We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Dinner”
Review of Off The Track

Off The Track
Reserve a table
Ranked #2 of 106 Restaurants in Hastings
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$8 - US$39
Cuisines: European
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Breakfast, Reservations
Description: Off The Track - The regions best Havelock North Restaurant & Licensed Café - is the perfect retreat for a casual meal, a drink with friends or a delicious coffee. We offer a wide range of dishes to suit all tastes and budgets – including our ever popular breakfast menu, starters and snacks for smaller appetites and a just for kids menu.
Reviewed 28 January 2021

Up from Wellington for long weekend.....this place is a must to visit, food & service were excellent, great place when dining with children with play area, trampoline & large areas for them to run around whilst still in view.....will definitely visit again.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Navigator46689241825
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (726)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 726 reviews

Reviewed 18 January 2021

You simply cannot go wrong visiting this establishment. The food for both adults and children is devine and reasonably priced. The staff service is excellent and they couldn’t be any more helpful and friendly. The views are stunning and the playground for the kids is awesome. A great wine list too!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank mands2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Off The T, Owner at Off The Track, responded to this reviewResponded 19 January 2021

Thanks for your awesome review. We always strive to do our best. We look forward to seeing you next time.
Cheers
Rob

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 January 2021

Hoki steak was delicious and vegetables were tasty but almost raw. Cheesecake with icecream and cream was great way to finish meal.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Goldendays2021
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Off The T, Owner at Off The Track, responded to this reviewResponded 15 January 2021

That is great Goldendays. :-) The fish was Hapuka though, we would never serve hoki. Cheers
for the awesome review.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 December 2020

Had a beautiful lunch with a very special friend. Could not fault the meal or service.
The dessert was divine and presentation was excellent.
Will certainly recommend Off The Track as a must visit.

Date of visit: December 2020
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
Thank Julie182020
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 December 2020

As if this wasn't bad enough there were also only 2 vegetarian options on the menu.The curry was awful.There was a delay in service despite the restaurant not being full.We were there half an hour before our drinks order was taken.Would not return there.Very underwhelming.

Date of visit: December 2020
Thank Compass580497
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Off The T, Owner at Off The Track, responded to this reviewResponded 10 January 2021

Thanks for taking the time to write this review.
I have been made aware that you were informed of why we were out of fish as we did over 350 more covers then booked. As for us not being full? We can seat 230 people in one go. kitchen could never cope with this and we seat 30 people per half hour to make thing good for our customers and staff, the fact there is empty tables does not mean we have plenty of room! Also the fish we use is fresh which does mean when boats don't go we cannot get it even if we try. As for you meals we meal checked you and you both said nothing about the curries (we sell a lot of curry and most people love it). Also to my count we have 6-7 vegetarian/ vegan meals available on our menu as is or we can adept them, this even includes a vegan desert! We get a lot of non meat eaters that are regulars! We provided you same as all our other guests the best service possible.
It is pretty disappointing when we do our best, do our communication right, and someone with a small mind gives us a one star. Especially when you have been given the opportunity at the time for us to fix the problem.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Off The Track also viewed

Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
Havelock North, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to Off The Track? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.