We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best fish n chip shop! ”

The Mt Vic Chippery
Ranked #72 of 1 063 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$16
Description: We believe The Chippery serves the best fish and chips and here's why... We know where our fish comes from and it's super fresh. Our fish gets landed in Wellington regularly by our very own commercial fisherman and we work with other local suppliers to ensure quality and variety year round. Our oysters come from farms in Bluff and Marlborough and are absolutely delicious! To make the best fish and chips we start with the best ingredients. We use the finest quality Wellington craft beer to make our batter. Our Agria chips are cut by hand. When it comes to our burgers, our beef patties are also made by hand using grass-fed brisket. We use free-range pork shoulder and slow roast it for 12 hours to make our pulled pork burgers the best in town. Our Free-range eggs come from Wellington and make our delicious aioli and tartare sauces. We also use only the best free-range Waitoa Chicken on our menu. We understand that some people are on a restricted diet and we offer a wide selection of gluten free dishes including a gluten free batter for our fish and seeded gluten free buns are available for our burgers. We even have a dedicated gluten free fryer; just remember to let us know which items you need cooking separately. The Chippery also offers plenty of vegetarian and vegan offerings. If you need anything special, just ask, we'd love to help. We were the first fish and chip shop to use online ordering and offer a delivery service to 14 suburbs in the central Wellington area! Welcome to the Chippery.
Restaurant details
Description: We believe The Chippery serves the best fish and chips and here's why... We know where our fish comes from and it's super fresh. Our fish gets landed in Wellington regularly by our very own commercial fisherman and we work with other local suppliers to ensure quality and variety year round. Our oysters come from farms in Bluff and Marlborough and are absolutely delicious! To make the best fish and chips we start with the best ingredients. We use the finest quality Wellington craft beer to make our batter. Our Agria chips are cut by hand. When it comes to our burgers, our beef patties are also made by hand using grass-fed brisket. We use free-range pork shoulder and slow roast it for 12 hours to make our pulled pork burgers the best in town. Our Free-range eggs come from Wellington and make our delicious aioli and tartare sauces. We also use only the best free-range Waitoa Chicken on our menu. We understand that some people are on a restricted diet and we offer a wide selection of gluten free dishes including a gluten free batter for our fish and seeded gluten free buns are available for our burgers. We even have a dedicated gluten free fryer; just remember to let us know which items you need cooking separately. The Chippery also offers plenty of vegetarian and vegan offerings. If you need anything special, just ask, we'd love to help. We were the first fish and chip shop to use online ordering and offer a delivery service to 14 suburbs in the central Wellington area! Welcome to the Chippery.
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Best fish n chip shop! prices are higher than any other fish n chop shop but so is the quality! I’m usually not a big fan of burgers but their eggplant and halloumi burger is to die for! I’m also not a big fan for chips either but guess what.. I could have a scoop of curly fries to myself! their fish is also amazing and their beer batter is probably my favorite

Thank JennaP882
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thechippery, General Manager at The Mt Vic Chippery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Thank you for taking the time to leave us some positive feedback. We hope to welcome you back to The Chippery very soon, Wellington's favourite fish and chips.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (321)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

13 - 17 of 321 reviews

Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

the fish and chips were not too greasy and tasty curly fries yum ...but the price of the fish was crazy the snapper was $14.50 i thought i would get at least 2 pieces nope only 1 small 120g piece which makes the snapper fillets about $112 a kilo ...should be called the robbery not the chippery ...partner had blue cod same small piece and that worked out to $136 a kilo seriously??? so $60 for 2 fish 2 chips 1 sausage 2 prawns and 2 sauces what a joke

1  Thank thomascampbel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
thechippery, General Manager at The Mt Vic Chippery, responded to this reviewResponded 5 July 2018

Our industry would be much more profitable if we used the calculations you have shown. However, the reality is that we must also pay for staff and other overheads such as power, rent, packaging and the other ingredients used to prepare your meal. It appears that you enjoy numbers, so here is how it works; For every dollar you spend with us, we spend 30% on food, 5% packaging, 35% wages, 20% overheads (rent and power) - and if we have done all of those things right and met budget the shareholders will make 10% profit. Let's not forget the IRD, they take a cut on income tax and GST. Hopefully, you don't find it disagreeable that we make a modest profit for all our hard work?

Fortunately, for those on a budget we display our prices clearly on our menu's and even show that out fish is cut to 120g raw weight. Clearly giving our customers an opportunity to decide if we are value for money, before handing over any cash. There are no surprises at The Chippery and indeed not a "robbery".

It appears you have chosen our most premium fish, which would come to no surprise as being expensive. Our point of difference is that we often have 4-8 fresh fish species listed and at least one of those would be half the cost of the Snapper and Blue Cod you had ordered and just as fresh and tasty. Alternatively, you could order our $12 lunch special; Fish, Chips, Slaw and a sauce? Joining our loyalty programme, earning points and getting access to weekly specials also provides another level of value.

But thank you for noting that our food tasty.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 June 2018 via mobile

We took away the Sole and Butterfish (if I got the name right), with the curly fries. All were great and yummy and I like that they pack in "pizza" boxes rather than just paper wrap. The sauce were a bit pricey ($2 for a really small amt) but u need sauce with chips, for sure. Love this place all the same!!

Thank Jenny T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 June 2018 via mobile

Always lovely service from the team. One of the best fish and chips we’ve had in NZ. Great loyalty programme which got me some freebies tonight. Great to see biodegradable cutlery as well as appropriate customer recycling and waste disposal. We have decided we need this minimum once a week in our lives ;)

Thank Donna N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 June 2018

Best Fish and chips in NZ - Period. Definitely worth looking up, get the chunky chips and die happy!

    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank BarryW1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Mt Vic Chippery also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to The Mt Vic Chippery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing