We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (119)
Filter reviews
120 results
Traveller rating
86
22
5
2
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
86
22
5
2
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviews these cabins woodland lake full kitchen victorian house wood burning fireplace spa tub get away friendly greeting invited friends national forest nice tv walking trails beautiful pine trees white mountains pinetop lakeside area coffee table love this place
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 120 reviews
Reviewed 17 June 2018

We were desperate to fine a one night stand in the Show Low area the night before we had to be there. Whispering Pines Resort in Lakeside-Pinetop came up on an internet search and showed two cabins open.
We called and they had unit 37 available so we booked it immediately.
Upon arrival the next afternoon, we were welcomed by an athletic host who jogged on before us to show us the way to our cabin. He personally escorted us inside and reviewed the amenities and features. We were very favorably impressed with the layout and cleanliness, and particularly delighted our front porch was right up against the National Forest where we enjoyed a delightful hike.
All the features were clean, efficient and worked just fine. the bed was very comfortable, the kitchen well stocked, and the sap tub delightful.
We will certainly come again..

Stayed: June 2018
1  Thank dlm-cats
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPR_Mgr, Manager at Whispering Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 8 July 2018

Thank you so much for taking the time to give us a review. We are so glad you enjoyed cabin 37 and got to take advantage of that beautiful forest right behind us. We are so glad you chose to stay with us and give us a try. Again thank you for your review and we look forward to seeing you up here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 May 2018 via mobile

Hubby and I had a super nice getaway at Whispering Pines in Pinetop. The room was cute and cozy, not the Ritz - things were older, but the bed was comfortable, TV was good with lots of channels, the shower had great water pressure and hot water and the spa tub was new and super nice! Should have brought shampoo, but other than that it had everything we needed for a nice relaxing weekend. Plus it was within walking distance to Darbi's Cafe which was excellent. And right across the highway from a beautiful hike at Billy Creek Trailhead. Highly recommend for a nice cool weekend in the pines - we hope to be back soon!

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank jandsrucker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPR_Mgr, Manager at Whispering Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2018

Thank you so much for your review! Our guest's comfort and relaxation is our number one goal and we truly hope we met that goal for you. We have recently added a FAQ page on our website that does explain what is and is not in the cabin so hopefully we can catch more people before they arrive to notify them we do not provide certain things (like shampoo). We appreciate feedback like that and reviews like yours that constantly help us address any gaps we have in our customer service. Thank you again for your review, we are thrilled that you enjoyed your stay here and we truly hope to see you back up here again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 April 2018

I was worried about staying in a “pet friendly” cabin but the cabin was very clean and smelled great: We stayed in Cabin 38 which I think is probably the best one. It was at the back of the property and even tho there was a cabin right next to us, looking out the door and windows you couldn’t see the others. Felt very secluded. The resort was very conveniently located next to Darby’s, an excellent restaurant. We had so much fun walking in the woods with our pups. They can’t wait to go back!!! And neither can we.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Donna B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2018

Problems that could be solved with very little money and a “think like a customer” attitude left me feeling annoyed with Whispering Pines. Now, fair is fair. The location and grounds were great. The owner/staff were sweet and helpful. But they seriously need to sit down and think. First, that “booking fee” of $8, whether you book online or call them? That is no booking fee but a fixed charge for your stay, and it should be be advertised in the nightly rate. Between this and taxes, a $115 a night charge became a $143 bill. Second, our “efficiency” unit was so awkward for such silly reasons. It had no door between the sitting room and bedroom. It means you cannot sneak out of bed in the early morning and flip on a light and dress to walk the dog without waking up your spouse. Put a door on the bedroom! And there was almost nowhere to put things down - one tiny coffee table in the sitting room and one foldout suitcase table in the bedroom? In a bedroom with no closet, moreover? Not even one chest of drawers or bureau or even a hook to hang things on - and the bedside tables were tiny squares. If a couple is in there, one person’s suitcase has to be lifted up onto the bed so stuff can be taken out and then be repacked and taken off the bed and put on top of the cooler or wherever. What a pain! For this, the customer pays over $100 a night? Try some cheap and creative solutions: get a little bureau from Goodwill. Put up a clothes rack. And that bathroom! It had zero space on the sink and only the toilet tank to put things down on - and right over that toilet tank hung the towels and faceclothes. Not even a hook on the back of the bathroom door for your nightgown. Oh, my goodness! Reach over to the top of the toilet for a toothbrush, and you dislodge a facecloth so it falls into the toilet. My facecloth fell down five times. Again, creativity could get you around this. Hang a rack on the back of the bathroom door, with hooks and space to shove stuff. Anyway, we will look for somewhere else next time.

Stayed: April 2018
Thank KeeshondsForever
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
WPR_Mgr, Manager at Whispering Pines Resort, responded to this reviewResponded 21 April 2018

Hi there! Thank you for your review. We are sorry that you did not enjoy your experience here. Our cabins do have a unique footprint and some older amenities and because of that we always welcome suggestions for how to make the stay more comfortable for our guests. Your suggestions will be discussed and thoughtfully considered but I would like to address a couple of things here now. First, that $8 fee is not a booking fee, it is a pet fee. It is not attached to every stay or every cabin, it is a fee that we charge for allowing you to bring your pet to our property and inside our cabin. We do have a one time, $5 resort fee that we charge that you are notified about when you book. That is a fee we had to implement to help offset the cost of prop206 which voters passed here in Arizona in 2016, so that we didn't have to increase our prices for our guests. Our two room spa suite cabin is not meant to have a bedroom door as it is meant to be a studio style cabin and there is a closet in the bedroom with a luggage rack, which may not have been enough for you and your spouse I understand but had you asked we easily could have supplied you with an additional luggage rack. You have some great suggestions in your review that we will consider and implement and we appreciate your input on that. We did have other cabin options for you and you did view that cabin before you checked into it and had you made us aware of your dissatisfaction with that cabin at any point during your stay we would have happily moved you to one that would have been more to your liking. We would have appreciated the opportunity to make it right for you at the time of your stay. Again we are sorry that you did not enjoy your time in our cabin and even though you have stated you will not be back we do certainly hope you may reconsider and stay in another cabin style as we have several to choose from on our property. Thank you again for your review and the suggestions, they are very much appreciated.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2017

After reading TA reviews I knew we were not booking at a "resort". We showed up expecting a clean, quaint cabin in the woods with reasonable distance between us and other guests. We expected to be close to hiking and all the conveniences of the businesses in town. Yep, that's what we got.
We also got excellent service from Celeste and Pam. On our first night, we were invited to a hosted gathering around a campfire making smores with our grand daughters with ingredients provided by the management. Didn't see that one coming. We also were provided with an abundance of firewood and everything else we asked for. All that for a price point that I thought was reasonable. Was it perfect...no, but we didn't expect it to be. Next time we will bring shampoo and we'll be prepared for the 12.5% county assessed tax. And there will definitely be a next time.

  • Stayed: December 2017, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank OldNorCalGuy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews