We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Homely and good value”
other travellers have booked this property
Red Door Cottage
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Red Door Cottage
Restful Master Bedroom Peaceful 2nd Bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
51 reviews
Red Door Cottage
Restful Master Bedroom
Peaceful 2nd Bedroom
Trendy Decor
Plenty of Space
Dining for Six
Comfortable Couches
Relax in Comfort
Sunny Lounge
Spacious Living Area
Modern Kitchen
Outdoor Living
Sunny Verandah
Tranquil Private Garden
Outdoor Garden Seating
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
2 Bedrooms, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 5
Christchurch, Canterbury Region, South Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 51 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
English first
Any
English first
FromGB
Level 6 Contributor
216 reviews
77 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 140 helpful votes
“Homely and good value”
Reviewed 5 November 2015 for a stay in October 2015

We spent a very pleasant few days here. As others report the kitchen is very well stocked, by far the best stocked self catering on our travels and very helpful when travelling. The house is very homely, a lovely small garden, nice open plan main room, dining area and kitchen, two double bedrooms and one bathroom. There is also a laundry room.

Directions to the property are clear. The key is left in a key box, we never met the owners although there are contact numbers should you need to contact them. This is certainly a good value option in Christchurch.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property?
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Andrew_Bu...
Brisbane, Australia
Level 4 Contributor
39 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Amazing. Simply Amazing.”
Reviewed 22 August 2015 for a stay in August 2015

The minute we walked in the door we felt at home. What an outstanding place to stay in Christchurch. This 2 bedroom cottage has everything you might be looking for and then some - it was the perfect place for us to mix some "chill out" time in the cottage with some touring and shopping in and around Christchurch. Now that city centre accomodation is limited, this becomes a perfect option, far enough off the hustle and bustle of Papanui Road for a comfortable, peaceful nights sleep, and still walking distance to everything you need.
Forget a hotel room - book this every time.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Liked best: Spacious and all the comforts of home
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
People with disabilities Older travelers
Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
23 Aug 2015
Thanks so much for your kind words, it's great to hear you all enjoyed your time at Red Door Cottage. We love our little house, and it's lovely others enjoy it too. Please come back and stay anytime, you'd be very welcome.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ineedahol...
Singapore
Level 6 Contributor
156 reviews
62 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“A real home away from home”
Reviewed 22 June 2015 for a stay in December 2014

This is exactly what I'd like my house to be if I had one in Christchurch! The lovely owner has done it up with loving care and one never feels for a moment that it is a holiday rental. A supermarket is not far off, and it's a pleasant 15-20 min walk to the city centre. The kitchen is full of condiments and supplies, which is wonderful for us who cannot bring in foodstuff from elsewhere, but would love to have our Asian spices, sauces and condiments to cook with. Our kids loved it so much they want to come back to Christchurch just to stay here!

Travelling group: Young Children
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
22 Jun 2015
Thank you for your wonderful review, it's great to hear you all had a great time at Red Door. You'd be very welcome to return any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TerylC
Upper Hutt, New Zealand
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Top quality with all the extras”
Reviewed 11 June 2015 for a stay in June 2015

I've stayed in this lovely cottage 3-4 times previously. It has 2 bedrooms with queen size beds in both rooms. Large TV in the comfortable lounge area. The pantry is well stocked with all the extra's you could ever need and so is the fridge. If I could rate this property higher I would. Booking and confirmation is an easy process and the cottage is always immaculately clean. I wish they had more rentals in Christchurch as it is frequently booked out!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The good quality of everything
Liked least: parking
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
12 Jun 2015
Thanks for your kind words, it's lovely to have you stay with us.
We're delighted you enjoy Red Door and you're all welcome to return any time.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
MaryFar
Auckland New Zealand
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“The very best of the best!”
Reviewed 18 April 2015 for a stay in April 2015

Wow! We were blown away by this gorgeous cottage - spacious, tasteful, peaceful and beautiful. The owners have thought of everything that visitors could need to make a stay here so comfortable and such a pleasure. Everything is generously provided. Simply perfect!

Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing