We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Warm and cozy home”
other travellers have booked this property

Review of Botanica Homestay

The lounge/conservatory
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
The lounge/conservatory
The lounge/conservatory The second bedroom
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
11 reviews
The lounge/conservatory
The lounge/conservatory
The second bedroom
The hallway
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Private Room, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 4
Wellington, Greater Wellington, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 11 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dutch first
English first
Any
English first
sdg5360
Thornton, Colorado
2 reviews
“Warm and cozy home”
Reviewed 1 March 2016 for a stay in February 2016

What a wonderful place to stay! Lucien and Yas are such lovely hosts. Their home is warm , clean with all the amenities available. Their home was in the perfect location for our stay,being close to the ferry to South Island, and also outside the city of Wellington for peaceful walk and restaurants. Thank you so much for your hospitality in New Zealand.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Liked best: Location of property ,and lovely conversations with hosts
Liked least: There are some stairs to climb to property
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sue D
Auckland Central, New Zealand
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“An absolute gem.. so comfortable and welcoming.. we had a great time”
Reviewed 5 October 2015 for a stay in October 2015
1
person found this review helpful

We were so impressed by Botanica - the rooms, furnishings and amenities are lovely, with comfy beds and everything you need for a great stay.
We ordered breakfast for one day and ended up wishing we had ordered for both! It was very yummy and nicely presented.
Jos and Lucien are wonderful, friendly hosts - who make you feel welcome from the moment you arrive.
We would not hesitate to come back - and will be recommending to everyone we know.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The lovely hosts
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Families with young children
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
5 Oct 2015
Thanks so much for your kind words! Much appreciated! We lived having you here.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
BluewrenR...
Newcastle, Australia
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Just perfect!”
Reviewed 28 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Jos met us at the door like old friends, this was our first visit (but not our last!). The atmosphere, welcome, food, beds etc etc etc were all very warm, delicious and generous!
Thank you Jos & Lucien for being a part of our honeymoon, next time we will be booking for a longer stay! xx

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Peaceful, relaxing atmosphere.
Liked least: That we only booked one night.
Travelling group: Spouse/Partner
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
diane s
Brownfield, Maine
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful !”
Reviewed 9 March 2015 for a stay in February 2015
1
person found this review helpful

Botanica Homestay is a wonderful, quiet, comfortable experience! Lovely patio, delightful host and delicious breakfast, what could be better?? We loved it and highly recommend it. Very nice living spaces, including sunny breakfast porch!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Bathroom cleanliness
Other facilities & amenities Service
Liked best: warm host, comfortable environment, inside and out
Liked least: carrying our bags uphill
Travelling group: Friends
Your age range 65+
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FransMora...
Zwolle, The Netherlands
Level 6 Contributor
299 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 January 2018 for a stay in January 2018
Google Translation

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing