We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (897)
Filter reviews
897 results
Traveller rating
284
330
216
44
23
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
284
330
216
44
23
Show reviews that mention
All reviews bedroom villa lake view milford sound breakfast buffet new zealand tour group no air conditioning two double beds the main street the ground floor comfortable stay stayed here for one night small town town centre glow worm caves laundry facilities south island
Filter
Updating list...
27 - 32 of 897 reviews
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We stayed for two nights and although we had booked a garden view room, we were upgraded to a lake view room.

We used the spa and sauna on both nights which exceeded our expectations as reception provided a key and we could use them exclusively.

The rooms were extremely comfortable and the staff were friendly and helpful.

Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Mads737
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 25 June 2018

Dear Mads737
Thanks for your kind words of encouragement and I am delighted we had an opportunity to upgrade you. I am glad to hear you enjoyed our teams southern hospitality. We sincerely hope to see you back in the near future.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

A great value package for winter time. Had an amazing night away. The room was very clean, bed comfy and the spa was awesome. The staff we encountered were very friendly. The 3 course dinner was served in a cozy area with the fire going. Would definitely recommend this hotel.

Stayed: June 2018, travelled as a couple
1  Thank W6980AZlaurent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2018

Dear W6980AZlauent

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback and I am delighted to hear you had an amazing night away, the room was clean, bed comfy and you enjoyed the spa. I am humbled to hear our wonderful team made a lasting impression and we sincerely hope to see you back again in the future.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2018 via mobile

We stayed at this beautiful hotel during our trip to South Island making it as a base for Milford sound .Many people do up down from Queenstown itself for Milford sound but it’s wirth to spend some time at the beautiful lake town of Te aneau
The location is right on the beautiful lake and it has a few departmental and souvenirs shops nearby in town
The hotel is well appointed with lots of rooms and villas
It has a wonderful restaurant called MaxKinnon serving sumptuous dishes
The supposed spa and pool faciywete not up to the mark
The boat for Glow worm trip is also from nearby

Stayed: May 2018, travelled with friends
Thank BONEMAKER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear Bonemaker
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your feedback and I am delighted to hear you enjoyed your stay, location and enjoyed our MacKinnon room restaurant. We have taken your comments on board regarding spa and sauna and will use as a tool when making refurbishments to this area.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Although rooms are clean,tidy and well presented, rooms and facilities are bit 80ish.
We had a comfortable stay but with no A/C we turned the heating off as soon as we arrived, as it was quite warm. Was nice to have a bath for a good soak.
We found staff to to be very friendly and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RabnDazz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 28 May 2018

Dear RabnDazz

Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.
I am delighted to hear you found rooms clean and tidy and staff friendly and helpful.
We have taken your comments on board Re: facilities and will use a s a tool when making future renovations to the hotel.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2018

My wife and I stayed here for one night while visiting Te Anau and Milford Sound. Overall, the hotel didn’t do anything that blew us away, but considering there are no “luxury” hotels in Te Anau, this is probably one of the best options, with probably the best location.

The hallways and the room looked to be quite outdated, and was often reminiscent of a dormitory where I lived in college. The room key was an actual key that you put into a lock, not a keycard or key fob. The bed was fairly average, but it was not uncomfortable either. The bathroom was very small, with the shower in the walk-in bathtub – nothing super nice. All of the equipment/appliances in the room looked fairly outdated, the telephone in the room looked like something from 1996; with no readily available numbers I had no idea how to call the front desk. The heater in the room worked quite well, however. Our patio faced Lake Te Anau, and included two patio chairs – not too shabby.

We didn’t really use any of the other hotel facilities since we were only there for one night. The laundry room/machines looked atrocious, so we avoided that. The restaurant area and bar area looked like the nicest most modern parts of the property.

The staff did exemplify good hospitality. For example, the gentleman checking us in escorted my wife to our room with our luggage while I was parking the car (there are plenty of parking spots outside). When we had issues figuring out how to work the heater in the room, he walked back to our room from the front desk to personally show us how to use it, being very courteous and professional the entire time.

Room Tip: Try and get a room with a patio facing the lake
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nathan_Aguiar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bstander, General Manager at Distinction Te Anau Hotel and Villas, responded to this reviewResponded 22 May 2018

Dear Nathan
Thanks for taking the time to provide us with your valuable feedback.
It is comments like yours that enable us to benchmark ourselves and ensure we are constantly striving forward.
We have taken all your comments on board and will use when refurbishing the hotel and apologise the laundry facility was atrocious, we have addressed this to ensure we are checking more regularly.
I am delighted to hear that our team made a lasting impression and we sincerely hope you enjoyed the rest of your time in Fiordland and had a safe trip home.
Regards
Brent Stander

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews