We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Great option for lots of family and friends”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Galwiji Homestead

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
95 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Ballarat, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 95 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Hanselund...
Winchester, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
“Great option for lots of family and friends”
Reviewed 28 September 2016 for a stay in September 2016

This is a large, comfortable, well-equipped family home. It is definitely not 'flash' but is clean and comfortable and homely - the kind of feel where you can really relax. We had two families of 4 staying, and another family joined us for a few days too, and there was plenty of space for all. Staying in September, we had some very cold evenings/mornings but beautiful sunshine in the middle of the day - the weather was perfect for us. There has been heavy rain recently so it was very sodden in the fields and round about, so definitely needed good walking boots/gumboots - there were some there for the kids to borrow which really helped. When we got back, it was common to find a child having a snooze somewhere - on a couch or a beanbag, snuggled under a blanket or near the fire. Says it all!

HIghlights: the excellent combustion stoves inside and rustic feel of the fireplace; the outdoor campfire with roasted marshmallows *every* night; really high quality linen and electric blankets to make going to bed cosy (bedrooms otherwise very cold at this time); lovely walks (on the property - the waterlily pond at this time was divine; and the Buninyong Union Jack Reserve walk was a really interesting look at the goldmining history in the area); the sewing shop at Buninyong (if you're into that - we are!); the games room (separate place for kids to run riot leaving plenty of space for the adults).

We had a great, mostly quiet but occasionally active holiday, with children from 6 to 16 well amused. The house is extremely well equipped so we just didn't have to think too hard about what to bring - it was all there.

Highly recommended!

Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
28 Sep 2016
Adrienne, it was a pleasure to have you and your family, and your friends and their families to stay at Galwiji Homestead.

Thank you for such a detailed review!

Glad you took advantage of the slow combustion stoves. Keeping the supply of wood stocked is a big part of my job, so glad to know it's appreciated :)

Also fascinating to find out about more of the attractions in the area.

Kindest regards. Please come and stay again.

Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
15 Sep 2016
Kim, I think your kids are so lucky to have a mum who, as a part of their home-schooling, brings them out to a farm for some 'hands-on' tuition.

We are looking forward to your next stay very much.

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 7 September 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Management Response
8 Sep 2016
Thanks for your lovely review Danielle and we're so glad it suited your family (and friends) so well. We promise to consider the the key box idea in the future.

Kindest regards. Please come and visit again.

Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
L0reen201...
Ballarat, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“A slice of heaven”
Reviewed 7 July 2016 for a stay in June 2016

Clean, well-appointed, lovely views - peaceful. Love the touches like a fire pit outside, with chairs - good seating under cover on the verandah.
This is not an "ultra-modern" house - it has more the feel of a family home.
Would be ideal for 3 - 4 families. I didn't actually stay this time - just viewed for future booking, Hosts very friendly and cooperative.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
Liked best: The rural aspect
Liked least: Not close to public transport
Travelling group: Solo Traveller
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
8 Jul 2016
It was a pleasure to have you visit Loreen. Pity we weren't quite big enough for your gathering this time, but we would certainly welcome you in the future.

Regards. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Budscook
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Highly Recommend!”
Reviewed 30 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016

We had such an excellent amazing experience staying at Galwiji Homestead. We enjoyed every moment and will definitely come back! Galwiji is very well equipped with everything you need for a getaway from the city.
We loved the cosy fireplaces, the beautiful garden, open paddocks and most of all the country atmosphere. We highly recommend Galwiji Homestead!
Many thanks to Malcolm, Bill and Ann for being so lovely!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Country atmosphere, well equipped, basically everything!
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 35-49
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
31 May 2016
Anna, it was a pleasure to give you and your family and your friends and their families a break from their PhD studies.

As a dad, I love reconnecting with my kids after being away, or engaged on a project.

Thanks for engaging with the homestead so beautifully.

Take care. Malcolm Pryor, Operations Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing