We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Meal”

Marbles Buffet Restaurant
Ranked #27 of 191 Restaurants in New Plymouth
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$29
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Description: Dining will never be the same after your experience the magic of a night at Marbles Buffet. A huge variety, the choice will bewilder. Freshly baked breads, seafood, carvery, flavours from around the world a fabulous array of desserts, cheeses... The food is unbelievable, but the atmosphere needs to be experienced to be believed. Book now, and experience the magic of Marbles!
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

We took my brother and mother here for dinner and weren’t disappointed.
There was a plentiful variety of dishes available from the Buffet.
Staff were attentive and quick to clear away empty dishes and plates from tables.

Plenty of room for family groups and children as well as booths.
This restaurant caters for all groups.
.

Thank jen h
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 29 June 2018

Thanks for joining us Jen - we'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (226)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

20 - 24 of 226 reviews

Reviewed 10 June 2018 via mobile

Wow! What a change! What an improvement! I last visited this restaurant about three years ago and I swore I would never return. It was tired and dirty, staff were unfriendly and unhelpful and the food insipid and over cooked with little choice.

What a difference a couple of years has made. Restaurant has been refurbished and is clean and trendy, staff were friendly, helpful and attentive, and the food was well presented, excellently cooked and absolutely tasty.

A great family friendly restaurant, which was buzzing with excitement, and an awesome place to bring my 84 year old mother for a special meal.

Staff were friendly and attentive, and when they heard my mum thought they had steak, organised to have a steak cooked just for her!

Food was awesome. The chowder was thick and creamy and chockablock full of seafood. The cold sEafood choices were extensive, with my favourites being the chilli mussels and the oysters(which were super fresh).

Salad and cold meat selection was extensive, with the pineapple and coconut salad being my favourite.

The hot dish selection was extensive ranging from traditional roast beef and Yorkshire pudding to grilled fish, lamb tagine, chicken curry, beef curry, and pork belly.

Desserts were extensive including hot chocolate steam pudding, an extensive selection of mouses, fools and pavlova, fresh fruit and cream, cakes, eclairs and gateaux. And for the kids, classic soft serve ice cream. To finish, there were a selection of teas and coffees, some lovely cheeses, some fruit and biscuits.

While I could not try everything on offer, although sorely tempted, the presentation, attentiveness of staff in ensuring that noting ran out, and the festive atmosphere made for a pleasant evening.

A couple of downers though( although non so bad as to spoil the evening). There was only one disabled parking spot. While it’s was a pleasant night and my mother could take her time walking, if the night had been a little unpleasant it would have been different. The entry process was clumsy and left people standing for far too long. There must be a better way. The squid/calimari dish was insipid and tough (the only dish to disappoint), and the light in the disabled loos was not working.

All in all however an extremely pleasant evening. Thank you to all the staff at Marbles for making it so, and you, Mr Tennant for recognising that change was needed and been bold enough to persue the change.

I will be back and I absolute recommend for a fun filled family or group occasion.

Thank 869dougw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 10 June 2018

Thanks for joining us, and for your feedback.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2018 via mobile

Marbles had changed since we visited last.
It’s modernised in a lot of ways.
The food selection was good - but heavy on the meat and seafood.
Our vegetarian guest would have enjoyed a bit more variety of hot food.
Desserts were dreamy
Curry chicken, rice and poppadom was my favourite dish
Friendly staff frequently clearing tables. Excellent service.

Thank nzandreanz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 5 June 2018

Thanks for joining us.
We'd love to see you back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 April 2018

We took our son and our grandchildren to Marbles for a birthday dinner and everyone enjoyed themselves. The children got to swim in the pool before dinner which was a highlight for them. Having food to suit a cross section helps when taking children out for dinner. As our son and grandchildren come from Palmerston North they do not have a restaurant like this and this made it a novelty for them.

Thank MichaelP11195
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 28 April 2018

Thanks for joining us with your son and grandchildren Michael - we'd love to see you all back soon.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2018

We dined both nights we stayed in The Devon Hotel. A party of four (two couples). We all picked different things from the various sections of the buffet, and we all loved our dinner.
The buffet changed a bit each night, so we all had to reconnoiter the selection again the second night, but none of us was disappointed.
Friendly staff. A huge restaurant, but we felt pretty private on a small raised area (by the buffet) the first night, and in a (sort of) booth, the second night.
The chef cooking recognized us the second night, and recommended dishes he could cook to meet my wife's taste.
The wine list was not extensive, but had a few of our favourites.
Even if we were not staying at the hotel, we would come back to Marbles if in New Plymouth.

Thank Ben C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Peter T, Owner at Marbles Buffet Restaurant, responded to this reviewResponded 15 April 2018

Thanks Ben,
I'm thrilled you enjoyed your Marbles dinners, and you tested the creativity of our chefs - we love that.
We look forward to your next visit.
Kind regards,
Peter Tennent

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Marbles Buffet Restaurant also viewed

New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 
New Plymouth, Taranaki Region
 

Been to Marbles Buffet Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing