We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A very classy welcoming home that has it all!”
other travellers have booked this property
Welcome to The Gatsby, your luxury Katoomba accommodation!
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Welcome to The Gatsby, your luxury Katoomba accommodation!
Master queen bedroom with fine linen, plush carpet Queen 2nd bedroom with fine linen
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
74 reviews
Welcome to The Gatsby, your luxury Katoomba accommodation!
Master queen bedroom with fine linen, plush carpet
Queen 2nd bedroom with fine linen
Double spa bath with heated floor
NSW Tourism Silver WINNER - Luxury Accommodation
Outdoor dining area
The self-contained cottage for one couple
The perfect art deco kitchen
Well equipped and stocked
It's all the small touches of art deco
Queen bedroom - The Daisy Buchanan
Exquisite Leadlight Bathroom
Plush Bathrobes, Slippers, Toiletries & Candles
Art deco luxury bathroom
Moet on ice awaits with scatter rose petals
Grand Entrance
Art deco dining Room with plush carpet
Complimentary Port & Chocolates
Lounge Room with plush carpet
Art Deco Maiden awaits you
Cleopatra awaits and welcomes you
Gas-log Fireplace & Central Heating
Art-deco mantlepiece with gas log fire
Port by the gas-log fireplace
Art Deco Hall of Fame
WELCOME to The Gatsby
Front Exterior
Alfresco area looking over fern garden
A touch of art-deco
Petunia Welcome
Gatsby II - The Granny Flat
Gatsby II - The Garden cottage with queen bedroom
Garden cottage only 20 steps from main cottage
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Katoomba, Blue Mountains, New South Wales

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 74 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
English first
Portuguese first
Any
English first
ShareeSmi...
Tuggerah, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“A very classy welcoming home that has it all!”
Reviewed 13 July 2017 for a stay in June 2017

This is our third visit to one of Lorraine's exceptional homes. The Gatsby is situated within a short walk to the Three Sisters or the Scenic Railway, a big plus with parking at such a popular tourist site difficult. The home was all you would expect of a Mountain Whispers experience, welcoming, warm and comfort plus. Sitting in the spa with champagne, in front of the gas log fire with port and then enjoying the lovely supplies for breakfast. You want to go explore the lovely blue mountains but you don't want to leave the house either. Very much looking forward to next year and visiting Lorraine's "Varenna".

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
14 Jul 2017
Thank you for your lovely review of The Gatsby and my services Sharee, always lovely having my repeats return again and again. Look forward to welcoming you to Varenna next year. Until then, take care and with warmest regards, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
123leamor
Sydney, Australia
1 review
“Stunning, luxurious house - perfect for a weekend away!”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in June 2017

We loved every minute of our 2 night stay at The Gatsby. From the moment you walk through the door - the impact is WOW! Luxury bedding, stunning bathroom and decor make for a luxurious and comfortable stay. Lorraine's attention to detail is amazing - from the warmth and soft music on arrival to the wonderful breakfast provisions. We would highly recommend The Gatsby and would love to experience the other Mountain Whispers properties.

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Jun 2017
Thank you Leanne for your lovely review of The Gatsby and my services. It's all about creating that WOW experience at all of my Mountain Whispers properties and in your case, mission complete :-) I sincerely look forward to the opportunity to welcome you back in the very near future, until then, take care and with warmest regards, Lorraine
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kennethbe...
Beechworth, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellence in comfort, with all the extras one could ask for in self contained accommodation.”
Reviewed 25 May 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Gatsby at Katoomba is within easy walking distance to both Scenic world and Echo Point (The Three Sisters). From the moment we arrived we were impressed with the level of detail that had been included. The accommodation had everything one could want, luxury beds and bedding, plush carpets throughout. The Gatsby was immaculately presented. We stayed four nights as part of the UTA running festival. We were extremely happy to be able to relax in a hot spa after a hard day on the tracks and trails. The complimentary bath towels and slippers added that extra touch to relax into the lounge with a gas fire and a complimentary glass of wine or port. The kitchen, had all the utensils and condiments that you normally have to go out and buy or bring yourself making meal preparation simple. The inclusion of a dishwasher also made cleaning up easy. I can't praise this place enough, from the piped music throughout the house to the heated bathroom floor, to the entertaining BBQ area. If you are looking for a luxury self contained weekend away in the Blue Mountains you can't go past The Gatsby.

Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 May 2017
It was a pleasure to have welcomed you and your family Ken to The Gatsby. I sincerely thank you for your lovely review and hope to welcome you all back in the not too distant future, if not for next year's UTA. Take care, Lorraine :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Emily A
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“True Gem in the Blue Mountains”
Reviewed 6 December 2016 for a stay in December 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We were looking for somewhere to stay that was close to the scenic railway but also special as it was for our honeymoon. I had read about the Mountain Whispers properties and they all had fabulous reviews. From the moment I contacted Lorraine to make some enquiries her fabulous customer service was clear. Despite the time difference as I was organising from the UK she was always prompt with her responses and very helpful.

We choose to stay in "The Gatsby" as this was closest to the attractions we wanted to see during our stay. The house was amazing and Lorraine clearly has a keen eye for detail.

As it was our honeymoon I booked the romantic package. We both thoroughly enjoyed our facial and massage and our therapist Anna was great, she made us both feel very relaxed and also passed on her local knowledge.

We also organised for the chef to come and cook our dinner. It was delicious. The rib eye with mushroom sauce was amazing, thank you Trish!

I would recommend to anyone who is thinking of staying in the area. I am just disappointed that we don't live closer as i would definitely stay again.

Thank you Lorraine for all your help and creating such a gem!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
10 Dec 2016
Thank you Emily for your lovely review of The Gatsby, Mountain Whispers and my services. It was a pleasure welcoming you and your beautiful family to the Blue Mountains and I sincerely hope for the opportunity to welcome you all back sometime soon upon your next visit to our beautiful country and destination. Take care and wishing you all a very Merry Christmas and prosperous 2017. With warmest wishes, Lorraine :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dvv R
Bingara, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“AMAZING”
Reviewed 21 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Second stay at one of the Mountain Whispers properties, and once again, a real treat!! Absolutely AMAZING! The place to be for Rest & Relaxation. The places are superb, and am extremely keen to stay at the all :) Easy communications with the host, Lorraine, helpful in all areas, and gave it that extra special touch knowing it had been my birthday a day earlier to arriving! :) Thankyou again. A truly special weekend was had by all!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2016
Thank you for your returned visit to Mountain Whispers, The Gatsby on this occasion and thank you for your lovely review Dee. It's very rewarding welcoming my guests, especially my repeats who keep coming back - truly is humbling. Look forward to your next visit. Take care, Lorraine :-)
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing