We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Amazing location and lovely, comfortable bach”
other travellers have booked this property
ON the beach, Unobstructed sea views, Exclusive use, Kayaks, WiFi
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
ON the beach, Unobstructed sea views, Exclusive use, Kayaks, WiFi
Private beach access No road or dunes. Extensive grounds Huge outdoor living area with BBQ, loungers and superb sea views
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
ON the beach, Unobstructed sea views, Exclusive use, Kayaks, WiFi
Private beach access No road or dunes. Extensive grounds
Huge outdoor living area with BBQ, loungers and superb sea views
View from inside the living room through the glass doors
Tapeka Beach to Tapeka Point. This is a truly amazing place to stay
Sandy ALL TIDE swimming beach and diving pontoon in front
5 Kayaks, dinghy (row boat), deep water guest mooring and diving pontoon
Family fun on the ever popular diving pontoon moored in front
HOT outdoor shower to rinse off after a swim. So close to the beach you can leave your towel behind
Onkyo-Bose home theatre, Sat TV, AppleTV, DVD, media streaming and outdoor speakers
Relaxing nautical theme with a Cape Cod feel and comfy leather sofas
King master with ensuite bathroom, TV, safe, phone and sea views
Modern heated bathrooms
Front bedroom with Queen and Single bed. Sea views and direct outdoor access
Side bedroom - Queen and King Single. Ceiling fan. Verandah access
Hige rear bedroom - teen escape. King and 3 x single beds. Sofas, AC, TV, DVD, Fridge, Kettle
Fully equipped kitchen with ice maker, Dishwashers, Nespresso machine, serving platters
Subtropical Bay of Islands is a must see. Tapeka in background
Nearby Roberton Island anchorage and lagoon - the closest to Tapeka Del Mar
Tapeka Point - located between two beaches at the gateway to the Bay of Islands
Absolute beachfront. Swim, Kayak, explore or just relax and watch the passing boats
Tapeka Beach and Point with the Islands beyond
Side and rear bedrooms. Ample off street parking
Swim with Dolphins off the beach and watch passing Orca
Filleting station for the days catch - plus beer fridge and bait freezer
Image IS taken from the property - endless procession of passing vessels
Historic Russell village. So much to see within a short flat walk
Histortic Russell village, restaurants, attractions and boat trips 2 minutes away
Award winning and casual restaurants nearby or grab a take out
Christ Church Russell - oldest in NZ with history back to the whalers and early settlers
Waitangi Treaty grounds and Maori meeting house
The historic Flagstaff and lookout atop the hill between Tapeka and Russell
Tall ship R Tucker Thomson day sailing from Russell wharf
Romantic year round sunsets BOOK NOW! - we can only take one booking each night
The ultimate Kiwi beach Vacation Rental BOOK NOW!
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 2 Bathrooms, Sleeps 13
Russell, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Jack L
1 review
“Amazing location and lovely, comfortable bach”
Reviewed 30 November 2020 for a stay in November 2020

A genuinely special place, right on the beach, with everything you need for an amazing break. The house is spacious, comfortable, and very functional. The fishing nearby is absolutely world class. Tapeka Del Mar is the ideal base for a Bay of Islands holiday.

Date of stay: November 2020
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nisland07
Auckland, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
“Perfect Getaway”
Reviewed 23 November 2020 for a stay in November 2020

Best View, Best Location, Best House Beach. This is by far the Best Vacation I have ever experience in Russell. What are you waiting for... Book it you won't be disappointed I'll Promise you that.

Date of stay: November 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ambassado...
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Tapeka with the wow factor.”
Reviewed 27 June 2020 for a stay in June 2020
1
person found this review helpful

Thank you to our wonderful host . When you walk in you immediately feel incorporated into the view. Even in winter the sun streams in and if you don't wish to use the kayaks and dinghy provided you feel part of the action on the water and beach at your feet. The house configuration is perfect for families or a couple and every tiny detail is thought of without losing the kiwis bach feel. We chose to golf at Waitangi and walk to Russell through the bush and eat at the Duke in front of a roaring fire. Highly reccomend you spoil yourself at Tapeka del Mar.

Date of stay: June 2020
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gwen H
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Wonderful position, beautiful house”
Reviewed 23 May 2019 for a stay in May 2019
1
person found this review helpful

Tapeka Del Mar is a very pretty house in an absolutely stunning location right on the beach. The house is located a short drive from the beautiful historic little town of Russell where there are plenty of eateries and basic groceries can be obtained. Car ferry crossings to Opua on the mainland are frequent and fast (NZ$13 one way) and there are so many ways to fill one's time here.

I agree with a previous reviewer that the cleanliness of the property was not as good as expected - the kitchen sink/tap/dishwasher had to be cleaned before we could use it. Other than that the property was well set up for family use.
The steps up to the door were difficult to negotiate because there is no handrail. Also, the sofas are very low and difficult to get out of if one has mobility problems - a higher/firmer chair with arms would be a helpful addition to the furniture for older or more infirm visitors.

Date of stay: May 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter V
Sydney, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Outstanding”
Reviewed 6 February 2019 for a stay in January 2019

We booked Tapeka del Mar from Australia for my son's 50th birthday celebration (he was already in NZ) - 7 adults and four kids under 11. Clive, the owner happened to be there when we arrived and gave us a remarkably comprehensive briefing about the house. Everything was absolutely as specified in the promotional material (with many extras not usually included in a rental property). It felt absolutely comfortable and welcoming from the moment we arrived. If all burners lit on the barbecue I would give it 5 stars, so I must post 4 star (although I reckon 4.5 would be closer to the mark).

Date of stay: January 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Feb 2019
Thank you so much for the review. We are thrilled your 11 family members enjoyed the stay but disappointed the BBQ failed us on the 5th star! We have since repaired it and hope to welcome you back in the near future
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.