We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Fabulous location”
other traveller has booked this property
Boatshed - harbourside view from balcony.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Boatshed - harbourside view from balcony.
Evening light. Looking North  towards Quarantine Island.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
7 reviews
Boatshed - harbourside view from balcony.
Evening light.
Looking North  towards Quarantine Island.
Our Bay.
Margate-by-the-Sea.
Side entrance.
Kitchen.
Kitchen.
Dining.
Sittingroom.
Queen bedroom.
Down by the water in front of Margate-by-the-Sea.
Valley walk to Harbour Cone.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Dunedin, Otago Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 7 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
German first
Any
English first
binge2017
Wellington, New Zealand
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fabulous location”
Reviewed 16 February 2017 for a stay in February 2017
1
person found this review helpful

Great self contained apartment with huge views out across the bay. This apartment on the Otago Peninsula is a great base to explore Dunedin city, albatross, penguins and beaches. Relaxing to sit and watch the sea, wildlife and boats - the apartment has everything we needed and Robin and Ian were very helpful and friendly.

Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
16 Feb 2017
Glad you enjoyed your holiday at Margate , Bill & Jane. Good luck with future plans!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lynne D
Liverpool, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent accommodation, fabulous view”
Reviewed 23 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
3
people found this review helpful

We stayed at Margate-by-the-Sea for 6 nights at the start of a four-week holiday in New Zealand and couldn't have been more pleased with the accommodation. Robin and Ian were very welcoming and the apartment was everything you would hope for: clean, well-equipped and warm (it was winter!) The view across the bay was beautiful and ever changing with the weather and time of day. The property is ideally placed to explore the Otago peninsula (Royal albatross and Little Blue penguins a must), Dunedin (Otago Museum well worth a visit, with something for everyone) and we even did a day trip to the Catlins. I would definitely recommend this accommodation :)

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: At the property, the view; activity - little blue penguins
Liked least: Nothing, but be aware that the wifi is not unlimited
Travelling group: Other
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Shawn A
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Fantastic getaway outside of the city with a beautiful view!”
Reviewed 23 May 2016 for a stay in May 2016
2
people found this review helpful

One of the best places we stayed in all of New Zealand! Such amazing views, near to wildlife, 20 minute drive to the city, etc.

We cooked in the great kitchen, and they even let us use a little fruit/veggies from the garden in the back (thank you!). I would highly recommend this to anyone who likes wildlife, and doesn't want to stay in the city.

Just a tip, spend some time mapping it out before you get there, including looking at google streetview. It was difficult to find. We found it right away but only because we checked streetview before we left our last motel.

The views are next to none! The hosts were incredibly welcoming and helpful. I highly highly recommend Margate by the sea!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views, the hosts, and the yard
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
victoria...
washington dc
Level 6 Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Fantastic, Restful, Comfortable, Gorgeogeus and Chickens.”
Reviewed 30 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016
1
person found this review helpful

Perfectly comfortable apt. with gorgeous views. Can't say enough good things about this place. We booked for 2 nights before starting a bike tour and it was so relaxing and charming it remains a highlight of our 2 week stay in NZ.

No shops or restaurants nearby, so buy what you need in town, cook and just enjoy the views. Spend a whole day with Monarch Tours and Albatross Center - seriously - totally worth it! (Town of Portabello does have a couple of pub/restaurants and a mini-mart at 10 min. drive.)

Driveway is a bit tricky, but put someone out to guide, take your time and you will do fine.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Comfortable, gorgeous views, friendly hosts
Liked least: It is a 17+ hour flight from home!
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manxmaggi...
Ramsey, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“BEAUTIFUL VIEWS AND KIND AND HELPFUL OWNERS”
Reviewed 24 February 2014 for a stay in February 2014
4
people found this review helpful

The apartment was well equipped and the view from all the windows was beautiful. We had a peaceful and rejuvenating stay and Robin, Ian and Phoebe(the dog) were very good to us. We would recommend this lovely apartment to anyone. The peninsula had lovely walking tracks but take a map, although we enjoyed getting lost! Portobello General Store was excellent and had just about everything you need.

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing