We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don’t miss the evening experience!”
Review of Te Puia

Te Puia
Book In Advance
More Info
US$36,93*
and up
Te Puia Maori Arts and Crafts Institute with...
Ranked #16 of 117 things to do in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Te Puia spans 70 hectares within the historic Te Whakarewarewa Valley, on the edge of town. We are home to the world famous Pohutu geyser, to mud pools, hot springs, to silica formations to the Kiwi bird and the national schools of wood carving, weaving, stone and bone carving. We have shared these treasures with manuhiri (visitors) for 170 years and proudly continue that legacy today.
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

My family and I purchased entrance tickets that allowed us to see the geothermal park during the day and experienced the evening cultural show and delicious banquet in the evening. We just came back to the hotel and relaxed for a few hours before being picked up by a van from Te Puia. It’s worth the money because the food was very good and the people hosting the event were fantastic explaining their culture and language. You will learn about the Maori people, their food and traditions through this culinary and cultural event. I highly recommend it!

1  Thank Lorna265
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Kia ora Lorna,

Seems like you enjoyed what Te Puia has to offer with our Te Po combo experience!. It is definitely a worthwhile experience where you can familiarize yourself with our Maori culture through our informative tours and outstanding cultural performances.

With the buffet being the highlight of the night we treat you to our traditionally prepared food. We hope you enjoyed the experience on the waka ride down to our valley to sit on our hot rocks and indulge in a hot chocolate watching our infamous Pohutu geyser.

Thank you so much for your feed back we hope you enjoy your journey around our beautiful country.

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (4 605)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages
All reviews
"kiwi house"
in 262 reviews
"guided tour"
in 390 reviews
"pohutu geyser"
in 226 reviews
"mud pools"
in 401 reviews
"maori culture"
in 700 reviews
"carving school"
in 71 reviews
"wood carving and weaving"
in 46 reviews
"kiwi bird"
in 157 reviews
"main geyser"
in 46 reviews
"evening experience"
in 68 reviews
"day pass"
in 60 reviews
"maori concert"
in 37 reviews
"cultural experience"
in 161 reviews
"southern hemisphere"
in 38 reviews
"new zealand"
in 239 reviews
"free tour"
in 37 reviews
"meeting house"
in 62 reviews
Filter

95 - 99 of 4 603 reviews

Reviewed 13 June 2018

I tried their Te Po (night tour) experience so my review is based on such condition.

Shuttle - The shuttle arrived before 6pm. The driver is friendly and initiates conversation to make the guests feel relax. Accordingly, it will bring you back to your hotel after the night tour.

Customer Service - I emailed their service desk for several questions and they happily responded promptly.

Food - such a FEAST!!! Plentiful of choices and they have an organized way of ensuring that there will be no chaos at the buffet lines.

Staff - very friendly, knowledgeable and polite.

Cultural show - a very good way to know something about the Maori culture.

Geyser - the feeling of walking around the geyser is so surreal. One of a kind experience. We were about to board our "train" when we all heard a rumbling sound, when all of a sudden, the geyser "danced" and "performed" in front of us.

1  Thank MartinR5898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Kia ora Martin,

Thank you for your awesome review! We appreciate that you took the time to individually rate all aspects of our Te Po combo experience - this assists not only our manuhiri (visitors), but also us here at Te Puia|NZMACI with quality assurance.

Our staff are awesome especially with making our manuhiri (guests) feel as though they are whanau (family)! Pohutu itself though is truly a sight to behold, erupting up to 30m high it really is something else.

Thanks again for your lovely comments, we hope to see you again.

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Visiting Te Puia allowed us to tick a few things off - cultural experience, geothermal sights and seeing a live Kiwi! So glad we visited here. It was well organised with tour guides full of interesting information. The cultural experience, while not included in the general admission price, was well worth seeing and paying extra for. They’re currently renovating the restaurant area and once completed will again add to the experience of visitors. We also liked and appreciated the fact that proceeds from our visit supported the attached national schools of carving and weaving.

Thank Julia P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Tena koe Julia,

We appreciate the review you have given us it seems like you ticked off all the highlights of what Rotorua has to offer which is what we are here for. So very happy that we could accommodate for those needs!

We here at Te Puia would like to wish you safe travels while on holiday and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We visited Te Puia as part of a group tour. It was fascinating! I am so appreciative that the Maori culture is staying alive and educating visitors. We watched carvers meticulously carving wood objects and saw weavers and their craft. Our tour guide was lovely and I immensely enjoyed hearing the history of the Maori people. I would love to go back and have more time to explore.

Thank TRIPSTER077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Tena Koe,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our little bit of paradise down here at Te Puia! We are so proud of our schools and the beautiful artwork created through weaving and carving.

Thank you for the kind review and we here at Te Puia would like to wish you all the best on your travels.

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
See more reviews
Reviewed 12 June 2018

A visit to this place reminds us about the formation of Earth. Other that Geyser, one can also watch Kiwi birds (in captivity) and learn about Maori culture. This is possibly the best attraction in north island of New Zealand. According to me this is a must visit place.

Thank Royadip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Tena Koe,

You are very welcome! Glad to hear we could be of service and that you had a wonderful geothermal and Maori cultural experience, it is what we strive for with all our visitors. I think seeing Pohutu erupt is one of my favourites as every time it’s just so spectacular especially if you catch the initial eruption, with the bubbling mud pools boiling pools and vents all just adding to the geothermal wonders.

Thank you for your kind review! We hope you choose to visit us again sometime soon.

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Te Puia also viewed

 

Been to Te Puia? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing