We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great location. Central to all Benalla...”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Benson House

Benson House - a spacious alternative for families or small groups
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Benson House - a spacious alternative for families or small groups
Full kitchen facilities in Benson House Benson House has been described a s a 'grand old dame
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
36 reviews
Benson House - a spacious alternative for families or small groups
Full kitchen facilities in Benson House
Benson House has been described a s a 'grand old dame
Queen room in Benson House
Queen room in Benson House
Twin room in Benson House
Great backyard to unwind and relax in
Benson House bathroom
Off-street parking behind gates
Bathroom through to passage
Large secure backyard to chill out and unwind in
Relax in the sunroom at Benson House
Benson House dining space
Stay in Benalla accommodation is a Cycle Friendly Business
Relaxed dining space
Dining room
Central address in Benalla
Full kitchen facilities in Benson House
Benson House - a spacious art deco
Soar high at the Gliding Club of Victoria
Walk around the tranquil Lake Benalla
Soar high in a glider over Benalla
Benalla Art Gallery and lake views café – free entry
Benalla Lake and ceramic mural surrounded by walking track (suitable for wheelchairs)
Magnificent Benalla Regional Art Gallery (free)
They're racing at Benalla!
Birdwatching, cycling and walking at the Winton Wetlands restoration.
See 185 + species of birds at the Winton Wetlands
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
3 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Benalla, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 36 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
A TripAdvisor Member
1 review
“Great location. Central to all Benalla attractions.”
Reviewed 18 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The house and gardens are spacious. The surrounding trees with autumn leaves were gorgeous. We were surprised by the amount of local attractions. The host Ray was extremely helpful with his local knowledge. We will definitely return. We will also take our dog as pets are permittred

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Griff L
1 review
“Perfect weekend away in Benalla”
Reviewed 16 May 2017 for a stay in March 2017

Terrific location close to the town centre and most things well within walking distance. A well maintained and clean house full of character, charm and with a nice garden/lawn area out the back. Perfect for a weekend getaway with some friends.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shimmerla...
Wangaratta, Australia
1 review
“Spacious, grand historic house with a green backyard that gives privacy.”
Reviewed 16 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

Benson House is a three bedroom house. Each bedroom isquiet large with high ceilings. There are two dining areas plus a sun room which is an enclosed back veranda with a lovely view of a private back garden. Such a quiet place to stay all within a ten minute walk of the highly regarded Benalla botanic Gardens and an art Gallery by the lake.
I don't think there could be a better place to stay in Benalla...so close to the botanic gardens.
The kitchen was thoughtfully stocked with condiments and muesli....you could arrive hungry and find a quick meal in this kitchen. I also liked the organised shelf of local tourist information. laid out so you could easily see what was of real interest. This accommodation is among the very best I have encountered in regional Victoria.
I am already planning a return visit....

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amy j
cranbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“PERFECT”
Reviewed 6 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017

We stayed in the at the Lodge at Benson House. It was a clean comfortable affordable little place where our little dog felt comfortable and we felt comfortable with her being with us. Ray was very welcoming and helpful. The bed was clean and comfortable as was the bathroom and everything provided. They give you an ample supply of breakfast items and have obviously put a lot of thought into making sure you are well looked after during your stay.

Great Place!!!!!!!!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ann R
1 review
“Excellent location with loads of space”
Reviewed 2 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

Our stay at Benson House & Lodge was so relaxing with plenty of room for our large family to prepare for our sons wedding. In the heart of Benalla we were able to walk to the hotel for a meal & the shops. The kitchen was well equipped which made it easier for our large group plus two dining rooms gave us more room to spread out. The weather was hot but the house & lodge were lovely & cool. Comfortable beds & plenty of towels. Great backyard with another two outdoor settings for our large group. Ray couldn't do enough for us & was only a phone call away if need be.
We highly recommend Benson House & Lodge!

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
2 Feb 2017
Thank you Ann for your kind words. It is terrific to see Benson House & Lodge used in the manner that your group did. We do believe it is an excellent accommodation option for extended family groups such as yours.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing