We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (35)
Filter reviews
35 results
Traveller rating
32
3
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
32
3
0
0
0
See what travellers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
2 - 7 of 35 reviews
Reviewed 11 March 2016

Could not fault anything about accommodation bedroom ensuite private lounge great hosts could not be more accomadating,wonderful setting, very secure ,on arrival we were offered tea/coffee/wine and home made cake wonderful stay. Anna the host oil paints even bought one of her creations

Date of stay: February 2016
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank terryV4925IE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 April 2015

Whangarei is relatively spread out with some relatively low end areas, and of course some higher end. And I would have to say that Tealmere sat at the higher end at the end of a lovely well manicured street at the absolute end of a gated court. It's not far from town so location from my perspective is perfect. Not too far, not too close, if you know what I mean.

Having moved to Australia from Holland several decades ago, the amazing couple have retained relatively strong accents, but not so much that they are hard to understand. The pair openly admit that the B&B is a hobby, something that Anna absolutely thrives on. I suspect because she loves people, she loves to talk, and loves to please. That's please with a capital P.

Fair dinkum, she is simply amazing and goes out of her way to assist in any way possible. Of course that's not to say Harry isn't a contributor; having many stories to tell and an inquisitive mind - perhaps as a consequence of his daily hikes in the hills area a few clicks from home.

Breakfast is continental one day and cooked the next, alternative in our case over six nights from memory. Frankly, there's almost too much food, and please don't think this is a bad thing!

The house is interesting in that it appears that all of the bedrooms have their own en-suite (I couldn't quite work out which room Anna and Harry stayed in, I'm not that inquisitive, but in any event ours (room 3) was at the front of the house and contained everything one could want or hope for.

Making life even more comfortable was a sitting room complete with TV, small fridge, table, chairs, tea and coffee and more. We were encouraged to use it as we deemed fit, however I preferred to spend time with the hosts in their lovely lounge/kitchen area.

Whangarei has a fair bit to offer making it a great place to stay for a few days. Likewise Tealmere is a great place to hang up your boots, have a chat or a relax, whether in your bedroom, in the spacious lounge with its amazing Harry made coffee table, or in the low maintenance garden.

P.S. Anna is an accomplished painter. We scored one, and are very happy with it.

Date of stay: April 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
2  Thank cuspub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 February 2015

Anne and Harry have a large, tranquil home set among trees in a small gated grove at the end of a street just out of Whangarei. The neighbourhood is peaceful, pleasant and safe. The house is very clean and quiet - the room I was in was impeccable with an ensuite and tea and coffee making facilities. Anne and Harry were very helpful and accommodating and it was a pleasure to stay with them. Highly recommend for those who'd like a refreshing and calming retreat.

Date of stay: February 2015
  • Trip type: Travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank Nicki5460
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 December 2014

This is a B&B set in a small gated area, surrounded by large trees and bush and is very peaceful. The owners, Anna and Harry, are wonderful hosts and very genuine people, very helpful and willing to please. The apple pie we had read about is superb; there is a great variety of breakfast food. Above all the warmth of our hosts made us feel that we were truly leaving as friends.

Room tip: Our room had lovely morning sunshine; the other room has a larger bed and would have afternoon sunshine.
Date of stay: November 2014
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goodjelly
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 December 2014

There seem to be a broad range of high quality B&Bs for reasonable prices in Whangarei. We chose Tealmere Grove based on the Trip Advisor reviews and were very happy with this choice.
The B&B is located 3km out of Whangarei, close to Kiwi North. The neighbourhood is very quiet and looked well-to-do.

Anna and Harry are very hospitable hosts. We were welcomed with tea and cake before we even had a chance to bring the luggage to our room.
As we arrived around 6:30 pm they didn't expect us to show at all, but they were very relaxed about it. I got the impression that running the B&B is more a hobby than business for them (and a way to collect pocket money for the grandchildren).
Anna and Harry emigrated from the Netherlands in the 1980s and have lots of stories to tell. They like to chat with their guests (without being obtrusive!) and we felt very welcome.

The house is very big and every free corner is decorated with Anna's beautiful colourful acryl paintings. She is very modest about it (“Everybody in Whangarei is an artist. It is just a hobby, you know.”), but they are in fact really good! You could buy one as a very special and personal souvenir. The prices were very reasonable.

There are only 2 guest rooms. We were the only guests and stayed in room 1 which is decorated in red colours. The room is well lit and there is a bedside lamp for both persons. You have access to the gardens from the room. Nights were very quiet (aside from the big clock in the hallway).
The ensuite bathroom was quite spacious. There were 3 soft towels for every person and enough space on the washbasin.
There was a guest lounge with sofa, table, chairs, TV, free wifi etc. where we were served juice and cookies.

For breakfast there was tea, coffee and juice, cereals, fresh fruit salad, yoghurt, toast, honey, jam, several cheeses (REAL cheese, not cheddar), original Dutch chocolate sprinkles and if you like them eggs.

You don't have to check out at a certain time, especially not when it is pouring.

Date of stay: November 2014
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
2  Thank Nadine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews