We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (470)
Filter reviews
470 results
Traveller rating
72
160
159
46
33
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
72
160
159
46
33
Show reviews that mention
All reviews milford sound two double beds free wifi town centre would stay again lake view comfortable room restaurants and shops stayed here for two nights south island te queenstown cruise
Filter
Updating list...
83 - 88 of 470 reviews
Reviewed 27 August 2016

Found this accommodation very comfortable with a pillow top mattress to sleep on. Heating worked well. We took advantage of room service for our evening meal as the restaurant was not open the night we were there. The food was beautiful - we both had the stuffed chicken breast with pistachios. We also had the in room breakfast the next morning. Check out in the morning was a little slow, but I think this was more due to someone in front of us that seemed to have a lot of queries as to their bill. There are added costs to your bill if you use credit cards to pay. Staff were all very welcoming and friendly.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view if possible.
  • Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank DebbieB2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Dear DebbieB2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay.
Kind regards
Nick L
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 August 2016 via mobile

I stayed at the Kingsgate for work this month. I received a friendly welcome when I checked in.
The wifi was free.
The rooms were clean, a really generous size and well equipped.
The heating seemed small but the room wasn't cold.
I enjoyed the buffet breakfast the next morning.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled on business
Thank jessiesfamily
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 2 November 2016

Dear jessiesfamily
I appreciate you taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay.
Kind regards
Nick L
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 August 2016 via mobile

We booked this hotel after reading the reviews thinking it would be a nice comfortable budget motel. We kindly got upgraded when we checked in (to a superior room), as soon as we went upstairs the cracks began to show...
Straight away we smelt fresh paint which failed to cover the smell of stale smoke. We walked past a room and all the floor was feeling off. We finally got to our room and it seemed OK until we tried to turn on the heater only to discover it didn't work. Next we tried to run a bath to thaw out and the water came out blue and luke warm at best, the bath was also dirty.
I know it's a budget hotel, but considering we were upgraded I'd hate to think what out normal room would have been like. EXTREMELY DISAPPOINTED we were booked in for 3 nights but stayed one night and then stayed elsewhere in Te Anau.
Don't let the star rating or photos fool you, this is terrible.

Stayed: August 2016, travelled as a couple
Thank GALeeder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear GALeeder
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback. I apologise you found your stay unsatisfactory and that we were unable to meet personally to rectify the situation. I have instructed our customer care team to refund the remaining 2 nights of your pre paid reservation. I hope this experience did not spoil the rest of your vacation in New Zealand.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2016

Super comfortable bed and friendly enough staff make this place a good place to set off for Milford. The cleaning was good and there is plenty of parking. In the high season it might be quite noisy (but this was not our experience).

  • Stayed: July 2016, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank markinseoul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear markinseoul
Thank you for taking the time to post your feedback regarding your stay.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2016

Only spent the night here on our trip to Te Anau...well maintained property...a short walk from the visitors centre...rooms are decently sized...have most modern amenities...the buffet breakfast spread is ok...

  • Stayed: December 2015, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank amukho
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nick L, Manager at Kingsgate Hotel Te Anau, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2016

Dear amukho
Thank you for choosing to stay with us while in Te Anau.
Kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews