We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Not just a house - a rehearsal space and...”
other traveller has booked this property

Review of Galwiji Homestead

Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
92 reviews
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Farmhouse -
5 Bedrooms, 3 Bathrooms, Sleeps 15
Ballarat, Victoria

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 92 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Henric B
Melbourne, Australia
2 reviews
“Not just a house - a rehearsal space and performance venue too!”
Reviewed 24 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

When we first enquired with Malcolm about staying at his house I was somewhat apprehensive as I needed to admit that we wanted to bring nine children and two teachers and run a rock band camp at his rural idyll. Malcolm couldn't have been more accommodating. As it turns out Malcolm's family is very musical and the idea of having a bunch of aspiring rock stars entertaining their cattle didn't phase them at all.
When we got there we were warmly received by Ann and Bill and shown around with instructions to move anything that we needed to. The games room was very quickly transformed into a rehearsal studio and performance space. The kids ended up having a great time and did not want to leave. They have commented since that they want the next year's band camp to be longer so that they can explore the house and land more.
It was a perfect house for our purposes, not only in terms of the physical layout and facilities but also for the flexible and cooperative owners who were more than happy to accommodate our unusual needs.
Thanks Malcolm and Ann and Bill.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
1 Oct 2014
It was nothing but a pleasure to deal with Henric and his students. They used the isolation of the Galwiji Homestead to great effect for their band rehearsals and performance and they left it as clean as a whistle.

Those kids are blessed to have such a far-sighted and caring teacher.

Regards. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rachel955
Melbourne
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Welcoming and peaceful”
Reviewed 11 September 2014 for a stay in September 2014

Staying at Galwiji Farm Homestead was wonderful. We were welcomed by the Pryors who own and used to live on the property. Everything we needed was there. We especially enjoyed the warm fire in the cold evenings and mornings. I loved the peace - no car noise - and only paddocks to look out to. Instead of going into Ballarat and leaving the peace and quiet we headed to the local winery close by for pizza one evening. The walk around the farm was lovely - thank you for the map. Next time we need to visit for longer.

How easy was it to book the property? How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Overall condition of the property Bedding & mattresses
Kitchen & utensils Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: Location away from main roads and the welcome we received.
Liked least: Not staying long enough
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Sep 2014
It was an absolute pleasure to have Rachel, David and their children stay at Galwiji Homestead. They are most definitely our kind of people.

Regards. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
cazanders
Sunbury, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Beautiful scenery and wonderful property”
Reviewed 24 August 2014 for a stay in August 2014

Stayed at Galwiji Farm with a group of teenage girls and other adults. Great time away. Loved the house. Very well equipped kitchen and great set up for large groups or large family group. Girls loved the property and want to return again when we go away on our Youth Group Camp next year. Hosts Bill & Ann were lovely most welcoming and very helpful as well.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
30 Aug 2014
Carolyn and her friendly youth group were an absolute pleasure to have visit us at Galwiji Homestead.

I am so glad that they enjoyed the place as much as they did.

Kindest regards. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
shirken
melbourne
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Beautiful historic homestead”
Reviewed 4 August 2014 for a stay in July 2014

Have just spent 3 fantastic days at Gawiji with husband , son and 2 granddaughters from uk, daughter and son-in-law and granddaughter from australia, ages 14 to 75 and we all agree that it was a. Lovely historic place to stay with beautiful grounds, lovely walks . we had great fun with the table tennis and other games provided, and just sitting in front of the two cosy fires, the beds were very comfortable and kitchen was well stocked with utensils, plenty of room for the three generations to have there own space a pleasure to talk to Ann and Bill and Malcolm was great to deal with hope to go back and see it in warmer weather would definitely recommend

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: We liked everything
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
4 Aug 2014
Shirley, it was a pleasure to have you, Ken and your extended family at the Homestead. You are our kind of people! We're already looking forward to your next visit.

Kind regards.
Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
A L
Toowoomba, Australia
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A spacious but homely farmhouse in beautiful surroundings.”
Reviewed 16 July 2014 for a stay in June 2014

Four children of varying ages had a great deal of fun at GALWIJI over the last weekend in June. The weather was a shock to us Queenslanders but the fires kept us warm and the games room was a huge success. The kitchen had everything we needed, the beds were very comfortable, the setting beautiful and the walks full of things to discover and lovely views. Easy access to Ballarat. Brilliant directions and clear instructions for everything and owners were sups to deal with.

Travelling group: Teenagers
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
29 Jul 2014
Penelope and Atherton and their children were an absolute pleasure to have at Galwiji Homestead. Particularly impressive was their willingness to get into the spirit of country living - so good to have the walking tracks get a good workout! :)

Would love to have them back any time.

Kind regards. Malcolm Pryor. Operations Manager, Galwiji Homestead.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing