We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
23
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
23
3
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews fat fish bushman's river safe parking great value for money bed and breakfast linda hosts life quality base eateries
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We took a big chance right in the middle of the festive season and was lucky enough to be accommodated by Fat Fish. The owners are very friendly and helpful and even assisted us in planning our trip ahead with great ideas. Rooms are very nice and well equipped. Beds are fantastic! Breakfast was very good. This is great value for money. I would certainly recommend this to anybody.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FatFishBandB, Owner at Fat Fish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed meeting you and Lisa and hope that wherever it was that you decided to stay on your way, you were not disappointed and had a safe and happy holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I went to Bushman's River for a weekend of quiet reflection and study. I had a scientific article to prepare. I chose the Fat Fish as my base. What a wonderful choice. The ambience is absolutely wonderful! The hosts, Neville and Linda were excellent. Their knowledge of the environment, eateries and sights is excellent. They really make life pleasant and easy whilst one is there. The room was sunny, large and comfortable. The en-suite bathroom is large and well kept. Breakfast was standard fare but well presented and good quality. As B&B's go, this one is going to be tough to beat!
They were also very helpful and provided ample facilities for my study and writing.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wouter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FatFishBandB, Owner at Fat Fish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Wouter, your kind comments are much appreciated, thanks so much. It was a pleasure to have met you and hope we get the opportunity again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Neville & Linda are absolutely perfect hosts. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel comfortable, and they were only too happy to help with any requests and extras that we needed. Our room was absolutely spotless, and spacious. The breakfast were delicious. Two added extras which were particularly noteworthy were free wifi in your room (commonplace overseas, but for some reason, unique to SA), and filter coffee with a french press in your room!

Would recommend Fat Fish to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SaffaDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FatFishBandB, Owner at Fat Fish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review, it is really appreciated. We hope we have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

A great place to stay. I'll recommend this B n B to anyone who likes quality. Great, clean rooms with good Wi Fi, welcome tea/coffee, a spacious modern bathroom, always hot water, soft bath towels, cleaned daily, soft linen of good quality, and a full English breakfast. All this and a wonderful and friendly couple hosting you and making sure you are comfy and happy. Private entrance and a communal fridge to keep your beers and wine cold. There is also a small private bench to sit on outside the room in the garden which is fabulous for a good read and chat, We stayed for 10 days and we will be back!

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms are great but no 1 and no 2 have the afternoon sunshine which is great. They are a bit more private.
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zelda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FatFishBandB, Owner at Fat Fish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Thanks so much for such positive feedback Zelda. We really appreciate you taking the time. We are so glad that you and Chris enjoyed your stay with us and that the weather was also kind! We look forward to meeting you again sometime in the future. Take care, kind regards Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 March 2016

A beautifully presented and clean large room opening onto a little garden area with picnic table and bench seating was our base for 2 days in this quiet coastal area to the East of Port Elizabeth. We had travelled from Plettenburg Bay and wanted to be close to our final stop, a safari. Our expectations were exceeded. We had a bathroom with bath and shower, access to a communal dining room with bar area and a large shared fridge. Neville served us a lovely breakfast here. The room we were in didn't have wifi but the dining room did.
The Sunshine Coast is well worth a visit. The almost white beaches are backed by sand dunes or are sheltered little coves and the 2 river mouths are very attractive too.
We enjoyed meeting the local people in the Bushmans Bar and Grill and Stanley's Restaurant. Although the shopping centre at Kenton initially looks a little uninspiring, it provided us with an interesting hour browsing through local products, both new and older.

  • Stayed: February 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank JanehAmersham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FatFishBandB, Owner at Fat Fish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 18 March 2016

Hi Jane, thank you for your positive feedback. I was so disappointed not to meet you (in bed recovering from my op), next time perhaps! We are so glad you enjoyed your stay with us and our village and restaurants. We are happy to report that the wifi is once again working in all the rooms as well as in the dining area. Take care, regards Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews