We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
Why Book on TripAdvisor?
  • Tour highlights & full itinerary
  • Easy online booking
  • Lowest price guaranteed
More Information
  
Recommended experiences in and around Ballarat
from US$29,03
More Info
from US$120,49
More Info
from US$122,66
More Info
Reviews (852)
Filter reviews
852 results
Traveller rating
506
254
71
12
9
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
506
254
71
12
9
Show reviews that mention
All reviews tasmanian devils australian animals reptile house kangaroo food feed kangaroos friendly kangaroos free roaming koala experience close encounter animal lovers animal shows hand feed overseas visitors guided tour interactive experience great afternoon picnic lunch
Filter
Updating list...
34 - 39 of 852 reviews
Reviewed 2 September 2018

Wherever I travel i am always looking for wildlife parks or zoos to visit and on my latest trip to Australia I was told about the Ballarat Wildlife Park that was located about a hour from where I was staying in Bendigo. This is a private family operated wildlife park that has been run by Greg Parker for over 30 years. The park is home to numerous indigenous wildlife but also others from outside Australia. Although the bad weather, it was winter, meant that I had to visit the outdoor attractions between showers, I nevertheless had a fantastic day and the animal keepers were execellent. The park is home to Crunch a 5 metre-long saltwater crocodile and he is certainly a super croc who is over 60 years old. They also have alligators and fresh water crocodiles. The Koalas were an absolute treat to watch and quite active during my visit. The Kangeroos could be fed by hand and it was great to get up close to Tasmanian Devils and Wombats. The reptile house was home to numerous deadly piosonous snakes that are found in the outback and some from further afield. One is always thankful you are separated by a glass panel. This wildlife park is reccomended to anyone who is travelling in this part of Victoria.

Date of experience: August 2018
3  Thank Kevin G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 August 2018

This place is awesome. Kangaroos and Lamas roam around in the open. Just get the kangaroo feed to feed them and enjoy. During our visit, even Emu was in the open. It was wonderful. There are penguin, reptile and tortoise presentations as well. They were good. They have a good range of animals.
Kids love feeding the kangaroos. Nice staff and if might get some discount if you buy tickets online.
Enjoy!

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank Jazz3085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 August 2018 via mobile

I had my mouth hung open, as I entered the park & saw my first ever kangaroo coming up to me for food!! This is a lovely interactive wildlife park & we even got to stroke a Dingo. Well worth a visit!!

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank Penni454
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalWildlifePark, Manager at Ballarat Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thanks for visiting and for the fantastic review! We're glad you enjoyed meeting a kangaroo for the first time at our park.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 August 2018

The best Wildlife Park ever!!! All the staff was nice, loving, it’s crystal clear they love their job (they take care of them very gentle, you could hear them talking to animals calling them sweetheart and congratulating when good). Cangaroos jump freely, you can feed them, directly, buying 3dollars seeds the Park sells. You can also purchase close encounters with animals such as koalas –they’re so soft and lovely!!! Awesome experience. Easy to reach from Melbourne City, V-Line train connection and then tram.

Date of experience: August 2018
2  Thank jadina2019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalWildlifePark, Manager at Ballarat Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 17 October 2018

Thanks for the incredible review!! We loved reading your comments and thrilled to hear you enjoyed your visit.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2018

Definietly get Kangaroo feed for the kangaroos. Try and get around to visit all the animal presentations. Really fun. Bring your own food so that you dont have to pay for it at the cafe. The crocodile was brilliant. Definitely would go back

Date of experience: July 2018
Thank LilTasyaReview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BalWildlifePark, Manager at Ballarat Wildlife Park, responded to this reviewResponded 7 August 2018

Thanks for taking the time to leave a review, we're pleased to hear you enjoyed your visit and the animal presentations. Visitors are most welcome to bring their own food, and our cafe offers great food and value-for-money.
Hope to see you again soon!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews