We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“relaxing”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tahuna House

View from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from balcony
View Cecil Peak Upstairs Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
30 reviews
View from balcony
View Cecil Peak
Upstairs Lounge
Upstairs lounge
Remarkables
Upstairs kitchen
King bedroom upstaairs
Bathrooms upstairs
Ensuite downstairs
1st Downstairs bedroom
Main bathroom downstairs
Kitchen downstairs
Living room downstairs
Living room upstairs
2nd Bedroom downstairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Queenstown, Otago Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 30 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
managemen...
Christchurch, New Zealand
1 review
“relaxing”
Reviewed 20 February 2017 for a stay in January 2017

we stayed here for 3 nights with my wife & 2 children the kids loved the big bedrooms and it gave mum & dad a break , a house I could live in & retire in
the kids loved the lake frontage and we walked to town as only 10 minutes
and frankton just down the road we even had a lazy day at the house as there there was always something to watch out on the lake

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
So pleased to know your family enjoyed your stay at Tahuna House and you were able to get into relaxing mode instantly. The view provides a wonderful screen to quietly occupy the mind. The walk into Queenstown along the lake pleasantly wakes up to the body.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
JennyC030...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Luxurious house overlooking Lake Wakatipu”
Reviewed 18 October 2016 for a stay in October 2016

We stayed for 4 nights in the top level of the house as it can be split into to separate, private accommodation areas. The house was very beautiful and comfortable making it hard to leave each morning to go out for the day. The floor to ceiling windows overlook the lake and the The Remarkable so you always have something beautiful to look at. The lounge dining area is large with a fireplace plus there is a huge gas heater that works fast to heat up the place. The kitchen is fully equipped and includes a BBQ on the balcony and a well stocked pantry. There is a washing machine and dryer in the large laundry which make a good drying room. I loved soaking in the giant deep bath tub in the ensuite. It is a only a couple of kilometres from the centre of Queenstown and has a great lakeside path to follow or it's a cheap taxi ride for under $10. There are a couple of bus stops close by and a supermarket only a few minutes drive away. We really loved staying at Tahuna House and would definitely stay there again. The owner Penny was very professional to deal with and communicated well with us via email plus gave us a call on arrival to check everything was OK.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: the views, the location
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Oct 2016
It was a pleasure to have Jenny and her husband stay at Tahuna House. They were perfect guests leaving the house in the same tidy condition as they greeted on arrival. Thanks Penny
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Diana R
Sydney
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“A beautiful house ...”
Reviewed 21 January 2016 for a stay in January 2016

We stayed at Tahuna House for a week in early January 2016. We were a family group of six adults and two small children (6 & 2). The house was beautiful and immaculately clean. The beds were very comfortable and the kitchen was well appointed.
It's a quiet and private spot with spectacular views over the lake and mountain range beyond, close to town and not far from the airport.
The owner Penny, and the cleaner were very diligent about checking that the house was in good order after the previous guests, which was much appreciated.
Happy to report that the recently laid driveway is quite splendid!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The view:)
Liked least: Very few high places to put things out of reach of a two year old!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Feb 2017
Having a living room on each floor makes the house very accommodating for a family and there is a lot of space in the upstairs living area if all the guests chose to congregate together.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PPSYD
Sydney, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
217 reviews
33 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 88 helpful votes
“Views of Lake and the Remarkables are truly remarkable”
Reviewed 4 November 2015 for a stay in September 2015
2
people found this review helpful

We arrived tired after a long day in the car travelling from Hokitika, taking in the Glaciers on the way, so the driveway was a surprise, however, the bottle of Red was a nice touch for the red wine drinkers. Our rooms and the views were spectacular. We rented the bottom floor and our children had the front rooms, the corner room with the two windows has amazing views. Our room was next to the kitchen, no views, but quiet and the access to the ensuite was needed after days of travelling.

If you want mornings being spell bound by views and the majesty of nature then Tahuna House is for you.

The kitchen and the laundry was well appointed and well used, again the chores of travelling. Our days in Queenstown were packed with bungy jumping, luge rides, shotover jet rides and trips to Arrowtown and Milford Sound, so the location of Tahuna House was central, yet quiet and relaxing.

The access to the water from the house is down steps, this provides access to the walking track to the CBD.

For a family travelling to Queenstown I would recommend Tahuna House as it offers the flexibilty of a home away from home, you can relax and enjoy the experiences in your own space.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the full size kitchen and laundry
Liked least: Driveway was being constructed - we were pushed on our final exit
Travelling group: Other
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Nov 2015
We are very happy you had such a good holiday in Queenstown and that you chose to stay and enjoy Tahuna House. The driveway construction is in the final stage with asphalt to be laid this week.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
timandmic...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Surpassed our expectations!”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our stay at Tahuna House was absolutely amazing. It really made our holiday in Queenstown an absolute dream. The views from every room were spectacular and one of our favourite we all loved sitting in front of the fire place with a glass of wine admiring the spectacular view. The house is a real credit to the owners. It more than met our expectations.
We all wanted to take the house home with us to Brisbane!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace
Liked least: The driveway
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
It is always an honour to host guests who have a wonderful holiday. We value people who respect our house as its place and surroundings have so much to give those who occupy Tahuna House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing