We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (553)
Filter reviews
553 results
Traveller rating
369
110
43
20
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
369
110
43
20
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviews michelin star penthouse suite costa brava el pirata tapas bar small beach beautiful location public spaces blue bar great cocktails star resort relaxing getaway hotel puts min drive open bathroom jacuzzi tub open to the public
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 553 reviews
Reviewed 8 October 2018

We have just returned from a four night stay at the Vistabella.
The hotel itself is beautiful with amazing views to enjoy whilst eating breakfast.
Michael was very attentive at breakfast and constantly looking after all the guests.
We were incredibly lucky with the weather and the fact that the hotel was quiet which made our stay feel very exclusive.
The walk down to the Canyelles beach from hotel was only few minutes if you didn’t want to stay on the small cove beach down from the hotel.
I believe we visited at a perfect time I don’t feel you would get the same ambience if the hotel was full or in height of summer.
Our room was a garden room which in itself was very comfortable,however I think it should be made aware that it looks out over the front of the hotel car park and was not we envisioned a garden view would be.
Another point is that there is no tea/coffee making facilities in your room.I never even thought to check this as most hotels offer this service.
I really think this should be offered in a hotel of this standard.
Breakfast was lovely with plenty of choices where you could sit to soak up the amazing views. Can not comment on the restaurants as we were touring and ate out.
Reception staff were very helpful and the secured parking was only a short walk from the hotel.
We would return........with a travel Kettle

Room tip: Sea view room
Date of stay: October 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank kazy68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VistabellaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vistabella, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear « kazy68 »,

Thank you for choosing the Vistabella for your stay and for taking care of writing this complete review, we are so glad to hear that you enjoyed every moment with us.

We regret to know that you missed the tea/coffee making facilities in your room, we don’t provide them as a standard in all our rooms, however you can request them at our staff and it will be supplied to your room in a short delay.

We really hope to welcome you again in the near future.

The Vistabella team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2018 via mobile

Our recent two night stay @ The Vistabella gave us an opportunity to experience the Costa Brava in comfort, if now quite 5 Star luxury. The sea-facing rooms were nicely appointed. We were afforded panoramic water views from our balcony and the sound of waves crashing against the shore as we were falling off to sleep.

On the other hand, we didn’t feel the total package justified the price. The public spaces seemed a bit worn. The workout room left everything to be desired. And, among the most irksome aspects, we were asked to sign out beach towels from the front desk and return them. I’d expect this from a far less elite hotel. There is much room for improvement here.

Date of stay: September 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank N4908VRmartinm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VistabellaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vistabella, responded to this reviewResponded 11 October 2018

Dear ''Martin M'',

Thank you for choosing The Hotel Vistabella for your stay in Roses. We are delighted that we could provide a convenient location during your visit with great service, views and accommodation.

We regret to hear of the inconveniences you experienced during your stay and appreciate you bringing your concerns to our attention so that they may be addressed.

We are sorry that our fitness and spa facility didn’t meet your workout requirements. Although we are open since 1963, we are committed to bringing a modern and luxurious experience for all of our guests, we keep doing improvements every year during the winter and what you brought to us is definitely something we have as a priority.

We apologize if you felt displeased for having to sign and return the beach towels we provide. We have a public beach on site that delights our guests but being public means that non guests could also access our facilities. Asking you to sign and return the towels to the front desk is the only way we have to control the correct use of this service we're bringing.

We hope to have the opportunity to welcome you again at the Vistabella.

Sincerely,

The Vistabella Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 September 2018

The Hotel has great views of the water and a short walk to the water The restaurants offer a warm de variety of tasty options and all the staff was very very friendly. I recommend for a stay or dinner at the very least

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank FarAway70595
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VistabellaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vistabella, responded to this reviewResponded 19 October 2018

Dear “FarAway70595”,

Thank you for choosing the Vistabella for your visit to Roses. We are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your experience with us and at our restaurants!
Our location provides the mesmerizing views that we are famous for and a perfect quiet place for rest while being, just a short walk away from the beautiful beaches and the creek a few steps down the hotel.
We are also thrilled to hear that you enjoyed our restaurants. We put a lot of effort and care in making our 4 restaurants with different types of cuisine and ambiance, a key part of our guest’s experience.

We hope to welcome you back to Roses again in the future!

The Vistabella team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

First the good - Our seaview bedroom was beautiful. The staff were unfailingly helpful and courteous. The breakfast buffet was excellent.
Unfortunately, we were ultimately disappointed with our stay, as we wanted to relax in the sunshine, and this was not easy, as there was not enough lounging space. The only swimming pool is small, and indoors.There were a few beautiful bali beds on the terrace, and four other loungers squashed into a walkway near some steps and a service area, where staff walked back and forth carrying boxes of food. Contrary to what a precious poster said, there isn't a private beach, as such a thing isn't possible in Spain. There is a small beach which is open to the public, and the hotel puts loungers on this beach. Unfortunately many of these are broken, but the biggest issue is that anyone on the beach (hotel guests or not) can use these loungers, and only once in our stay did we manage to find a free one. I was not happy to be staying in a five star hotel, and yet lying on a towel in the sand, like I did when I was a penniless teenager. Generally, when we stay in a hotel of this standard, there is a sea-level lounging area, where one can swim and sunbathe freely. Vistabella has such an area, but it is given over to a beach-bar/restaurant. The main problem in my opinion, is that this small hotel has five restaurants, which take up most of the space. That's obviously a business decision, which is fine, but as a result, our decision would be to stay somewhere else in the future. If restaurants are a priority for you, this would be a good choice, but if you want to sunbathe and swim, I would suggest you look elsewhere.

Date of stay: August 2018
1  Thank limerick59
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VistabellaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vistabella, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear "limerick59",

Thank you for taking the time to review your personal experience, we regret to know that we didn’t met up your expectations regarding the beach and relax you were looking for.
We understand your disappointment concerning the sunbeds in the beach beneath the hotel. First of all we want to point out that there are no private beaches in Spain, so this small cove located just some steps down the hotel is public and accessible to everybody. As we don’t advertise having a private beach, we’re a little surprised to know where you found that poster saying the contrary. Unfortunately we are not allowed to take care of that beautiful small beach, due to its dimensions it’s considered a “natural beach” and no services can be offered by law. Despite this, we place some sunbeds for our guests and we provide umbrellas at the reception desk for free.

Therefore we have sunbeds and chill out beds spread all over the hotel terraces where we can serve and take care of you as you deserve.

At the Vistabella we are really concerned to offer a wide gastronomic experience to our guests, that’s why we feature 5 restaurants with 5 different culinary options and don’t think this should interfere at all with the spaces assigned to rest and relax.

Once again we thank you for your comments, they are an opportunity for us to make future improvements.

The Vistabella team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2018 via mobile

We have been coming to this hotel for 15yrs and every stay has been special ! We have brought friends and even celebrated our 25 th wedding anniversary here by spending four days along with 16 of our dearest friends . This year we booked to come for 6 days with two of our friends, on booking ,the Reception didn’t tell us they would be full and it would be advisable to book the restaurants in advance so when we arrived we were left struggling to get into any of their restaurants. This had never been a problem before . We eventually managed to sort reservations in the hotel but it also meant we had to find other restaurants in the area for three of the nights . Sunday our first day we booked lunch in el pirata
The beach restaurant , there is a champagne party there every Sunday afternoon so we thought it would be great to have lunch and join in the party ! Our lunch bill came to €340 which we had to pay then leave our table ,or if we wanted to keep the table we would have to buy €1100 of champagne! This is certainly a money making event and brings in lots of outside custom which I don’t have a problem with , but I feel it is to the detriment of the hotel Clientele and maybe there isn’t the thought and respect that this hotel once had for its residents ! Our last night we were delighted that we could get into El Bracs the hotels michelin star restaurant, we had eaten there last year and had thoroughly enjoyed the whole experience. Unfortunately that was not to be the case this year !
The disappointment from the start was the menu , when reading it there was nothing that made you feel you were going to
Have a wonderful food experience .The head waiter did his best to explain each dish due to the language barrier but it still left us struggling to make our decision.
The starters were disappointing boring and lacking taste ,Certainly not Michelin star quality , the disappointment grew as the the main course was served ! Two were served goat , a large slab of shoulder blade which was tough and over salted with a teaspoon of cauliflower couscous and a minuscule green leaf , fish stew which was one tough piece of rock fish in a paprika sauce with potato mash that was so heavily seasoned with paprika it was inedible . The fish could have been used as a ball it was so rubbery and dry !! And lastly four Prawns served on a bed of salt with a watery dip ? Not exactly Michelin star cuisine !
By this time we had all lost interest and were thoroughly deflated ,when the waiters came to take our plates away still with three of Our main courses still in place . We told the head waiter how disappointed we were, and he apologised and he would report back after speaking to the chef . He then came back apologising on behalf of the chef .
We then ordered three deserts , they were AMazing ! We were so delighted we thanked the sous Chef personally .
When the bill arrived , we explained we were not happy to pay the full amount ,the evening had been disappointing, the food well below average and to take this into consideration when making up the bill ! The bill arrived , along with a large dollop
Of seriously Bad attitude from the Headwaiter Throwing the bill onto the table making the rest of the guests aware of the
Situation most of them guests staying in the hotel ! A very unfortunate and short sighted way of dealing with loyal and longstanding customers !

Date of stay: August 2018
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
1  Thank Chris M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
VistabellaHotel, Guest Relations Manager at Vistabella, responded to this reviewResponded 19 August 2018

Dear Mr. “Chris M”,

We thank you for uploading a review on TripAdvisor as this allows us to publicly reply to it and explain our side of the story which we are very happy to do.
First of all, we would like to thank you for coming the last 15 years in our hotel and being a loyal customer, it was a pleasure having you in our hotel and knowing that all of your previous stays were very special including this last one, except for the two incidents you’ve mentioned.
It is quite surprising that you only reviewed our hotel on TripAdvisor to complain and write an extremely negative review about this last stay, but have not used it in the previous 15 years to write something positive about the hotel and publicly congratulate us for the fabulous stays you’ve had with us in the past.

As you are a returning customer and have been at the hotel previously during the month of August (high season period) you know that the restaurants are very crowded and that reservations are always highly suggested. We also advise about this in all our Booking confirmation e-mails and when checking-in at the front-desk.

On Sunday morning you tried to book a table at the beach restaurant but unfortunately the reception staff informed you that the beach restaurant was already fully booked for the day, but we had other restaurant options within the hotel that were available. Shortly after, we managed to arrange a table for you at the beach restaurant and the management personally came to find you at the sunbeds to let you know. As you are already aware, on Sundays there is the Champagne party from 4pm to 8pm at the beach restaurant and the tables must be booked long in advance. As we want to do a good service without rushing, we only take reservations for lunch at 1pm-1.30pm. We believe you had plenty of time to enjoy your lunch until 4pm. After lunch you were more than welcome to stay for the party, which you have done, but not at the table as it was already booked long in advance.
We assure you that the respect and thought to our hotel residents is our utmost priority!

On your last evening you had booked your meal in the gastronomic restaurant Els Brancs and we assigned you the best table, in the centre of the restaurant, so that you could enjoy your very last evening, which unfortunately didn’t end up so. Regarding the prawn with the bed of salt underneath, we want to let you know that last year we had the exact same dish on the menu and coincidentally you have ordered it on your dinner the 18th of August 2017. For the goat and fish stew dishes served that you found inedible because it was too salty or too heavily seasoned we did apologise that it wasn’t of your taste and expectations, and offered you to either bring you the same dish but newly prepared or to exchange it for some other dish. You decided not to order anything else and go on with the desserts, which we’re very happy to hear that you found them amazing.
After your dinner, when you asked for the bill, the Head waiter presented you the bill discounting the dishes you did not enjoy, and also, as a gesture inviting you the desserts.
You have threatened the Head waiter with the following: “You better take out the rest of the food too”. After calling the management they decided to take out all your food since you were a loyal customer and important for the Vistabella.
The following day upon check-out you kept shouting and arguing at the reception and talking to the management as you wanted that all your drinks (expensive wines you had chosen, gin tonics, etc) be taken out of your bill and that you were not going to pay the total bill of the stay otherwise. Finally, you agreed to pay only 50% of the drinks telling us that this should be enough to cover the cost of the drinks.

To finalize, we are again very sorry about this unlucky situation in the restaurant. Fortunately, not everyone likes all dishes per equal, people have different palates, and sometimes the kitchen staff also makes errors, we’re all humans. We believe we tried to handle the situation as good as possible by offering you a new dish, a different dish, discounting you the food, and offering you the desserts.

On one hand we are very heartbroken that we’ve lost you as a guest in our hotel, but on the other hand happy we do not have to experience this behaviour and conduct again.

Sincerely,

The Vistabella team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews