We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Lock in the lowest price from these sites
Booking.com
US$222
US$200
View deal
Expedia.comUS$200
PricelineUS$200
Hotels.comUS$200
CheapTicketsUS$200
eDreamsUS$200
ZenHotels.comUS$222
View all 18 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 705)
Filter reviews
2 706 results
Traveller rating
962
1 072
446
144
82
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
962
1 072
446
144
82
Show reviews that mention
All reviews seafood buffet lobby bar windjammers restaurant across the road ocean view balcony room an upgrade cafes and restaurants fantastic location accor parking carl cockatoos conference refurbishment wedding lighthouse
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 2 706 reviews
Reviewed 18 April 2021

I stayed here overnight on the 17th of April. A twin room was $669.00 for 2 people.
We needed to be online the Novotel charged $29.99 for 24 hours WIFI. !
Parking, and there is ample another $25.00 a night !
A total Rip Off.
Furthermore we had no micro wave in the rooms as described on the website.
The reception suggested if we wanted to heat our takeaway we get the restaurant to pick it up , heat it and deliver it back to the room.
we didn't bother. had cheese and crackers for dinner.
In the morning Sunday the 18th we went to our reserved table in the buffet breakfast.
The duty receptionist ignored us for a full 12 minutes as she was talking to "old friends". Totally unprofessional. In the USA should would have been sacked.
.
We got fed up and seated ourselves.
the buffet was quite good but fairly limited in choices. Basically juice,fruit, cereal and bacon and eggs, tomato , sausage etc., plus a choice of self serve toasts and breads.
This cost $30.00 each.
At the price of the room it should have been included.
There were no newspapers available" due to Covid ".You can read online, yes for $29.99.
The hotel should provide a sealed newspaper under the door in the morning if requested.
then the newspaper can be disposed of by room cleaners.
I am not going to pass around a newspaper at the moment.
all in all, a dreary atmosphere, bored and poorly motivated staff.
Our air-conditioner didn't work at all, and the room was stuffy.
we were very disappointed.
we could here the distorted music for the 2 story sports bar echoing though the lobby and into our corridor until late.
so had to keep the balcony door closed instead of getting some ventilation.
The good thing were the beds , new and extremely comfortable and the sunny balcony was a good size.
i would not recommend people stay here.
we were both glad to leave. Moved to an immaculately presented room, in a seaside motel with free wifi , security parking.a kitchenette with a microwave etc. about a quarter of the price and the staff are friendly and quick to assist.
whoever is in charge of this hotel has no clue, or never visits here.
Not the sort of place you expect on Accord. and news an "tune up" by Accor corporate.
i will NEVER be back.

Room tip: Go somewhere else to stay.AVOID Novotel Wollongong
Date of stay: April 2021
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank V4267OOjohnd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa Borg, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2021

Good Afternoon V4267OOjohnd,
Thank you for taking the time to provide your constructive feedback on your recent stay with us. It is disappointing to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations. I am sorry to hear that you feel that your stay was not value for money, our rates fluctuate, taking into consideration our occupancy levels, as well has what is happening internally and externally to the property. Our WIFI is indeed charged within the hotel. With this we have a free Accor membership available for our guests which enables free WIFI as well as other great benefits across all of our properties. Our parking is also charged, although around our property there is ample free and unmetered parking available.

Microwaves are available upon request, as we are not services apartments, our rooms are not already equipped with this facility. Although as mentioned to you, we have a 24/7 in-room dining team available to assist with this. I am sorry to hear that you were unattended for 12 minutes. Providing exceptional customer service is very important for us here at Novotel Northbeach, so rest assured this will be investigated to prevent future occurrence.

Unfortunately we no longer provide newspapers to our guests upon request, which is due to a number of reasons - COVID being one of them as stated by our team. We do have newspapers available in our convenience store available for purchase, my apologies that you were not advised of this. I am sorry to hear that issues with your air conditioning and noise around the hotel had also caused an inconvenience to your stay. We are currently implementing measures to rectify these issues for our guests to prevent future occurrence within the property.


Again I thank you for your feedback, as it allows us to make positive changes within our property to better enhance our guest services and guest experience. This is definitely not the usual standard for us, and I do hope that we have the opportunity to accommodate you again in the near future to experience all that we have to offer.
If you would like to discuss this further please don't hesitate to contact me at Novotel Northbeach.

Kind Regards,
Vanessa Borg
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2021

the hotel location is good, just next to north beach. hotel staff offered great service, they're very accommodating. some works or renovations were going on at level 3, but minimal noise and still very clean...

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank denz_d01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa Borg, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 20 April 2021

Hi denz_d01,
Thank you for providing you feedback on you recent experience with us. It is so wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us. At this stage we are currently awaiting the completion of our fitness center which is due to be finished real soon. I do hope that we have the opportunity to welcome you back to experience this.
Kind Regards,
Vanessa Borg
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2021 via mobile

Located directly opposite the beach with lots of amenities on site - Bars, restaurant, shop, pool, spa etc. There's plenty of positives about the hotel but our room was overcome with an awful damp smell that ruined the experience. It was overwhelming and even stuck to our clothes after we left. Hopefully management will address the issue soon.

Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank Probson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa Borg, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 16 April 2021

Hi Probson,
Thank you so much for taking the time to tell us about your recent experience. I am please to hear that you enjoyed our newly upgraded facilities. Thanking you sharing your concern about the damp smell in your room. Our management team are working endlessly to rectify this issue and implement strategies to ensure that this isn't a reoccurring issue in the future. I do hope that we have the opportunity to accommodation you again in the near future.
Best Regards,
Vanessa Borg
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 April 2021

The hotel is much improved after the recent reservations. As a gold ALL member I was upgraded to an ocean view room on the top floor. The room was a good size with a king bed and lounge. The reception staff were all very pleasant. The location of the hotel is very good particularly as Wollongong has the city loop bus service that stops at the front of the hotel. The only criticism being the carpet in the hall is quite stained and the elevators had an issue but they are about to be upgraded which should decidedly improve their performance.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
1  Thank 987carolynj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa Borg, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2021

Hi 987carolynj,
Thanks so much for your feedback and 4 star rating. I am pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us as well as our newly upgraded facilities. How great is our location! We are very lucky to be situated in such a fantastic area. Thank you for raising your concerns, we are currently implementing measures to rectify these issues. I look forward to having the opportunity to accommodate you again in the future.
Best Regards,
Vanessa Borg
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 April 2021

Very peasant stay in a great location, handy to parks, beach, walks and cafes. Parking easy
underneath but watch height limitations in some sections, cost of $25/night. Clean and friendly.
Great views to the beach/ocean.

Date of stay: April 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Accorhotels.com
Thank Paulette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vanessa Borg, Guest Services / Front Office at Novotel Wollongong Northbeach, responded to this reviewResponded 14 April 2021

Hi Paulette M,
Thank you for your feedback and kind words. It is fantastic to hear that you had such a great and memorable stay with us. I look forward to accommodating you when you return to Wollongong again in the near future.
Kind Regards,
Vanessa Borg
Guest Relations Executive

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews