We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (329)
Filter reviews
329 results
Traveller rating
226
74
27
2
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
226
74
27
2
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviews thermal tub upstairs room the ground floor a great place to stay view of the lake rooms are spacious huge bathroom warm pool private balcony great room family unit stay there again lake taupo long drive comfy bed spa pool centre of town
Filter
Updating list...
10 - 15 of 329 reviews
Reviewed 4 April 2018

Friendly Patron and staff. Fantastically clean rooms - bright, light and airy and air conditioning if required. Gorgeous views of the lake from the deck. Whilst not in the centre of town, the walk along the shore is worth the effort, We will definitely be back to stay.

Room Tip: The Upper level rooms with decks have gorgeous views of the lake
  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Karen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 April 2018 via mobile

Our family (4 adults + 1 child) occupied two rooms over the easter weekend. Everyone was very happy with their room. The upstairs room had a great view over Lake Taupo - the room itself being spacious and very well appointed - the bathroom, with the spa bath and large shower was of very high quality. The kitchen facilities in the room were very well equipped, with nothing lacking. Overall we were more than happy - the one complaint - plug in bathroom basin being inoperative - was dealt with by the receipt of a complementary bottle of wine - this being because it was a holiday period with most businesses being closed so repair no possible - the wine was a perfect solution!
The rest of the family had a downstairs room - they were also more than happy with all the facilities, including the barbecue, pool and bar.
We found the owner, Simon and all his staff very friendly and helpful - thankyou all.
If we ever pass through Taupo again we will stay there and also have no problems recommending the Baycrest Lodge to other travellers.

Stayed: April 2018, travelled with family
Thank Graham C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 March 2018 via mobile

We were disappointed that the rooms were quite stuffy and had no air conditioning. Cleanliness was not up to par either, our bathroom had hair on the floor when we arrived. The bed was saggy and the hot tub was not at all what we expected. The pool is one area that we enjoyed but if the motel was full you’d be a bit cramped in the pool. The hosts were lovely, but saying that I’d not stay here again. Neither my husband or I got a good night sleep during our stay due to the room being so hot. This place needs a bit of updating, now there is a bigger choice of accommodation in Taupo, I’d choose somewhere with air conditioning for sure.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Sunlily6336
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 February 2018 via mobile

We stayed 1 night here on a recent trip around NZ.... The hosts were so friendly & accomodating I felt the need to right this review.

On checking in the host that greeted us advised that we had booked a ground floor room, but he would be happy to give us an upstairs one with a view. He gave us the keys to 2 rooms and told us we could have whichever we preferred. We were won over by the large balcony overlooking the beautiful lake Taupo, but the ground floor room with private hot tub was equally impressive.

The onsite pool is heated so ideal in all climates and I loved the adjoining indoor sitting area with an open bar with drinks paid using an honesty system.

Such a laid back atmosphere made for a great stay.

The only drawback was there was no aircon which made sleeping a little uncomfortable on the very warm night we were there.

Would definitely stay here again.

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank Florra02
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 January 2018 via mobile

Nothing was cheap at this time of year but baycrest at least felt like value for money with a big clean room, cooking facilities, spa bath and lovely balcony and view. The was also a thermal pool and laundry that we didn’t use. Would stay again!

Stayed: January 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank StyleUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews