We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Surpassed our expectations!”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Tahuna House

View from balcony
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from balcony
View Cecil Peak Upstairs Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
29 reviews
View from balcony
View Cecil Peak
Upstairs Lounge
Upstairs lounge
Remarkables
Upstairs kitchen
King bedroom upstaairs
Bathrooms upstairs
Ensuite downstairs
1st Downstairs bedroom
Main bathroom downstairs
Kitchen downstairs
Living room downstairs
Living room upstairs
2nd Bedroom downstairs
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
4 Bedrooms, 4 Bathrooms, Sleeps 8
Queenstown, Otago Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 29 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
timandmic...
Brisbane, Australia
1 review
“Surpassed our expectations!”
Reviewed 19 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Our stay at Tahuna House was absolutely amazing. It really made our holiday in Queenstown an absolute dream. The views from every room were spectacular and one of our favourite we all loved sitting in front of the fire place with a glass of wine admiring the spectacular view. The house is a real credit to the owners. It more than met our expectations.
We all wanted to take the house home with us to Brisbane!!!!!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The fireplace
Liked least: The driveway
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
3 Oct 2015
It is always an honour to host guests who have a wonderful holiday. We value people who respect our house as its place and surroundings have so much to give those who occupy Tahuna House.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
relax56
sunshine coast
Level 4 Contributor
27 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Terrific at Tahuna”
Reviewed 28 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Oh,how i want to be back there.Organised this 6 day get away,from the Sunshine Coast Qld,12 months ago.I had worked in Queenstown in the 70's,had my 21st there,and went back for my 60th.Tahuna,was everything i imagined it to be and more.From when you first open the front door,you won't be disappointed.Not only does the wonderful view hit you,of the Lake,Remarkables etc,the ambience is electric,So wonderfully designed for a group,with 2 immaculate kitchens,3 bathrooms,plus extra toilet upstairs,2 laundrys,the list goes on and on.Down the steps to the lake,and you can sit on your own jetty,this may not suit all ages,as it is quite steep,however,we all enjoyed it.You can sit out on the deck in the arvo,enjoy a glass of wine,or what ever is your favourite tipple,and just enjoy the activity on the lake,watch planes coming in to land at Frankton Airport.Stay longer if you can,like us,6 nights,wasn't really long enough,but we all had commitments,use it as a base,you can do so much in a day,and trust me,there is so much to do.Owners don't ask for much,leave it how you find it,as you can appreciate,it is their home,it is not a hotel unit.Hopefully we will get there again,down the line,next time in the winter for the log fire.Owners supply the wood.Treat yourselves to Tahuna,so close to town,but far enough away,from the busy town life.Hmmmmm,just dreaming now,of laying in bed,looking at the view.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The View,and the way it had been built,so much natural light
Liked least: We all found,nothing not to like
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lawscotla...
scotland
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Couldn't stop looking out of the window”
Reviewed 24 March 2015 for a stay in March 2015

Wow, what a lovely place, rented the top floor for 3 nights but didn't want to leave. The views over the remarkables were truly remarkable!! The apartment was beautiful and comfortable couldn't fault it. Great location close to town. Had everything we wanted and more. Thank you penny we will definately be back to stay.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
beesknees...
Auckland, Auckland, New Zealand
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Superb in Everyway”
Reviewed 11 February 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Tahuna was a dream house...in every way .We had a special Anniversary to celebrate and so alot of thought and time went into this trip to Queenstown. We were not let down.It was a joy to come back "home" at the end of the day and because of the exquisite views and fab kitchen it was a treat to have dinner there rather than out! The sound system was amazing and the open fire was more than efficient .The communication with the owner prior to our arrival was excellent! We are longing to return to see those glorious mountains ,ever changing views of the lake and enjoy the ambience of it all.Many many thanks Penny.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: views from every window
Liked least: having to leave ...
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kataoka D
1 review
“Beautiful house and view”
Reviewed 7 January 2015 for a stay in January 2015

Awesome house with great view. Great location with easy access to town and lake side.
Very much worth it and great cost performance. The kitchen was also great to use. It would be great if there was BBQ machine as it has a nice outside area downstairs with kitchen and dinning table.

This is definitely one of the best holiday houses we stayed.
We would love to come back again in the future.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$393
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing