We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Food was great, service could”
Review of Dockside

Dockside
Reserve a table
Ranked #49 of 966 Restaurants in Wellington
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Seafood
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 28 January 2021 via mobile

Food was great, service could have been better. Waited over 10 minutes to be served for food and another 30 minutes for food to arrive when we asked ‘is this busy’ we were told ‘this is nothing’ ...

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank carolannenichols
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (1 016)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

10 - 14 of 1 017 reviews

Reviewed 28 January 2021

We had great service and a superb lunch, with a Baileys Cheesecake, which was one of the best deserts we have ever had!!!

Date of visit: January 2021
1  Thank Jim A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 January 2021

We enjoyed a relaxing meal, with attentive staff, great food and lovely location.

Food was good quality with a wide range of options. The staff were happy to explain the menu and provide helpful comments. Easy online booking to make the experience seamless.

It is also hard to go past the view when you are sitting at a water front table.

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank Roxy215
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 January 2021

Wonderful and interesting food, attentive and friendly service, and a gorgeous setting. This is one of our favourite places for lunch in Wellington, and can deliver for a special occasion or a more casual meal. Fabulous!

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank EDrysdale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 January 2021

We had been avoiding Dockside as we'd had repeated bad experiences a few years back.
We decided to give it another chance and see if much had changed. Delighted to say - The answer is yes. Gone are the looong waits for food and disorganised systems. We were there on a fairly busy Sunday afternoon and everything came out at a good pace. In fact we were even asked how we'd like the entrees and mains paced as we were just sharing the pate w sourdough for an entree among three.
The mushroom walnut pate was a big hit - truffle oil takes everything to the next level ;)
Two of us had the duck salad for a main which was a gorgeous blend of flavours, textures and colours. My vege daughter was pleased hear they had a plant-based menu (although I only knew this from the website. It's not mentioned anywhere so do ask if you're vegan). There are nice vegetarian options on the standard menu.
Desserts all got a big thumbs up (a torte, a cheescake and a creme brulee). The wines were reasonably priced. Huge bonus was the live entertainment (Carl Webley) with a very cruisey Sunday arvo playlist at the perfect volume. Really added to the experience.
My only comment would be - although the staff were polite, knowledgeable and efficient, it would be nice to see a bit more personality coming through to take it to a true five-star experience.
On the whole an enjoyable time on a windy rainy Welly day. The setting at Dockside is hard to beat in any weather. We'll be back

Date of visit: January 2021
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Review collected in partnership with www.restauranthub.co.nz
1  Thank N7005ORjacquelinem
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Dockside also viewed

Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 
Wellington, Greater Wellington
Wellington, Greater Wellington
 

Been to Dockside? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.