We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“perfect rural portugal”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of La Carapeteira

Private Pool for guest use only. Perfect for those hot days also with solar shower.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Private Pool for guest use only. Perfect for those hot days also with solar shower.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
15 reviews
Private Pool for guest use only. Perfect for those hot days also with solar shower.
Hammock in the sun
Walk to the river
A walk to the river
Sunset over the hills by the cottage.
Our donkey
Molly
Our orange blossom
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Bungalow -
2 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 6
Arronches, Portalegre District, Alentejo

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Al R
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“perfect rural portugal”
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

This is a wonderful place to stay if you like peace and tranquility, we enjoyed watching the antics of the animals during the day and settling to a cool drink under the incredible night skies.
The cottage is very clean and lacks for nothing that you would need during your stay,you also have sole use of the recently refurbished pool.
We had a fabulous time we enjoyed the location, cottage and the animals but the the best part of the holiday were Steph and Neil who gave all the help you could possibly need without any intrusion on your privacy.
The highest recommendation we can give is that of all the many places we have stayed in Europe this is the only place we have stayed twice and we will be back and is motorcycle friendly as there are many beautiful places to visit.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Sep 2016
Wonderful guests whom we enjoy their visit enormously and always look forward to their return.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Platform5
Kent
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Lovely tranquil setting, just the place to chill out with excellent hosts”
Reviewed 17 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
2
people found this review helpful

Not long returned from our week's holiday at the cottage with friends. This has been our 3rd visit and we always enjoy returning to this lovely peaceful cottage in a tranquil setting. Pleasant walk into the village to the local restaurants and small supermarket.

Our hosts couldn't do enough for us and we always love seeing the dogs, cats, and other animals.

Nothing negative to say about this location or amenities. Hope to go back very soon.

Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Tranquil location, pool and the animals.
Liked least: Nothing negative to say
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Aug 2016
Lovely guests whom we regard as dear friends now - hope to see them return soon.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haggis194...
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
31 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Lovely place to stay”
Reviewed 24 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We entirely agree with the latest reviews. We have very much enjoyed the holidays we have had at the cottage, so much so that we and our friends have been back at the same time in July for the past three years. It is in a quiet, peaceful, rural setting which is perfect for a relaxing holiday, but only 1km away from Arronches village.
Steph and Neil are very helpful and friendly, and it is always very enjoyable to meet up with them again. The animals are also friendly especially the dogs Chippy and Dolly.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Tranquil, peacefull setting, lovely pool area, very endearing dogs and excellent hosts.
Liked least: From our point of view we cannot find anything to comment on.
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
26 Jul 2016
Always a pleasure to have these people to stay and the animals love them!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Barry B
Fareham, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A Place Tto unwind”
Reviewed 10 June 2016 for a stay in June 2016

If you love all types of animals as we do and a traditional Portugeuse cottage (with all mod cons!) then this is the place for you.. A place to relax and unwind with kind and very helpful hosts Steph and Neil.

Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
13 Jun 2016
It was wonderful having you all to stay and glad you enjoyed your holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicholas...
1 review
“Beautiful countryside, lovely traditional cottage and swimming pool”
Reviewed 19 May 2016 for a stay in February 2016

a 2 hour drive from Lisbon airport takes you to real Portugal countryside, with stunning scenery & an idyllic location of a traditional Portuguese cottage, but run by an English couple who have recently totally redecorated and upgraded the whole of the cottage

This is my second stay here, and the owners are helpful and really look after you and show you where to go and what to do, along with giving you totally privacy, the use of the pool for your own enjoyment along with everything you need in a self catering cottage

If you love animals, the hosts have chickens and sheep in the paddocks, who are friendly and always like a fuss

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: Peace and quite, with WiFi to the outside world, lovely pool & their pet donkey
Liked least: Cant really criticise the cottage as value for money and location is just spot on
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Older travelers Families with young children
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 May 2016
So pleased you came again this year and enjoyed your holiday we hope to see you again soon!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing