We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good food and service.”

Jimmy's Restaurant and Bar
Ranked #77 of 1 138 Restaurants in Christchurch
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: New Zealand
Dining options: Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Great service.Excellent double shot flat whites well done Gerry. Well stocked bar with good selection for everything

Thank argyll2nz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Jimmy's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your comments on your experience with us in the bar. I am glad you enjoyed our service and selections. We look forward to seeing you again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (103)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 103 reviews

Reviewed 4 weeks ago

The food was really good, but the service was slow. It was also quite cold by the windows. The waitress was quite friendly.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Emily H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Jimmy's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed the food it is fantastic. I can only apologise for the service I am aware of the night you dined and can assure you this is not the norm.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Stayed here on business and enjoyed a drink and dinner. Good prices and nice staff. There is a good atmosphere and some really quirky touches and finishing that are fun to look at. Worth a visit if you are staying there.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank EmgeeNZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Jimmy's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your dining experience with us. I am glad you enjoyed your dinner along with our staff and our quirky bar. It certainly makes for conversation during dining. We look forward to seeing you back again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018

Great restaurant. Nice beers on tap, great service and even better meals. Was interesting looking around all the old memorabilia and reading the life of the Horn-castles.

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 79Landcruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Jimmy's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2018

Thank you so much for your feedback. Its great to hear you enjoyed our tap beers along with our fantastic meals. The courtyard is a testament to my father and has so many interesting things to see.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 9 May 2018

Food was excellent and staff really friendly at whatever time !always with a ready smile. Interested in all customers

Thank hilarycoulson2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Horncastle, General Manager at Jimmy's Restaurant and Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 14 May 2018

Thank you for taking the time to post feedback on your dining experience with us. We do hope you have the opportunity to return again in the future.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Jimmy's Restaurant and Bar also viewed

Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
Christchurch, Canterbury Region
 

Been to Jimmy's Restaurant and Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing