We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Lowest prices for your stay
Hotels.com
Travelocity
eDreams
US$123
US$105
View deal
Booking.com
Orbitz.com
Expedia.comUS$123
View all 17 deals
* Prices are provided by our partners, and reflect average nightly room rates, including taxes and fees that are fixed, known to our partners, and due at time of booking. Please see our partners for more details.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (2 568)
Filter reviews
2 568 results
Traveller rating
809
953
449
214
143
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
Traveller rating
809
953
449
214
143
Show reviews that mention
All reviews win stadium great location golf course coffee machine buffet breakfast bed was very comfortable great stay business trip would stay again nice room late check across the road parking balcony wedding function cbd
Selected filters
Filter
Updating list...
3 - 8 of 2 568 reviews
Reviewed 15 June 2021 via mobile

Great place to stay, fantastic views around the Gong, comfy rooms with full size bathrooms with a real bathtub, on-site restaurant meals filling recommend only two courses unless you are a big eater, staff are very friendly and courteous.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank jennypX8889SJ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Wollongong, Guest Services / Front Office at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear JennyX8889SJ,



We very much appreciate your feedback regarding your stay at the Sage Hotel Wollongong.



It is always a pleasure to receive positive feedback. I am sure that this feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services. We agree we have some amazing views of Wollongong city, located just a short stroll to anything you might possibly need.



Thank you again for sharing your experience, and we hope your next visit will be as pleasant as this one.

Kind Regards,
Mark

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2021 via mobile

We stayed here as we were attending the Tina Arena at WIN stadium, which was just up the road. (as was the Steelers club). We would like to thank Thomas on the desk who was very friendly & helpful giving us a room upgrade with a fantastic view & queen beds instead of singles. In addition our early attendance secured us a parking spot. I didn’t mind paying due to restricted parking with the concert.

The beds were comfy & the room clean. There was a pod coffee machine there also. I really couldn’t complain, although we didn’t eat there. (The menu wasn’t to our tastes). Avo is so overdone! Please some people do like more basic food.

Overall it was a good experience.

Room tip: Arrive early if attending concerts or footy matches.
Date of stay: April 2021
Trip type: Travelled with family
Thank bluebird3458
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Wollongong, Guest Services / Front Office at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Dear Bluebird3458,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive review from our guests. This feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for you sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The team at Sage Hotel Wollongong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2021 via mobile

We had visited Sage a few years ago and had an amazing experience. It became my favourite place to stay! When we again had to travel to Wollongong, I was very excited to stay there. How disappointing was the experience! From the moment we booked in with the unfriendly, terse reception staff to the moment we discovered the dirty towel, dirty basin and the lack of tea, coffee, soap etc for a 2 night stay, it became a less than happy holiday. The $1 breakfast option last time was wonderful; this time the staff obviously wished they were elsewhere. The food was below average and the toast took half an hour to arrive, with the cafe only having 6 other customers. We only had our second breakfast there because of convenience and this was also disappointing, with the same staff still unfriendly and slow. No doubt the hotel will wonder why we didn't approach them at the time - no doubt this was because we knew we would be met with even more unfriendliness! Sage is not the cheapest option in Wollongong, especially as parking costs $20 per night, but it's in a very central part of the city. However, we will never stay there again and have already passed our opinion onto others who were thinking of staying. I don't usually complain, but we were both very disappointed.

Date of stay: May 2021
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank lisasP5769CS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Wollongong, Guest Services / Front Office at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Dear LisaP5769CS,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay. I am sorry to hear that it did not live up to expectations.
At the Sage Hotel we strive to provide a superior service experience, and I am sorry that in this instance we let you down.
I would recommend contacting us directly to make your next booking, as we have options that include complimentary car parking for our Sage members (free to join).

We appreciate you taking the time, and it is our hope to better serve you in the future.

Kind regards,
The team at Sage Hotel Wollongong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 May 2021

The only thing lacking at this hotel is the quality and variety of food at the restaurant. The rest is very good. The location next to the beach is fabulous. Certainly good value for money if you’re staying in the Illawarra.

Date of stay: May 2021
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Kruger_Dog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Wollongong, Guest Services / Front Office at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this reviewResponded 3 June 2021

Dear Kruger_Dog,

Thank you for taking the time to review your recent stay with us. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive review from our guests. This feedback will serve as an encouragement to all our staff as we strive to continuously improve the quality of our services.

Thank you again for you sharing your experience. We hope to welcome you back again soon.

Kind regards,
The team at Sage Hotel Wollongong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 April 2021

1 x lift was out of service and works in progress. Limited parking. Boom gate to carpark was not working at times. Food was not great at dinner. Room cleaning was sub standard. I had placed tag on door to clean the room, and room was partly cleaned. Bins not emptied, bed cover thrown over the top, etc. For the price I was expecting a better stay.

Date of stay: April 2021
  • Trip type: Travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Wollongongvisitor
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Wollongong, Guest Services / Front Office at Sage Hotel Wollongong, responded to this reviewResponded 8 May 2021

Dear Wollongongvisitor,



Thank you for taking the time to let us about your experience at the Sage Hotel Wollongong. I am sorry to hear that your experience did not meet your expectations.



At the Sage Wollongong, we strive to provide a superior service experience for every customer; therefore your feedback is very important to us. Only one elevator was in operation due to an upgrading program to deliver an improved guest experience. We thank you again for your patience and understanding and apologise for any inconvenience it may have caused you during your stay. We are very excited that our newly refurbished lifts are both now in full operation. We wish you had reached out to us during your stay, as we would have made every effort to improve the quality of your stay and address any issues of concern.



We appreciate you taking the time to share your concerns, and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the near future.

Kind Regards,

The Team at Sage Hotel Wollongong

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews