We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Absolute Gem”
other travellers have booked this property
The kitchen/living area which has french doors leading to the  courtyard and garden.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The kitchen/living area which has french doors leading to the  courtyard and garden.
Our house is 106 years old , the self contained apt. is on the ground floor leading into the garden Another view of the kitchen looking out to the courtyard
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
15 reviews
The kitchen/living area which has french doors leading to the  courtyard and garden.
Our house is 106 years old , the self contained apt. is on the ground floor leading into the garden
Another view of the kitchen looking out to the courtyard
Everything you need for self catering is here, and we have a new stove with a fab oven......
Huge bedroom, queen bed, new flat screen telly, wonderful original art , quirky decor.
more of bedroom, lovely bay window and writing desk. Free wifi connection
Quirky bathroom, cork flooring, shower with safety rails.
looking outside, need more pics to do the garden justice
Garden
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Nelson, Nelson-Tasman Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 15 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
Granuel
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolute Gem”
Reviewed 1 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Darling apartment is absolute gem. 5.5 Stars. Very comfortable abode, central, private, homely, safe, beautiful garden, great service. Close to the city centre; highly recommend.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MrCelery
Newcastle, Australia
Level 5 Contributor
55 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“What a find!”
Reviewed 20 May 2016 for a stay in April 2016

Our best accommodation in NZ during our 17 day trip. And lucky for us that we decided to spend 4 nights with Christine and her husband. The welcome was wonderful and all the advice of things to do and see was very much appreciated. We really felt like we were family! The downstairs accommodation was perfect for our needs - a couple with a 12 year old daughter. The exceptionally clean apartment was well equipped with everything. The main bedroom with study/library was huge and very comfortable. Our daughters bed was not just a converted sofa or roll-out bed, so she was happy. The decor was a lovely combination of old and new with a nice arty feel. The apartment's location is fantastic. Easy 5 minutes walking to everything central, and yet a peaceful leafy street. And the added bonus of access to the well stocked and maintained vegetable patch! Highly recommended as the perfect antidote for the usual stresses of travel.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 May 2016
Oh this is such a wonderful response to all that we try to do. We loved having you to stay and would welcome you back in a heart beat
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Marthapel
Portland, Oregon
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 87 helpful votes
“Five star comfort with a lovely secret garden”
Reviewed 26 March 2016 for a stay in March 2016

My wife and I spent three days at the Cathedral Garden Apartment as part of a 3 month trip around the world. I can summarize our experience with three words: 'we loved it!' Christine made certain we had everything we needed on our arrival including coffee, tea and milk in the fridge, brochures for touring around Nelson and offered us use of their bikes. She even shared the bounty from their vege garden.

The apartment is very clean and comfortable with a well appointed kitchen, a large bedroom with a writing desk, cable TV and DVD's, and a couch/sitting area, and an adequate bathroom with a shower. The garden alone is reason enough to book if you like reading in a sublime and beautiful location. There's even a private sitting garden for the apartment just off the kitchen. And if you are indoors, the wi-fi signal is strong.

Lastly the location couldn't be better - just across the street from the Nelson Christ Church Cathedral and a 2 min walk from the bustling lanes of restaurants and shops, the apartment is a great jumping off point for exploring the city or the nature walks nearby, including the Center of NZ hike.

We would gladly return to this lovely place.

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Yarrandab...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A wonderful welcoming stay. Owner and apartment both charming.”
Reviewed 24 December 2015 for a stay in November 2015

Christine welcomed us like we were long time, valued friends. She is a caring, thoughtful and kind person with such interesting conversations and a great sense of humour and this is displayed in her 'character', comfortably furnished super clean garden apartment. Christine and Lincoln have included so much for the convenience and delight of their guests. Condiments, nice snacks, chocolates, books, wonderful art and pottery, beautiful Persian floor rugs - very much an architects' and art lovers 'home away from home'.

We really enjoyed staying at the Cathedral Gardens Apartment with its cosy, sun-filled garden - rather like the "Secret Garden" with furniture and nooks - if Nelson itself wasn't such a draw-card we could have happily stayed there all day, snacking as we were invited to do on the garden goodies. We should have brought our "Secret Garden" CD.... we think that Christine may have enjoyed that too.

The apartment is spacious and light filled - given the glass 'celestory' windows. The cooking facilities and kitchen/dining area are equipped with everything you need and more! There is a lovely alfresco experience - even when one is inside, yet it is so private.

Considering we were in Central Nelson, 50 metres only from Nelson's beautiful Cathedral and only a few more steps further to the main restaurant and Pubs areas we heard no traffic nor any disturbing noise. Free parking is conveniently on the street immediately out the front of the house and the straight path access with our large luggage was no problem at all.

Our only and continuing regret is that we could not stay longer to be able to really become friends with Christine and her very nice husband Lionel - we liked them so very much!!!
Perhaps we could reciprocate and spoil them as our guests should they come to stay in Australia???

Thank you again for the nicest.stay we enjoyed in New Zealand.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The Hostess and the light filled alfresco 'arty' designed garden apartment
Liked least: We couldn't stay longer
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carolk50
Christchurch, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
“Perfectly lovely central and quaint”
Reviewed 6 January 2015 for a stay in October 2014

I have stayed at this lovely place once on buisness for two days it was fantastic and I've since tried to re book several times but it is very popular I strongly recommend this if you like something that is self contained,private,with its own wee garden and seating area outside great bed and a lovely host Christine,walking distance to many resturants,gardens,gallery's,shops,museum, movie theatre,supermarkets and many beautiful walks.
Book in advance!

Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing