We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Be careful. You may get what you wish for”
Château La Commanderie- South
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Château La Commanderie- South
Château La Commanderie Swimming pool
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Château La Commanderie- South
Château La Commanderie
Swimming pool
Château La Commanderie- North
Entrance
Entrance
Summer drawing-room
Pastel dining hall
Kitchen
Sphynge bedroom
Bathroom- Parisian suite
Arlequin bedroom
Knight's Hall
Billiard room
Summer dining hall
Commandor's bedroom
Venitian bedroom
Pink bedroom
Shower room- Pink bedroom
Entrance in winter
North façade
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Chateau -
10 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 20
Plaigne, Aude, Occitanie

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
Any
English first
Eric G
Carcassonne
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“Be careful. You may get what you wish for”
Reviewed 12 June 2013 for a stay in May 2013

"Be careful, you may get what you wish for." Life is full of cruel and unjustified surprises. Anyone who's lived will tell you that. Except in this case. I recently wrote a book that was translated into French. Great reviews. (If I do say so myself) I don't bring this up to toot my own horn. My publisher, as a result, decided to host a week- long celebration for me and potential book sellers. They chose Chateau la Commanderie and it was MORE than I could have wished of. The chateau is right out of novels far greater than mine, (replete with 13th century staircases and hidden rooms) Anything we needed was supplied in a moment's notice. The grounds are lush and beautiful. I was there to celebrate my book but wound up celebrating my surroundings. You'd have to be crazy not to adore this place. I know I'm gushing and going on and on, but it was truly a magical experience. The owner, Rebecca Gregory, was a delight as well. In short, I'd sit down and write another book just to go back to the chateau. And believe me, that's saying a lot.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The accomodations
Liked least: I could only stay a week
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
M M
Montreal, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“My stay at Château La Commanderie”
Reviewed 22 January 2013 for a stay in August 2012
1
person found this review helpful

What a wonderful experience to be staying in a Château that dates back to the 12th century!

My stay at La Commanderie was memorable and Rebecca, our host, was very attentive to our needs. The location is great: we were able to make day trips to Toulouse, drive to the Pyrénées for some hiking and visit the Cathare castles or spend a day at the beach near Perpignan.

My friend and I truly enjoyed ourselves and we hope we'll get the opportunity to go back!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Anissa B
Paris, France
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful Medival Castel with modern amenities!”
Reviewed 13 January 2013 for a stay in April 2012
1
person found this review helpful

Friends of mine from college decided to spend a weekend at La Commanderie. It was a delightful experience - each of us getting a large room with view onto the sprawling grounds. The chateau's proximity to Carcasonne and Toulouse and the foothills of the Pyrenees made for exciting day trips. I recommend it to all who want to spend a few days tucked away in a beautifully rural part of southern France.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Service
Liked best: The medieval sitting room
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
amiguos
Belpech, France
2 reviews
Reviewed 15 November 2017 for a stay in November 2017
Google Translation

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
17 Nov 2017
Merci beaucoup pour votre aimable commentaire. Vous serez toujours les bienvenus au Château La Commanderie.

Rebecca Gregory
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Grldine D
Paris, France
1 review
Reviewed 14 September 2015 for a stay in August 2015
Google Translation

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Avec mon époux(se) / partenaire
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing