We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“AMAZING”
other travellers have booked this property
Charming Living/Dining Room with Panoramic Views
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Charming Living/Dining Room with Panoramic Views
Enjoy a Cosy Breakfast or Dinner while taking in the Incredible Views View from living room window overlooking the Pool and the Lake
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
10 reviews
Charming Living/Dining Room with Panoramic Views
Enjoy a Cosy Breakfast or Dinner while taking in the Incredible Views
View from living room window overlooking the Pool and the Lake
Spectacular View from living room window
Fully Equipped Kitchen
Bedroom with King Bed that can be separated into 2 Singles
Wake up in your King Bed to a fabulous view of the lake
Bathroom with shower
Enjoy the beautiful view with glass of wine on your private terrace.
Villa Matilda Pool Area and Back of the Villa
Pool
Common Area and activity room. Full Kitchen with Ice Machine-Panoramic Lake Views
Pool Area Table and Chairs with Panoramic Views for drinks and al fresco dinning
Villa Matilda - known locally as Il Castello
Entrance to Villa Matilda from Garden. 90 year old Italian Cypress Trees
Set in Historic Italian Garden-fountain from early 1800s
Torno Village from local Lake Ferry
Julietta Apartment floor Plan
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Torno, Lake Como, Lombardy

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 10 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Claudia M
Dallas, Texas
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 20 August 2018 for a stay in August 2018

This is an amazing B &B. Firstly it is a restored beautiful historic 15th century villa on Lake Como, with outstanding views of the alps and lake from every room. Now add in every American amenity you could need or want. The attention to detail and decor, cleanliness is by far, five star. The a/c exceeds European standards as does the hospitality of the innkeepers and detail of the suite. Everything inside looked brand-new. The pool and grounds are simply gorgeous. You are steps away from public transportation, hiking, the water, boating, the ferry to Bellagio or downtown Como, restaurants etc. plus gated private parking, super secure grounds, this is one of the most beautiful and best B & B's I think you could find anywhere...add it to your bucket list.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
themiamiv...
Miami, Florida
1 review
“A visit in paradise!”
Reviewed 14 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

We stopped in at Villa Matilda for some R&R during our Italian adventure and found so much more! The Villa is beautiful and classic with breathtaking views of the Lake! The Cardinalis have thought of every detail to make you feel at home, like you belong in beautiful Torno/Como. The accommodations are perfect and the location is ideal, with a beautiful short walk down the Roman path into town to take the ferry to any of the beautiful towns on the Lake. Our stay was too short!! Next time we will come back and stay longer. Thank you to the Cardinalis!! We will be back!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Jul 2018
Thank you for staying with us! You really have so much left to explore on Lake Como. One really needs at least a full week to see and do everything. You are welcome back anytime.

Tony & Shirley
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vacatione...
1 review
“Awesome villa in a great town on Lake Como”
Reviewed 9 July 2018 for a stay in July 2018

If you are looking for a great custom villa in a more remote part of Lake Como, this place is perfect. You can get around the lake to all towns, including Como, using ferries or bus- both are consistent and reliable. Tony was very kind and picked us up from the train station but the bus from the train station to Torno is super easy and drops you off right at Torno and it is a short walk (albeit uphill) to the villa. Ask Tony for the bus number to take. Taxis are probably OK too. The villa itself is absolutely beautiful and Tony definitely makes sure his guests are well taken care of. The best part is that he is full of useful helpful information about the local area and Italy in general. There are lots of cool things to do. If you like hiking, a path up the mountain to two remote villages, and I mean really remote, starts right near the villa. There is even a restaurant in one of the remote villages. We rented a boat (40hp for up to 5 people and no license needed) for 5h and it was only 200 Euros and allowed us to cruise around the lake on our own - very cool. There is a small local grocery store with great food but the hours are odd- ask Tony to see when it is open. Plenty of good restaurants too. Also a really good local gelato shop. Overall, a great experience if you prefer a more remote private getaway where you can do things at your own pace. I attached a few pics of the remote hiking/villages.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jeremiaht...
Los Angeles, California
2 reviews
“Incredible view, amazing accomodation”
Reviewed 11 June 2018 for a stay in May 2018

This was my first trip to Lake Como, and I had no idea how big the city of Como was, or how many villages dotted the lake. But after getting oriented I realized that staying somewhere quiet and either bussing into Como (or Bellagio), or taking one of the many ferries, that Torno was an optimal spot for maximum nature and tranquility. Villa Matilda is a restored castle with an insane view of the lake, and I spent my last night in my room drinking wine, watching a thunder storm.
The back entrance dumps you out onto Strada Regia, an ancient Roman road that leads up into the mountains (where the views are indescribably gorgeous). I hiked 6 different days, along the multitude of trails, and sometimes just around the car-free alleys of Torno, petting alley-cats

The owners of the Villa are incredibly detail-oriented, and so acomodating: they stock your fridge with breakfast items and even ask what sort of milk you prefer. This place is fist-class all the way, from the heated pool to the fact most units come with a washer AND dryer. Torno in general is just better value than the hectic, loud, super-touristy spots in Como proper. I couldn't imagine a better spot in Como!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2018
Dear Jeremiah:

Thank you for your nice comments about our special place at Villa Matilda. It was a pleasure meeting you and hope you will visit us again soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
NDW82
New York City, New York
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
“Home away from home”
Reviewed 14 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
1
person found this review helpful

My best friend and I needed a short and relaxing break and chose to go to Lake Como for a weekend away. Villa Matilda was the perfect solution. Tony was a wonderful host, picked us up from the train station, gave us local insight, provided a fantastic range of wines for us to choose from, set us up at a local restaurant for dinner. It was absolutely perfect. We will be back for sure. It was such a great experience and although short we felt relaxed and like we truly experienced Italian culture. Thanks Tony!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Nov 2017
Thank you so much for your kind comments. It was a pleasure meeting you both and we hope to see you for Milan fashion week in February.

Tony
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing