We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great”

Top of the Hill Restaurant
Ranked #16 of 27 Restaurants in Clare
Restaurant details
Reviewed 3 July 2018 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised. Have been there a couple of times and found the food to be inconsistent. This time everything was fantastic. My friend had the lamb shanks which was superb and i had the paella which was great. Service was fantastic. We were asked atleast 4 times if we would like anything else. Not usual for broken hill. Well done all!

Date of visit: July 2018
Thank 690jonc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (9)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 9 reviews

Reviewed 3 May 2017

Friends of ours booked us in at this restaurant for a group of 8. The atmosphere was very welcoming, staff were lovely and a bit cheeky in a good way. All of our meals were delicious, I had the lamb shanks which were lovely, some had steak and some had seafood but all were happy. Some on our table ordered desserts which looked huge and beautiful. We will consider staying in the motel another time and would certainly eat here again.

Date of visit: May 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank Margaret M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 March 2017 via mobile

We decided to chose this restaurant as we were staying at the motel and the reviews we'd read were quite complimentary.
My wife ordered grilled barramundi,it appeared to be poached, but fortunately it was still very good. I ordered the scotch fillet steak but was offered porterhouse instead. This turned out be a mistake as the cut was, in my opinion, not up to standard. At least one-third of it was either fat or gristle and the rest was "a bit chewy".

Disappointing because I believe any chef worth their salt would recognize that such a cut was not up to standard, and would have rejected it without hesitation.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank P2012NZgaryd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 February 2017

had breakfast at this restaurant while staying with family in Sevenhill
the staff were excellent made any changes wished to breakfast
the food was well cooked and abundant
the coffee was excellent and loved the fruit decorations with the orange juice
well worth the money

Date of visit: January 2017
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank janecD4792YS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 February 2017

This brother run establishment not only highlights the regions best cuisine, but also special wines. Its not expensive and the food quality and presentation is modern and relaxed. It is punching well above its weight and coming out the winner! Eat here, you won't be sorry.

Date of visit: September 2016
Thank BroderickS10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Top of the Hill Restaurant also viewed

Clare, South Australia
 

Been to Top of the Hill Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing