We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good food bad service”
Review of Annies

Annies
Ranked #32 of 98 Restaurants in Coogee
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Neighbourhood: Coogee
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Being a Coogee local I have been to this restaurant plenty of times. The food is great and bonus BYO! However, I can not recall one time we have visited and the experience has been smooth. The waitress forgets to bring/refill water for the table, someone’s meal is always wrong or forgotten and it usually takes longer than expected or everyone receives their meals at staggered times which is odd given there aren’t many tables to tend to in the restaurant. Nevertheless we return for the great food!

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank JennyFinch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (65)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

1 - 5 of 65 reviews

Reviewed 24 January 2021

This is a great community gem at the heart of beach street, however as a local to the (largely residential) street I must complain about the lack of respect for the restaurant and owner closing up at the advertised time (10pm). We live nearby and there have been countless times over the past year where the owner and his mates have been up until 1am, 2am, 3am, 4am. 5am, sitting around chatting loudly and partying with all the doors open and lights on. The sound and light travel throughout the street and I’m always woken up by the ignorant behaviour, looking out my window in the early hours of a Monday morning (from a Sunday night) or a Tuesday morning (etc.) to see the owner and his mates sitting around with all the extremely bright lights blaring through my window. As I’m writing this now at 2:02am on a Monday morning it is again happening and happened twice in the last 3 nights. Unfortunately a massive turn off from the restaurant.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Voyager596770
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 September 2020

Waitress was unwelcoming, unfriendly kept us waiting to be shown to our table when there was only one other couple in restaurant, then did not open our wine or bring wine cooler, she did not smile or engage and seemed more intent to be on her phone and sniffle the whole time. Food was average, kitchen staff hand hygiene not practiced upon leaving bathroom, overall unpleasant experience all round will not be back !

Date of visit: September 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank JanH5284
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 July 2020 via mobile

Had a great night. The food was great and very reasonable. The place has a great family feel. Loads of atmosphere! Nothing is rushed but good does come out quite promptly. Really enjoyed the laid-back feel. The waitress seemed a little overwhelmed but this did not affect our night. Would definitely go again, soon.

Date of visit: July 2020
Thank StewMarshall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2020

We had take away pizza and pasta from this restaurant multiple times in January and were looking forward to revisiting. We have just had pizza delivered this evening and we are seriously disappointed. The order was completely wrong and they forgot our drinks. The Annies classic was nothing more than a ham and pineapple pizza done poorly. When i rang to complain I was told that they simply didn’t have some of the ingredients in the kitchen. Never going back again!

Date of visit: May 2020
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank katecM8388RY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Annies also viewed

Coogee, Randwick
Coogee, Randwick
 

Been to Annies? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.