We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quiet and friendly”
Review of Fat Fish B&B

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Fat Fish B&B
Reviewed 15 January 2018

It is a quiet bed and breakfast with a safe parking. The owners made us feel very welcome and the breakfast was good.
Only the mattress on the bunkbed was not that comfortable as those on the double bed. The internet did not work very well during our stay, but we where just able to make some reservations further on our trip

  • Stayed: November 2017, travelled with friends
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank aussi33
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Linda F, Owner at Fat Fish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for your review and your very positive rating, we appreciate it. Sorry about the internet, it comes with the season, with all the swarms of holiday makers the internet does unfortunately become intermittent and weak at times. It is back to normal again now. We hope you had a good trip from here. All the best and hope to see you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (26)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 26 reviews

Reviewed 30 December 2017 via mobile

We took a big chance right in the middle of the festive season and was lucky enough to be accommodated by Fat Fish. The owners are very friendly and helpful and even assisted us in planning our trip ahead with great ideas. Rooms are very nice and well equipped. Beds are fantastic! Breakfast was very good. This is great value for money. I would certainly recommend this to anybody.

Stayed: December 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank Stefan J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FatFishBandB, Owner at Fat Fish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2018

Thank you so much for your lovely review. We really enjoyed meeting you and Lisa and hope that wherever it was that you decided to stay on your way, you were not disappointed and had a safe and happy holiday.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 August 2017

I went to Bushman's River for a weekend of quiet reflection and study. I had a scientific article to prepare. I chose the Fat Fish as my base. What a wonderful choice. The ambience is absolutely wonderful! The hosts, Neville and Linda were excellent. Their knowledge of the environment, eateries and sights is excellent. They really make life pleasant and easy whilst one is there. The room was sunny, large and comfortable. The en-suite bathroom is large and well kept. Breakfast was standard fare but well presented and good quality. As B&B's go, this one is going to be tough to beat!
They were also very helpful and provided ample facilities for my study and writing.

Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wouter B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FatFishBandB, Owner at Fat Fish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 10 October 2017

Hi Wouter, your kind comments are much appreciated, thanks so much. It was a pleasure to have met you and hope we get the opportunity again sometime in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 September 2016

Neville & Linda are absolutely perfect hosts. From the moment we arrived we were made to feel comfortable, and they were only too happy to help with any requests and extras that we needed. Our room was absolutely spotless, and spacious. The breakfast were delicious. Two added extras which were particularly noteworthy were free wifi in your room (commonplace overseas, but for some reason, unique to SA), and filter coffee with a french press in your room!

Would recommend Fat Fish to everyone!

  • Stayed: September 2016, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank SaffaDuke
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FatFishBandB, Owner at Fat Fish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2016

Thank you so much for taking the time to write such a positive review, it is really appreciated. We hope we have the pleasure of your company again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2016

A great place to stay. I'll recommend this B n B to anyone who likes quality. Great, clean rooms with good Wi Fi, welcome tea/coffee, a spacious modern bathroom, always hot water, soft bath towels, cleaned daily, soft linen of good quality, and a full English breakfast. All this and a wonderful and friendly couple hosting you and making sure you are comfy and happy. Private entrance and a communal fridge to keep your beers and wine cold. There is also a small private bench to sit on outside the room in the garden which is fabulous for a good read and chat, We stayed for 10 days and we will be back!

Room Tip: Any of the three rooms are great but no 1 and no 2 have the afternoon sunshine which is great. They...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Zelda K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FatFishBandB, Owner at Fat Fish B&B, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2016

Thanks so much for such positive feedback Zelda. We really appreciate you taking the time. We are so glad that you and Chris enjoyed your stay with us and that the weather was also kind! We look forward to meeting you again sometime in the future. Take care, kind regards Linda

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Been to Fat Fish B&B? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fat Fish B&B

Address: 29 Umthathi Street, Bushman's River Mouth 6190, South Africa
Region: South Africa > Eastern Cape > Bushman's River Mouth
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 B&Bs / Inns in Bushman's River Mouth
Price Range: R 805 - R 1 120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 3
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Fat Fish B&B reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing