We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (21)
Filter reviews
21 results
Traveller rating
18
2
1
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
2
1
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 21 reviews
Reviewed 25 March 2014

Our stay at flutes was so comfortable and relaxing. Our hosts, Andy and Kay could not have been more helpful, even finding an osteopath for a bad back! The weather was not kind for our visit, but the quality of our accommodation, the views and the welcome easily made up for that. This is a brilliant place to stay on a self catering basis, the kitchen was very well equipped, and so easy to travel into Whangerai or out to lovely walks on the headland. We would recommend this to everyone, really first class.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jill W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flutes, Owner at Flutes, responded to this reviewResponded 27 March 2014

Jill and Bob,

The weather certainly was not kind to you, so we are very glad to see that your stay was still an enjoyable one. Hoping that you enjoyed the rest of your holiday...hopefully with minimal back problems! Thanks very much for your positive comments.
With best wishes, Kay &Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2013

I had heard about Flutes but never been there and had always wanted to go there. My friends treated me for my 60th birthday and they could not have chosen a better way to celebrate! We got picked up by their courtsey van and was greeted by Kay with a glass of fine wine. The atmosphere and hospitality were first class and I would not hesitate to recomend this to anyone. Although we didnt stay in the accomodation Kay showed us through and we were very impressed! We would want to stay next time we go there. We had the chocolate tasting which was devine......you just have to taste the chocolate! Kay explained how the chocolates are made and we got to sample a huge selection and the opportunity to purchase. The evening also included wine and nibbles. All in all fantastic evening, thanks guys for making it a such a special occassion.

  • Stayed: March 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Derek P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2013

Another great visit to Flutes. We stayed overnight in the Bayview Suite on our way up to the Cape then stayed in the Courtyard apartment for 5 nights on our return. The accommodation in both the Courtyard and the Bayview is so comfortable and we love Kay's handmade chocolates and her wonderful breakfast muffins. What an amazing place to wake up each day.

I can hardly believe how much we packed into our trip and Andy and Kay , the proprietors, helped us with our arrangements. They have a genuine love for this part of New Zealand and will go that extra mile to share their enthusiasm with you. Kay even managed to find somewhere to rent kayaks in McCloud Bay for us. We look forward to a return trip.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Theresa B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flutes, Owner at Flutes, responded to this reviewResponded 22 April 2013

Its always good to hear from happy guests! We're glad you enjoyed your stay and that you took full advantage of some beautiful Northland weather while you were here. We loved hearing about the many things to do and places to go which you found here. Thanks for your kind words, and please do keep that promise that you will return!
Best wishes
Kay & Andy

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 April 2013

This was our second stay at Flutes and it is still a wonderful place to stay, who would want to stay in Whangarei when you can go just that bit further and enjoy Mclouds Bay and the hospitality of Kay & Andy.
The breakfasts are fabulous andit was a treat to watch the wildlife enjoy theirs too.
The Bayview room was lovely and clean, and serviced daily, it was so comfortable and we felt pampered.
Thanks Kay & Andy we will be back soon.

  • Stayed: April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank susan j
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flutes, Owner at Flutes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 April 2013

Thank you for those kind words. We're glad that you enjoyed your stay at Flutes...and the beautiful area around us! As for coming back...you will be welcome any time!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 March 2013

We spent a week in the modern Courtyard apartment and were impressed by the spaciousness and the facilities in it. The kitchen was roomy and was fully fitted - pots and pans, jug, toaster etc – for a self-catering stay. The bathroom was also well fitted out and had plenty of area as did the mezzanine bedroom, with its great view to Mount Manaia. The lounge area with its leather sofa was comfortable and the dining area had more than enough space for us two people.
Overall we were comfortable in the roomy apartment.

However we think that the description of “luxury accommodation” is a step too far when to quote from the Flutes website:

‘Luxury means the best in facilities food and service….luxury properties are located in magnificent settings and offer additional touches to make a memorable stay’

Yes the setting is magnificent but unfortunately the “additional touches” were just not there. The initial impression was a great let down. The courtyard had many dead leaves in it with dying pot plants covered in spider webs, a table and chairs that were dusty and tired looking and a generally run down look, not conducive “to relax and enjoy those warm evenings” – it was not a great welcome to Flutes!

The “luxurious bathrobes” were far from luxurious, both being well frayed and showing their age.

We were shown the way to the spa bath and sauna and were amazed at the rubbish lying around in the laundry area through which we had to go. Rubbish was stacked everywhere – even the clothes dryer was full of paper and cardboard rubbish. Although washing facilities were available to use, the state of the washing machine and dryer would mean cleaning both of their rubbish - we ended up using the Laundromat in Whangarei (that provided exceptional service).

We have been travelling in NZ and Europe for 9 years and always look for self-catering places where we can stay for a week or two. Yes at Flutes there was a bottle of great NZ bubbly to greet us and Kay’s chocolates were a nice treat one evening but the finishing touches were disappointing to us. It may have been a one off with Kay being away during our stay but we have to be honest.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SixtyplusOldBar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Flutes, Owner at Flutes, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2013

Firstly, thank you for taking time to write your review.

For us being involved in customer service means all comment is valid,but of course we are very disappointed to read this particular review. We have responded directly to the reviewer and indicated areas where we accept their criticicsm as fully valid and others where we don't. We have also indicated personal circumstances which admittedly meant we did not achieve our usual high standard. We do find it surprising that no adverse comment was made to us at the time, that the appearance on departure was of happy guests, and that it has taken four months to write and publish this review. We would make a simple plea on behalf of most accommodation providers: if you are unhappy with any aspect of service please raise it with your hosts at their location immediately any problem/concern arises.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews