We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fantastic Lunch”
Review of Hutong

Hutong
Ranked #60 of 410 Restaurants in Dunedin
Certificate of Excellence
Restaurant details
Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

Looking for authentic Asian food. We ordered pad Thai and mussaman curry. Totalled blown away. Amazing presentation and taste! Perfect lunch for our quick pit stop in Dunedin.

Date of visit: February 2017
Thank Annie R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (120)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

69 - 73 of 120 reviews

Reviewed 25 March 2017 via mobile

We dined at Hutong for our daughters birthday and we had a great experience. The service was outstanding, very friendly, fast and attentive. The food was top quality, fresh and very tasty. I would highly recommend the crispy duck spring rolls, pork belly and the beef rendang. Great value for money.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank DougieMac71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2017 via mobile

Great menu with all tastes catered. Lovely, lovely food delivered quickly. Friendly staff. Popular as offers a number of Asian cuisines. Street food mainly. Odd occurrences -- drink delivered after food. Asked for ice with the sparkling water. Got drink in one glass and ice in a different glass. Roti tastes like they make it in-house. Nice and light and a complement to the meal. Well priced. Would recommend. But do book.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank drtgfnz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2017 via mobile

This was our last dining experience after a two weeks around the south island. Food was very good and flavours in each of the dishes was great. Will visit again when we come back to Dunedin.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank Robert H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsianGardenNZ, Social Media Manager at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2017

Dear Robert H,

I'm so glad you find us!!!
Trust we gave a good closing to your holidays. :)

Please do come back as we will delighted to serve you again.

Kind Regards.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 March 2017 via mobile

Went with a group of friends. Very hot and busy in a small space. Lovely atmosphere and decor. We shared our meals and some were definitely tastier than others. The pork belly was lovely but have had better bun Hanoi before else where.

Date of visit: March 2017
Thank southerncityslicker
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AsianGardenNZ, Social Media Officer at Hutong, responded to this reviewResponded 5 March 2017

Hi there southerncityslicker,

Thank you for taking the time to share your experience with us.

We are pleased to hear that overall you enjoyed your visit, the pork belly is definitely one of my favourite dishes. We are sorry to hear the Bun Hanoi wasn't to your taste.
I'll be sure to pass on your message to the team!

We look forward to hopefully seeing you back again in the future!

Have a lovely day.

Kind regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Hutong also viewed

 
Dunedin, Otago Region
Dunedin, Otago Region
 

Been to Hutong? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing