We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A delicious slice of Spanish history”

Review of Casa Barbara

The village
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The village
View of our street Entrance
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
13 reviews
The village
View of our street
Entrance
Roof terrace
Village outskirts
Lots to read!
Another view of the lounge
Kitchen
Double bedroom
View of the two connecting bedrooms
Local walk in spring
Typical villager
Local artists
local mineral water spring
Walk to the spring
Village from a local path
Threshing ground in autumn
Village in moody weather
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
La Taha, Province of Granada, Andalucia

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 13 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
peter c
Cambridge, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“A delicious slice of Spanish history”
Reviewed 4 June 2015 for a stay in March 2015

A more genuine place from which to explore La Taha and the surrounding valleys and ancient tracks would be hard to find. This small group of villages form part of what was the last outpost of the Moors in Spain and this is evident in the architecture of Casa Barbara and the other houses in Ferreirola. Barbara herself lives next door. Barbara is English but is as much part of this place as the sparkling mineral water spouting from the nearby springs having lived here for over 20yrs. She is a font (sorry I'll stop the water thing now) of local information but will equally leave you to make your own discoveries if you wish. Nearby Pitres offers all the provisions you need but there are visiting vans for fish and bread etc as well as a few good bars and restaurants nearby. A fairly moderate drive will take you to Orgiva, Bubion or up to the Sierra Nevada at Trevelez but there's a lot to be said for strolls along the valley followed by lunch on the roof terrace taking in views of this beautiful corner of the Alpujarras. Go.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
passiflor...
East Anglia
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“The Enchanted Valley”
Reviewed 9 December 2014 for a stay in October 2014

I'm just eating a big bowl of Ferreirola soup made with English ingredients-- pepper, sweet potato, tomato and garlic simmered gently until the peppers turn soft and the added hot paprika permeates the whole -- and it's good, but it doesn't taste the same as the soup I make when we stay at Casa Barbara. The little four ring gas cooker always takes a hammering when we're there, but for those who don't want to cook on holiday there's a multitude of places nearby to eat out. Our favourite is the little bar in Mecinilla when a few glasses of red wine with accompanying tapas makes cooking at home redundant. How to describe Casa Barbara? Let me put it this way: staying in the magical valley of La Taha is going to be a great experience wherever you book, but to wake under a ceiling of cleft chestnut and olive, to sit on the balcony and watch the sun rise over La Corona with the valley beneath still shrouded in shadow, to feel five hundred years of history all around you, adds a depth to the holiday that nowhere fancier or less authentic could possibly match. If I had to sum it up in a phrase I'd call it 'not too fancy, just right', like the valley and the people and the bars themselves. Is it six or seven times we've been back? Eight? Each time we lug our bags up the stairs it's as if we've never been away and the outside world fades into insignificance. Then when you get back home you can close your eyes and remember the light from the setting sun laying along the hillside over the valley, remember frantically cooking tapas for our perfect landlady, remember the smiles and the welcoming 'Hola' from each person you pass in the village, remember the white villages shining among the olives and holm oaks, and the clonk of goat bells sounding through the intense silence. Eight, it's eight times we've been back. Next year, God willing, we'll make it nine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the location
Liked least: going home
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RuthSteph...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Our perfect holiday getaway”
Reviewed 16 May 2014 for a stay in May 2014

This was our second visit to Barbara's house in the Alpujarra region of Andalucia, and once again we were transported into a totally unique and gloriously relaxing experience. This traditional Arabic house set in the tiny "pueblos blancos" of Ferreirola could not be more inviting; with its pretty balcony surrounded by honeysuckle and vines, a breathtaking view of the nearby mountains, well equipped kitchen and roof top terrace (watch out for the low beam as you come down the steps), there is nothing that I don't like. The peace and tranquility have given me some of the best nights' sleep I've ever had, there are plenty of opportunities to walk locally, or if you have hired a car, explore the other villages a little further afield. Ferreirola is a simple place with no bars, shops or restaurants, but a short walk down to Mecina provides a very friendly and colourful local bar that serves unpretentious and reasonably priced food. Each time we visit I find it increasingly hard leaving this idyllic place, we'll definitely be going back for more.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham
Reviewed 23 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hertfordshire
Reviewed 20 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;