We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (26)
Filter reviews
26 results
Traveller rating
18
6
0
1
1
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
18
6
0
1
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews great knowledge mike artifacts ensuite accommodation hosts facilities
Filter
Updating list...
1 - 6 of 26 reviews
Reviewed 2 January 2016 via mobile

Within walking distance if city center, this unusual layout provides lots of uncluttered communal space and great modern design, beautiful woods and clean as a whistle rooms. Proprietor Karen was congenial and helpful. A serve-yourself simple but healthy breakfast in a spacious and handsome kitchen. Terrific fresh fish restaurants on the nearby marina.

Stayed: January 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank DebS6139
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilgrimplanet, Owner at Pilgrim Planet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 January 2016

Hi Debbie,
It was great to have you stay with us and thanks for your kind remarks. I'm also glad you found things to do around town and enjoyed visiting local scenic spots. Best wishes to and Mark as you continue your holiday in New Zealand.
Kind regards, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 April 2015

Located in a quiet location where you can enjoy a late night slee after a long drive. Short driving distance to Whangarei city central, harbour,

My partner and I drove up to Russell from Auckland then back to Whangarei for a night.

A home like accommodation, spacious living room with a 50" curved Samsung TV, super clean kitchen, lovely backyard where is a perfect place to enjoy early morning tea.


Bathroom heater, fan, extra blanket, plenty of towels, free wifi access etc are provided for a pleasant stay.

Highly recommended to anyone who wants to have a restful holiday in Whangarei

  • Stayed: April 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Hung B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilgrimplanet, Owner at Pilgrim Planet, responded to this reviewResponded 13 April 2015

Greetings Hung B, thank you for your review which was very kind. It was a great to have you both stay and enjoy Northland. Kind regards, Karen

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 November 2014

We found this purpose built bed and breakfast accommodation very welcoming and comfortable. There's lots of parking and a large kitchen and excellent breakfast, Mike and Karen could not do enough for us, and were very helpful with a car break-down.
This accommodation is not listed on internet booking agencies, so you will have to contact them direct through phone (as we did) or email.
The house is in a river valley with a busy road outside, so despite double glazing, the room at the front (no 1) is not suitable for light sleepers, (we slept well but are not sensitive to noise). There are 2 other rooms which do not overlook the road which would be quieter.

  • Stayed: November 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Juliet H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilgrimplanet, Owner at Pilgrim Planet, responded to this reviewResponded 1 December 2014

Hi Juliet,
Thanks for writing so warmly about your stay.
We are actually online with a number of booking agencies but will increase this number. Our website is www.pilgrimplanet@xtra.co.nz.

I hope the rest of your trip throughout NZ was wonderful. Best wishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2014

Karen and Michael were lovely, caring hosts who looked after me perfectly.
I was travelling alone and they were kind enough to include me in their evening.
Michael had a fascinating collection of old books, radios and sewing machines, one if which he allowed me to examine.
Items for breakfast were available in the guest's kitchen.
The B&B was within walking distance of shops and the harbour, with a longer walk through woods for active guests.
I was impressed by their high moral standard and am happy to recommend them.

  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank 780Barbara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilgrimplanet, Owner at Pilgrim Planet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 July 2014

Hi Barbara,

I must apologise for slowness in replying to your review. Guests like you who are quite adventuresome and interested in discovering new things, are a delight to host. We appreciate your thoughtful comments and wish you good luck with further travels.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 March 2014 via mobile

My wife and I stayed at Pilgrim Planet for 1 night during our 3 month bicycle trip all over NZ.
Friendly welcome, simple but very clean and spacious room where we were allowed to take our bikes into. Thoughtful details (enough hooks, soap dispenser etc.) in the bathroom. Big comfortable livingroom and fully equipped kitchen free to guest's use.
Breakfast without service but everything needed provided even in variety.
Very late checkout (2 pm!) made possible by host at no extra charge! Recommendable.

Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
2  Thank SpinThatGlobe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
pilgrimplanet, Owner at Pilgrim Planet, responded to this reviewResponded 6 March 2014

We are impressed you finished your epic bike trip as NZ has plenty of hills! Thank you for a generous review, it was nice meeting you both.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews