We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“excellent value early dining menu highly recommended”
Review of Tuddenham Mill

Tuddenham Mill
Ranked #1 of 3 Restaurants in Tuddenham
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$13 - US$78
Cuisines: British
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Reservations
Reviewed 29 September 2017

A very attractive restaurant above the hotel reception with a lovely view of water on the side we were seated. We loved the beamed ceiling and, at the far end, 2 glass “windows” set into the floor with views of preserved parts of the old mill below.

We had booked dinner here when we booked a room at this hotel but it was half empty on this midweek evening. We had asked about the early dining menu and were told it was available between 6.30-7.30pm and had to be pre-requested although it would still be possible to order a la carte if preferred.

We liked the early menu, offering 2 choices for all 3 courses at just £20. We started with chicken liver parfait and a cider and onion soup with diced apple floating in the creamy liquid. Both were delicate and excellent but needed salt. The fresh butter was topped with smoked sea salt and the bread was nice but we prefer it crustier.

For mains we had guinea fowl and pollock. Both were good but we didn’t really care for the accompanying curried pulses, they didn’t really seem to go with either the fowl or the fish. Again, everything was delicately flavoured and lacked salt.

The only dessert on the menu was excellent. The other third course was a small piece of good cheese with celery, 2 kinds of biscuits and pickle.

Would we return? The young waitresses were pleasant and well trained. Everything was well presented and good quality. Portion size was average. We left impressed with the excellent value of our dinner.

However, our preference is for gutsier food. We would have liked to award 4 1/2 blobs - the quality of everything lifts it above a 4 but the food is not really a 5.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank exotissima1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 2 October 2017

Thank you for your review about your recent experience in our restaurant.
All of your feedback has been shared with the team and we have discussed the points raised on the night of your reservation.
We are sorry to hear some of the dishes didn’t meet your expectations and the table wasn’t to your liking, however are pleased that you enjoyed your Guinea Fowl and Pollock as well as feeling on the whole that the meal was good value.
I hope that we may see you again at Tuddenham to sample some of our other dishes.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (264)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

50 - 54 of 264 reviews

Reviewed 23 September 2017

After making it to 20yrs of marriage we had the most gorgeous meal. The staff where very helpful and friendly. The menu offered something a bit special as always and i would recommend to anyone who enjoys amazing food !!! Will be back in October.

Thank claireallen510
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

Congratulations on your anniversary and we are so happy you chose to spend it here at the Mill.
We are very happy you enjoyed the menu and we look forward to welcoming you back in October.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 September 2017

We have been to Tuddenham Mill multiple times over the years and the experience has been consistently excellent. Nice setting, well prepared dishes and great attention to small detail -- local butter, superb homemade bread, imaginative pre-dinner canapes.

Thank Alexander P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

It is fantastic to read you have continued to support Tuddenham over the years and for that we do thank you. The attention to detail and imagination in what we deliver, is something we always strive to remain consistent.
We look forward to welcoming you back to the Mill soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2017

Five course taster menu as part of a stay package was fantastic, portions spot on so that we were able to enjoy all of the food and sample some wines.

Breakfast was equally delicious. Staff very friendly and welcoming. Homemade marmalade particularly good!

Thank Andrew F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

We are very pleased you enjoyed ‘taste and stay’ package at the Mill. Our tasting menu is very well received and is a great way to showcase different, seasonal produce across a 5 course menu.
It is pleasing to read you enjoyed your breakfast and in particular, our home-made marmalade.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back to the Mill soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 August 2017

Limited choice but fantastic food and value for money. A much cheaper way to eat at the Mill than the main manu and still exceptional quality food

Thank Suzanne C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lisa G, Manager at Tuddenham Mill, responded to this reviewResponded 28 September 2017

We are really pleased you enjoyed our early dining menu. It is something we have offered from the beginning of Lee, our Chef Patron’s, tenure at the Mill and it has been a great way to welcome new guests to experience what we offer.
We very much look forward to welcoming you back for our Autumn early dining offerings.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Tuddenham Mill also viewed

Bury St Edmunds, Suffolk
Worlington, Mildenhall
 
Barton Mills, Mildenhall
Tuddenham, Suffolk
 

Been to Tuddenham Mill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing