We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Old world charm, contemporary comfort”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to 'Burnie Brae' circa 1908
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to 'Burnie Brae' circa 1908
Spacious main living area Dine is style in the main dining area
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
34 reviews
Welcome to 'Burnie Brae' circa 1908
Spacious main living area
Dine is style in the main dining area
Traditional main bedroom with queen size bed
Second Bedroom (optional pricing structure applies) - locked off when not required
Second Bedroom (optional pricing structure applies) - locked off when not required
Country style kitchen to have breakfast in
Traditional bathroom with modern fittings
Traditional shower area with room for two
Wide shady verandah to have your morning cuppa out on
Wide entrance hallway
'Burnie Brae' c 1908 is located in a quiet street in a historic part of town
Visit and be awed by The Three Sisters
Do a bushwalk to Katoomba Falls
Frollick in the waters of Katoomba Cascades
Admire Jamison Valley & Mt Solitary
Enjoy the thrills at Scenic World
Be dazzled by Weeping Rock
Go for a paddle at Queens Cascade
Be enthralled by Wentworth Falls
View the splendour of the Grose Valley
Hunt for hidden treasure at the Victory Theatre
Have lunch at the Megalong Tea Rooms
Explore the underworld of Jenoleon Caves
Take afternoon tea at The Paragon
Cherish some quality local restaurants
Ride the historic Zig Zag Railway
Meander the gardens of Mt Wilson
Find inspirion at Norman Lindsay Gallery
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Katoomba, Blue Mountains, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 34 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
Lauren E
Sydney, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Old world charm, contemporary comfort”
Reviewed 25 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We loved our stay at Burnie Brae in Katoomba. We stayed for 3 nights over the weekend, and it was simply divine. The house is gorgeous, very old fashioned, and as a history buff and vintage dress fanatic, I loved it. The grounds are pretty and well lit, easy for walking back home to after going out for dinner.
The house provides a large kitchen, 2 bedrooms, a large living area and dining area and a bathroom with a double shower. All of these spaces have kept their traditional federation look and feel, but with added contemporary touches. This meant underfloor heating throughout the house, well lit kitchen space with all the mod cons, a very new and fancy bathroom (great hot water pressure!) and heated beds (with high quality linen). Despite its age, the place didn't feel musty or dated at all. And the living room is perfect for watching an episode of "Miss Fisher" with a glass of wine.
We were very close to the main centre of town, but it feels like you're in the middle of nowhere (perfect combo!). And once we confirmed and paid, the owner sent through a long list of local restaurants, cafes and takeaway shops, with detailed descriptions and reviews. This was so nice and definitely useful - we didn't eat badly the entire time!
Very close walk also to the train station - we took the train to Wentworth falls and took the Charles Darwin walk, which was pretty good (we're young and able 20-somethings).
All in all, a lovely stay. We will be back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The style and comfort - simply lovely.
Liked least: The light in the bedroom could have been brighter - but this is minor.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 18-24
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leanne H
Sydney, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“beautiful”
Reviewed 3 May 2015 for a stay in May 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We have just spent a misty wet weekend at Katoomba, staying at Burnie Brae made it a magical time, beautiful home, great movie selection and everything you need for a quality weekend away, thank you guys, we would recommend this beautiful house and location,10/10

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: generous home and inclusions
Liked least: we only had 1 bedroom
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Aussie_Ka...
Sydney
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Absolutely beautiful”
Reviewed 20 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

My husband and I have just come back from a weekend at Burnie Brae. This house is stunning. Perfectly furnished and decorated to keep in style with the period of the house. Great kitchen with everything you could possibly need, the bathroom was lovely and had a fantastic big double shower. The bed was one of the most comfy I've slept on with high quality linen and the house was spotlessly clean. We will definitely be going back again and I highly recommend it to adults wanting either a short or longer break. Overall we loved it!!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
RossInPer...
Perth, Australia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Warm and Cozy Elegance”
Reviewed 15 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015
1
person found this review helpful

It was often cold and rainy while we were in Katoomba for 9 days, so we really appreciated the central underfloor heating, inexhaustible supply of hot water from huge twin showerheads, large and well equipped kitchen with a dishwasher and the comfy living room. There are two bedrooms with queen beds. The alarming sounds outside were only possums!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: central heating, size, shower
Liked least: wifi stopped working after a few days, looked like ISP problem
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
own_time
Manly, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Beautiful house in quiet but convenient location.”
Reviewed 18 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Yes the photos don't lie - this is a gorgeous old federation house with many original features which is being renovated in a tasteful and fitting manner. The rooms are large (especially the kitchen) and the ceilings are high.
When we were looking for accommodation this house only offered one bedroom - which is perfect for us as we were only a couple - so we didn't take full advantage of the large house (which includes a massive separate dining room) but it was great to have the space. In spite of the size the house warmed up really quickly when the underfloor heating was put on and you can control the heat so that it goes lower (or off) at night - so it was always comfortable.
The owners are still improving the property so it might be even better in the future.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Well maintained condition of house. Quiet location
Liked least: Bedrooms lights are very dim
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
;