We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Open today: 09:00 - 17:00
Save
Book In Advance
  
Ways to Experience Te Puia
from US$39,30
More Info
from US$89,80
More Info
from US$75,80
More Info
from US$34,40
More Info
Reviews (4 750)
Filter reviews
4 750 results
Traveller rating
2 594
1 529
456
118
53
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
2 594
1 529
456
118
53
Show reviews that mention
All reviews kiwi house guided tour mud pools pohutu geyser maori culture carving school wood carving and weaving kiwi bird main geyser evening experience day pass maori concert cultural experience new zealand free tour meeting house gift shop
Filter
Updating list...
218 - 223 of 4 750 reviews
Reviewed 13 June 2018

I tried their Te Po (night tour) experience so my review is based on such condition.

Shuttle - The shuttle arrived before 6pm. The driver is friendly and initiates conversation to make the guests feel relax. Accordingly, it will bring you back to your hotel after the night tour.

Customer Service - I emailed their service desk for several questions and they happily responded promptly.

Food - such a FEAST!!! Plentiful of choices and they have an organized way of ensuring that there will be no chaos at the buffet lines.

Staff - very friendly, knowledgeable and polite.

Cultural show - a very good way to know something about the Maori culture.

Geyser - the feeling of walking around the geyser is so surreal. One of a kind experience. We were about to board our "train" when we all heard a rumbling sound, when all of a sudden, the geyser "danced" and "performed" in front of us.

Date of experience: May 2018
1  Thank MartinR5898
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Kia ora Martin,

Thank you for your awesome review! We appreciate that you took the time to individually rate all aspects of our Te Po combo experience - this assists not only our manuhiri (visitors), but also us here at Te Puia|NZMACI with quality assurance.

Our staff are awesome especially with making our manuhiri (guests) feel as though they are whanau (family)! Pohutu itself though is truly a sight to behold, erupting up to 30m high it really is something else.

Thanks again for your lovely comments, we hope to see you again.

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 June 2018 via mobile

Visiting Te Puia allowed us to tick a few things off - cultural experience, geothermal sights and seeing a live Kiwi! So glad we visited here. It was well organised with tour guides full of interesting information. The cultural experience, while not included in the general admission price, was well worth seeing and paying extra for. They’re currently renovating the restaurant area and once completed will again add to the experience of visitors. We also liked and appreciated the fact that proceeds from our visit supported the attached national schools of carving and weaving.

Date of experience: June 2018
Thank JuliaP725
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 13 June 2018

Tena koe Julia,

We appreciate the review you have given us it seems like you ticked off all the highlights of what Rotorua has to offer which is what we are here for. So very happy that we could accommodate for those needs!

We here at Te Puia would like to wish you safe travels while on holiday and we hope to see you again sometime soon.

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

We visited Te Puia as part of a group tour. It was fascinating! I am so appreciative that the Maori culture is staying alive and educating visitors. We watched carvers meticulously carving wood objects and saw weavers and their craft. Our tour guide was lovely and I immensely enjoyed hearing the history of the Maori people. I would love to go back and have more time to explore.

Date of experience: March 2018
Thank TRIPSTER077
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Tena Koe,

Glad to hear that you enjoyed our little bit of paradise down here at Te Puia! We are so proud of our schools and the beautiful artwork created through weaving and carving.

Thank you for the kind review and we here at Te Puia would like to wish you all the best on your travels.

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018

A visit to this place reminds us about the formation of Earth. Other that Geyser, one can also watch Kiwi birds (in captivity) and learn about Maori culture. This is possibly the best attraction in north island of New Zealand. According to me this is a must visit place.

Date of experience: May 2018
Thank Royadip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Tena Koe,

You are very welcome! Glad to hear we could be of service and that you had a wonderful geothermal and Maori cultural experience, it is what we strive for with all our visitors. I think seeing Pohutu erupt is one of my favourites as every time it’s just so spectacular especially if you catch the initial eruption, with the bubbling mud pools boiling pools and vents all just adding to the geothermal wonders.

Thank you for your kind review! We hope you choose to visit us again sometime soon.

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 June 2018 via mobile

The mud pools and geysers at Te Puia didn’t knock our socks off as we expected. They weren’t as good as Wai-OTapu and the Maori cultural performance was underwhelming.

Date of experience: February 2018
Thank CindyR54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
TePuia, Quality Assurance Coordinator at Te Puia, responded to this reviewResponded 12 June 2018

Kia ora,

We're sorry that you feel this way, Te Puia spans 70 hectares within the historic Te Whakarewarewa Geothermal Valley, on the edge of Rotorua. We are home to the world famous Pōhutu geyser, mud pools, hot springs and silica formations. You will also find the native Kiwi bird and the national schools of wood carving, weaving, stone and bone carving. We have shared these taonga (treasures) with manuhiri (visitors) for over 170 years and proudly continue that tradition today.

The people of our valley have been hosting visitors from around the world since the beginning of tourism in New Zealand, almost 200 years ago, which has instilled our philosophy of manaakitanga (hosting). Our legacy of welcoming tourists and ensuring they have the best possible experience is a guiding principle and intrinsic to the way we operate. Many of the guides at Te Puia are direct descendants of the original guides of the valley to continue this legacy.

If you wish to discuss this matter further, please email us at customerfeedback@tepuia.com

Ngā Mihi
Te Puia Whanau

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews