We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
72
160
159
46
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
160
159
46
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound two double beds free wifi town centre would stay again lake view comfortable room restaurants and shops stayed here for two nights south island te queenstown cruise
Filter
Updating list...
7 - 12 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 19 June 2018 via mobile

We really enjoyed our stay of Kingsgate Hotel, Te Anau - we were given an upstairs room with lake view, $107pn for 2 adults and this included full cooked breakfast - yummy The reception has someone on duty 24/7. They have a restaurant for evening meals also.
THIS HOTEL TOTALLY RECOMMENDED .

Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank CatherineC4533
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2018

Average sort of hotel. Service friendly if a little preemptorial perhaps. No internal lift to get upstairs that I was aware of at least. No valet/concierge to assist with luggage. Room decor dated but sufficient amenities. Shower over the bath. No spare pillows. Ambience flat, little of appeal in terms of a bar or company to create some atmosphere. The restaurant seemed to be set up to cater to the Asian tour group who actually opted to eat elsewhere. We chose to eat elsewhere too rather than sit in an empty restaurant. Mind you we checked the restaurant out at rather an early time perhaps. It might have been busy in our absence.

Room Tip: Ask for views of the water
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank makomihi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 May 2018

This is a typical Kingsgate brand hotel. A good basic room, which is comfortable, and clean. I found the reception very good, but there is no lift, to the second floor. The room had no views of the lake. The rooms are serviced daily, and are clean. There is some cosmetic work to do in many parts of the hotel.
The menu, is basic, but well priced.
Very close to town and an easy walk, to many of the activities in Te Anau.

Room Tip: Ask for a ground floor room. Especially if you have a lot of baggage.
  • Stayed: May 2018, travelled solo
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank 62Peter1952
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2018

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed 14 April 2018

Rooms are aging but comfortable enough, check in staff were good but not so in the restaurant. I requested a plain omelette instead of scrambled eggs which was acknowledged so I plated up my other food only to be then told it would cost extra, same as my next request for mushrooms, so I left

  • Stayed: April 2018, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with MillenniumHotels.com
Thank N6974MZsimonm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews