We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not too bad”
Review of Lone Star Rotorua

Lone Star Rotorua
Ranked #33 of 284 Restaurants in Rotorua
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$3 - US$27
Cuisines: American, Steakhouse, Cafe, New Zealand
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2018 via mobile

Went to Lone Star for quick dinner last night. The food was quite good, and the waiters was very friendly.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank barefootlouise
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (690)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

25 - 29 of 690 reviews

Reviewed 25 June 2018

I am a food snob and I was not really looking forward to eating here, franchise etc etc. But wow, how wrong was I?????
We had the Dixie Chicken, Maverick Fillet and a kids Hot Dog. All was fantastic. Service was great, food cooked amazing.
Desserts were also amazing - Big Plates too.
Will definitely be back again soon!

Date of visit: June 2018
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank k2512b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 June 2018 via mobile

Visited Lone Star weekend 08/06/18 whilst on conference.Staff were super accommodating..we requested a table with a TV view to watch NZ vs France. Got just what we ordered TV , great food friendly staff . Thank team.

Date of visit: June 2018
Thank Lulu P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 June 2018 via mobile

Listen I’ll be honest by saying I wouldn’t normally go to a Lone Star and I would select something independent
The weather was wet and wild and this place is directly across the road so went for the easy option

I ate on two evenings and was not disappointed
Lamb shanks are tasty and served hot and quickly
Day two was the Chicken Burrito and again delicious and timely
The customer service was good as was cleanliness and general ambiance
So moral of the tale is when all you want is good food Lone Star is just the ticket

Date of visit: June 2018
1  Thank RichardS946
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 May 2018 via mobile

The new premise is way better located than the old one....very close to Eat Street.
Nice easy flow,friendly staff(although one of the local native was rude,needs an attitude adjustment),also I asked three times for a sharp steak knife,this is basically a Steak joint,so have sharp knives for that purpose,not some cheap piece of rubbish from draw four.
So clean up that part of your act and Lone star is pretty much a good eat.

Date of visit: April 2018
Thank jeremyg496
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Lone Star Rotorua also viewed

Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 
Rotorua, Rotorua District
 

Been to Lone Star Rotorua? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing