We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average”
Review of Terrace Restaurant

Terrace Restaurant
Ranked #4 of 341 Restaurants in Launceston
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$12 - US$107
Cuisines: Australian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Description: At the Terrace our heart belongs to Tasmania and we seek to source ingredients native to the area and celebrate everything that makes our island, and our region stand out when it comes to food. With an uncompromising focus on excellence - our team supports Tasmania’s very best farmers and producers, reverting back to our roots to deliver a true paddock to plate experience to you as our guests.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Service was 10 out of 10 food 6 out of 10. Touch above bistro food defiantly not fine dinning. Have been there before 2 years ago and it was amassing, something has defiantly changed.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Chef's C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn M, Manager at Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear Chef's C,
Thank you for taking the time to review our restaurant. I am glad you enjoyed the service provided but I am sorry you did not enjoy your dining experience at our restaurant.
We do strive to keep our customers happy and content and obviously did not succeed this time,
Thanks so much.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

4 - 8 of 229 reviews

Reviewed 1 April 2018

The Terrace should be Launceston's number one restaurant. The chef has done an outstanding job with the menu, with everything we ordered being first class. My elderly father made the comment "I have never had food like this before". For a great eating experience, visit The Terrace.





'

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank susanfoley123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn M, Manager at Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Dear susanfoley123,
Thank you so much for this wonderful review. It was certainly our pleasure to have you dine with us. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit to the Terrace.
Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 March 2018 via mobile

1st weirdness: When we booked a table, the restaurant said the only had 2 slots available for a table of 2, 6:45 or 7:45. The place was nearly empty while we dined. Faux busy.

2nd weirdness: provided with a dirty plate to dine off.

3rd weirdness: served a dish on a saucer. WTF?

4th weirdness: charged for 3 extra drinks we didn't order, receive or consume.

5th weirdness: staff giving that remote impersonal smugness incorrectly associated with class. Just made us feel uncomfortable.

6th weirdness: none of the staff could correctly pronounce spätzle.

Wine list that was over-priced by a new and original scalar multiple.

But I must say the food seemed well prepared and presented, and was original.

Thank arncliffebrian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 March 2018

It was a treat to dine in Terrace Restaurant in Launceston’s Country Club. Our experience was world-class we were truly well fed, well wined and very well looked after.
The restaurant’s decor is classical and very pleasantly decorated with the works of a local artist, Barbie Kjar. The crisp white linen, shining glassware and polished silverware speaks of a restaurant aiming to please the most discerning of diners. The service was exceptionally good, and we were well looked after by the very attentive restaurant manageress. She was a pleasure to deal with and knew the wine and food well.
Each dish was flavoursome, thoughtfully presented and caught the eye. Naturally, there is a considerable focus on local produce and Tasmanian wines. We particularly enjoyed the ceviche. It was an excellent example of this delicate dish. Our Wild Clover Lamb was a joy especially when it was washed down with 2016 Dalrymple Pinot Noir.
The restaurant’s wine list featured excellent Tasmanian wines and some local gin.
We would have no hesitation in eating again at Terrace Restaurant…it certainly deserves its awards.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Barratt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn M, Manager at Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear Barratt,

I am so glad that you enjoyed the experience of dining with us at the Terrace. We love to use the very best of Tasmanian produce to showcase in our menus and wine list. Thank you for taking the time to review us and we hope that you will join us for dinner again very soon.
Kind regards,
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2018 via mobile

This is the signature in-house restaurant, specializing in meals featuring local produce. We were received warmly for our 6:30 pm dinner reservation and enjoyed aperitifs while considering the menu. Wait staff engaged us in discussions of Tassie wines to pair with our meal options. We ordered a Caesar salad, the duck fillet and back strap lamb. The food didn’t take long to arrive. Portions were generous so we shared everything. The consensus was a score!!! Service was attentive yet unobtrusive. It was a wonderful evening.

Thank FootlooseSingapore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Robyn M, Manager at Terrace Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 March 2018

Dear FootlooseSingapore,

Thanks so much for your wonderful review. We are so glad that you enjoyed the food and service at the Terrace. The duck is certainly one of my favourites too. We hope to welcome you again when you are next visiting Tasmania.
Kind regards,
Robyn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Terrace Restaurant also viewed

 
 
Launceston, Tasmania
Launceston, Tasmania
 

Been to Terrace Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing