We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Immaculate, modern and homely”
other traveller has booked this property
Peaceful, Restful Bedroom
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Peaceful, Restful Bedroom
Comfortable Queen Bed Tranquil Views from Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
19 reviews
Peaceful, Restful Bedroom
Comfortable Queen Bed
Tranquil Views from Bedroom
New Ensuite Bathroom
Open Plan Lounge/Dining
Comfortable Couches
Dining for Four
Fully-Equipped Kitchen with Pantry
Private BBQ Courtyard
Tucked Away & Tranquil
Close to the City, yet a World Away
Peaceful River Walks Nearby
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 3
Christchurch, Canterbury Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 19 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
Jaybly
Kendal, United Kingdom
Level 5 Contributor
62 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Immaculate, modern and homely”
Reviewed 28 May 2011 for a stay in February 2011
1
person found this review helpful

We had just arrived for our five week tour of NZ following a long flight from the UK. We opened the door of Valley View Cottage and were immediately reassured that it was going to be a relaxing and comfortable stay. A home from home with all the facilities (and more) - comfortable cosy living area, wonderfully equipped kitchen and smart table to sit at for breakfast with the sun trickling in. Spacious bedroom and wardrobes and warm shower room - all spotlessly clean and fresh.

To be honest, we would like to have stayed longer, this was the only place we managed to unpack! Every evening felt like coming home!

Great location for Christchurch, Port Hills, Kaikoura etc.

We were devastated to hear about the damage from the earthquake five days later. We wish Jenny good luck with the repairs.

We will be back in a couple of years time!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: With Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ferrywing...
SWISHER
Level 5 Contributor
44 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Wonderful Retreat - Very Much Enjoyed our Time Here!”
Reviewed 13 February 2011 for a stay in January 2011

My husband and I stayed here for 15 days of a 3-month visit to NZ. We booked based on reviews we saw on Tripadvisor, and were not disappointed! Would have stayed longer, but it was not available. This cottage is on the outskirts south of city centre, but is within walking distance of a grocery store and just blocks from the bus stop, so we had no problems getting around without a car. It backs up to Mount Vernon Farm Track, where there is great hiking with spectacular views. Kitchen facilities very nice and loved the outdoor grill. Jenny is great to work with and went out of her way to make sure we were well settled. If looking for a place for some quiet down time, this is perfect!

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway A romantic getaway
Rugged travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Feb 2011
Lovely to hear you enjoyed your time at Valley View. Thanks for staying with us, and hope your holiday in New Zealand is proving to be all you anticipated. Happy travelling!
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
USA
Reviewed 13 October 2010 for a stay in September 2010
1
person found this review helpful

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk Service
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 65+
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Auckland
Reviewed 27 August 2010 for a stay in July 2010

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Check-in / front desk
Liked best: Location, amazingly stocked
Travelling group: Spouse / significant other
Your age range 25-34
Would I recommend this holiday rental to my best friend?  
Recommended for:
Young singles Friends getaway
A romantic getaway Older travelers
Tourists Luxury-minded travelers
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
New Zealand
Reviewed 9 May 2010 for a stay in October 2009

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
from
US$105
/ Night
Book Now
Or, send the owner a message
This property has Payment Protection
Never pay for your holiday rental by wire transfer.
Learn more about paying safely.
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing