning property, which we can't praise the owner highly enough for being so immaculately clean and comfortable - with beautiful extra touches like fresh flowers and a bottle of champagne adding that little touch of luxury and making it all the more special.

Great location in Dormans with a boulangerie, delicatessen, supermarket, restaurants and even a small tabac (very friendly owners) literally on the door step! Definitely recommend a visit to the Dormans WW1 monument and the Castle which are both stunning and within walking distance of the gite. The French/British/German WW1 cemetery is also worth a visit and just off the main high street in Dormans.

Out and about there's plenty to discover on the beautiful champagne route - we highly recommend a trip to Champagne Jacques Chopin in Verneuil (also very friendly owners) and the bigger Champagne houses of A.Bergere and Mercier on Avenue De Champagne itself in charming Epernay. If you're feeling a little more adventurous (and happy to take on city traffic), Veuve Cliquot and the cathedral in Reims are also not to be missed.

All in all we had a fabulous week and feel so fortunate to have spent our first holiday in Champagne in this beautiful property - we certainly plan to return to Le Clos Rigaux!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ajbandg
Level 4 Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
“Lovely, stylish and clean holiday gite”
Reviewed 4 November 2014 for a stay in October 2014

We stayed here in the October half term and wanted to hire a house that we would enjoy spending time inside of in case of bad weather. As it turned out it was unseasonably warm and no rain! This was a bonus as we also had outside space at the back. The house itself is amazing. The décor is what we would probably consider very French but as opposed to other places we've stayed it had a wealth of interesting things to look at. It was also the cleanest holiday home I have ever stayed in. I couldn't find a speck of dust! It was so well stocked with every kind of utensil, cups and glasses you would need. There is a dishwasher as well which makes the cooking less of a chore. The children (12 and 5) loved the house and often wanted to come back to it at the end of a touring day.

The only downside was the town itself. We had expected the towns restaurants/bars to be open in the evening or be able to walk into during the day. It wasn't really like that but I guess it must be out of season for the smaller towns. There are though supermarkets, bakes and butchers which were still open. The larger towns like Reims and Epernay were open and we enjoyed our visits to the tourist attractions such as Reims Cathedral/museum and Epernay's champagne houses/tours. We managed to eat in some nice restaurants there too. We also visited La Main de Massiges combined with our Reims trip. This was quite a journey but well worth a visit. There are WW1 Trenches that have been preserved/uncovered as they were and you can walk around them. It really was an insight to the horror and loss of life marked also in the cemeteries around the champagne district. We visited Chateau Thierry which was a lovely town with a longish walk up to the castle but with lovely views. We did also visit the American war memorial there and a local chateau. The latter being abit pricey...

Overall we found it so easy to get to this area from Calais. Under 3 hours. Which in comparison to our 8 or so hours to Brittany last year was brilliant. We didn't really see any other British people or cars apart from our day trip to Disneyland Paris which was also around an hour to get to. We were surprised with the beauty of this region with every available field growing vines. When you visit outside of the region it's still very rural and we were surprised to see piles and piles of potatoes that had been harvested by the roads! From fields as far as the eye could see. We loved the holiday and it was a relaxing as well as cultural break. Isabelle was really friendly and welcoming. Sorry my husband frightened your grandson he tends to have that effect on babies! We bought a bottle of her sons champagne and enjoyed the complimentary bottle. Thank you!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the house
Liked least: the proximity to the road although the windows were good
Travelling group: Young Children
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worcester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 7 October 2014 for a stay in September 2014

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The decor
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
JHLJP
Hampshire, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Nice House”
Reviewed 30 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Lovely house and a lovely owner for whom nothing was too much trouble.

But 'the elephant in the room' is the very busy road on which the house is located. The traffic started at 6am, or a bit before, and the noise was enough to disturb those in the front bedrooms. Lorries being the main culprits.
If you are used to road noise then perhaps not a problem, but if you are a light sleeper then it certainly is.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Plenty of room.
Liked least: Busy and noisy road
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JoeGeeste...
Amsterdam, The Netherlands
Level 4 Contributor
25 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Terrific Home in the Champagne region”
Reviewed 10 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014
1
person found this review helpful

This is one of the best homes we have rented in France. We usually go to France during the first week of September and rent a home for a week. We haven't been disappointed yet, but this home fit our needs exactly. We were extremely happy with the property, and Isabelle the owner was very helpful.

Traveling with my wife, my daughter and her husband from America, and my grandson. Plenty of space for all of us, well appointed bedrooms and shower facilities, My grandson being a toddler, enjoyed the garden with his toys, and we had dinner in the garden as well, which was extremely pleasant. The location in Dormans was perfect. All our day trips usually only took 1/2 hour in any direction. Dormans itself is generally a town you would pass through going somewhere else.

It does have a World War I monument and a chateau, but outside of that, not much more. The restaurants were average, although good price and quality. The exception was La Table Sourdet, which was excellent, with a 3 course lunch for € 12 per person.

Unfortunately the front of the house was on the main street through town, so lots of traffic late at night and early in the morning. It was warm while we were there, and we would have left the bedroom windows open except for the noise. The living room chairs were not as comfortable as we would have liked, we think it was more for style than comfort.

We would definitely rent this property again if we come back to the champagne region, it was a great holiday.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Perfect house in a great location.
Liked least: Traffic noise at night.
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing