We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for the family!”
Review of Te Puia

Te Puia
Ranked #11 of 67 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Puia spans 70 hectares within the historic Te Whakarewarewa Valley, on the edge of town. We are home to the world famous Pohutu geyser, to mud pools, hot springs, to silica formations to the Kiwi bird and the national schools of wood carving, weaving, stone and bone carving. We have shared these treasures with manuhiri (visitors) for 170 years and proudly continue that legacy today.
Reviewed 17 June 2018

Not only beautiful, but so informative about the area and the Maori culture. Everyone was friendly and welcoming. Just make sure you show up at your allotted time, we were a little late and missed our tour. They accommodated us but our tour was shortened to make sure we made it for the show. Dinner was delicious too, make sure you try everything!

1  Thank Danielle L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Kia Ora,

We are glad to hear you enjoyed your visit to Te Puia with the Te Po combo experience. Our Te Po combo includes some really fascinating highlights of our maori culture through our guided tours and our breathtaking cultural performance.

With the traditionally prepared buffet being a real delight and watching the wonders of Mother Nature as Pohutu geyser erupts makes for an experience of a lifetime.

Thank you for your review we hope to see more of your family next time!

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4 656)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"kiwi house"
in 262 reviews
"guided tour"
in 390 reviews
"pohutu geyser"
in 226 reviews
"mud pools"
in 401 reviews
"maori culture"
in 700 reviews
"carving school"
in 71 reviews
"wood carving and weaving"
in 46 reviews
"kiwi bird"
in 157 reviews
"main geyser"
in 46 reviews
"evening experience"
in 68 reviews
"day pass"
in 60 reviews
"maori concert"
in 37 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 161 reviews
"southern hemisphere"
in 38 reviews
"new zealand"
in 239 reviews
"free tour"
in 37 reviews
"meeting house"
in 62 reviews
Filter

133 - 137 of 4 656 reviews

Reviewed 17 June 2018

As this was part of a tour, the time I spent there was short. Our guided tour started with a cultural performance. The significance and the legends etc behind each item was explained before each performance. (it's a pity that some of the tourists do not respect them and listen to the request of not standing during the welcome in spite of being asked many times!). the was the visit to the geyser and the mud pools! The sights around geyser was so amazing that I didn't know where to look. which ever way you turn your eyes you are met with an amazing sight. the best was the rainbow dancing in the water discharging form the geyser. Then it was off to see the kiwi birds and our group was lucky enough to see both birds. We also visited the wood carving and weaving schools.

We had an amazing guide called Carol who welcomed us to her family. Throughout the tour I did feel that I was her family and I wish I had more time just to be in her presence. I would definitely recommend this place and I would definitely visit again and spend more time here.

Thank Nadheera D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Kia ora Nadheera!

Yes, Aunty Carol is one of our exceptional guides who never ceases to amaze and entertain our visitors with her knowledge on the Geothermal valley, TeWhakarewarewatangaoteOpeTauaaWahiao. As many of our guides are the same we pride ourselves on being able to answer pretty much any question you can think of when it comes to Te Puia or the Valley.

I will be sure to Pass this on to Aunty Carol when I see her!

We Hope you enjoy the rest of your stay here in New Zealand and we wish you all the best on your travels.

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 June 2018 via mobile

We especially loved the local Maori performance, and appreciated being welcomed in and being able to learn about the culture. The geysers were cool to check out, and overall it was a great place to explore and wander around.

We were slightly disappointed that we couldn’t try the traditionally cooked Maori food that was on the menu, but the food was nice anyway.

Thank Craig-Melbourne91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Kia ora Craig,

Thank you for the lovely comments, glad to hear you enjoyed your time here with us at Te Puia.
Our Maori culture is something we pride ourselves on, and we are pleased to have shared that with you!

We are also disappointed you weren't able to try the food - if you wouldn't mind sending through an email to customerfeedback@tepuia.com explaining the situation we would love to try and understand this further!

Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you again.

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 June 2018 via mobile

Only a half day visit but was really worth it... could have stayed much longer. I finally got to see a Kiwi! The Geyser erupting is not to be missed and we managed to see it go twice. There was no problems with parking even though it seemed busy but I can imagine that might change in the summer. A great experience.

Thank Sue S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 17 June 2018

Kia ora Sue,

Our landscape truly is something else, the mud pools geysers and steaming vents all add to the Valley along with the Native birds and Trees plus the Maori culture! its really an experience you should not miss.

Thanks again for your lovely comment, we hope to see you again

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Was awesome place glad we didnt miss this the haka was great to see !
Hopefully when you go the Asians dont take over like they did to our tour

Thank Brett G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 15 June 2018

Kia ora Brett,

Thank you for the lovely comments, glad to hear you enjoyed your time here with us at Te Puia.
Our Maori culture is something we pride ourselves on, and we are pleased to have shared that with you

Thanks again for your review, we hope to see you again.

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Te Puia also viewed

 

Been to Te Puia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing