We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Appledore Lodge
Nearby Hotels
Kingsgate Hotel Autolodge Paihia(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$92
US$87
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
US$205
US$144
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
US$91
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$136
US$127
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$249
US$208
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$116
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Outrigger Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$95
US$92
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Edelweiss Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$60
US$58
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Bounty Motel(Paihia)(Great Value!)
US$71
US$64
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$87
US$72
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (286)
Filter reviews
286 results
Traveller rating
274
12
0
0
0
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
274
12
0
0
0
Show reviews that mention
All reviewswaitangi riverb bnew zealandoutstanding hospitalitythe main housebooking activitieshomemade muffinsgreat hostsbreakfast was deliciouswarm hospitalityuseful informationperfect place to stayglass of wineboat tripour honeymoonstayed longernice room
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 286 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Immediately welcomed by Colleen and Ashley and given lots of local tips and information. The accommodation backs onto the Waitangi River and offers a wonderful place for relaxing. We did a lot of sightseeing in the area, including a boat trip to the Hole in the Rock that Colleen booked for us. It was lovely to come back and relax in the garden with a beer. Would love to return here.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank OurWeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your kind words. The Lodge is a wonderful haven slightly out of Paihia and as you say, a great place to relax, be it in the garden or at the pool overlooking the river.The trips on offer are really well done and showcase the beauty of the Bay of Islands extremely well. We would love to see you back again! Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

arrival: a deep breath of seeing such a wonderfull landscape and atmosphere after a long day of driving! A lovely appartement with its view over the river and fields. Most friendly and helpfull hosts. It was very familier ... the best B&B we had on our 14 days trip over the north island. Thank you so much from Birgit and Gunter

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank 729birgit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Birgit and Gunter, What a lovely review- thank you very much. It is always so good for us to know that our guests have ahd a great time here with us, and in the Bay of Islands. I hope we see you again when you visit family next time. Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

From the moment we arrived we were made to feel extremely welcome and 'at home.' This is a truly stunning location for a B&B overlooking the river in immaculately tended gardens. It was a pleasure to sit out on our own private decking and relax in the daylight hours and amazing also to 'stargaze' at night. All accommodation and the main residence have fabulous panoramic views of the river and countryside and associated wildlife. Breakfast was delightful and served impeccably with a smile. Our hosts Colleen and Ashley were extremely hospitable, very friendly and helpful throughout our stay. They offered lots of information in relation to the local area, available trips and sightseeing etc. We really couldn't have asked for anymore ( apart from a longer stay!!). We enjoyed chatting to you greatly. Many, many thanks to you both. Caro, & Alan. (March 2018).

Room Tip: All rooms, suites and cottage immaculate and presented to a very high standard. Slept soundly each night.
Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank carol R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

You were such easy, lovely guests to entertain and the week you spent here was almost like having family with us. Thank you for your kind words and for sharing your time with us. Remember, next time make sure to set aside a day for the Hamilton Garden ! Warm regards, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago via mobile

Colleen and Ashley could not be more welcoming. The property is beautifully located on the Waitangi River and is extremely confortable. We would not hesitate in returning or recommending Appledore. It is also great that our hosts were so generous with their time and in helping us with really useful information and recommendations.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

It was a real joy to host you both and to enjoy chatting. Today, the river is sparkling and there is an autumnal hint in the air, so the outlook is just lovely. A little more heartening than looking out at all the rain we have had! I am so glad that our recommendations worked well for you and we wish you happy travels throughout New Zealand. Kind regards, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

What can be worse than starting a vacation with missing luggage? That is exactly what happened to us! Fortunately we were booked at the Appledore Lodge and our host Colleen and Ashley went above and beyond to help us. They were helpful in making phone calls, tracking down the piece of luggage and retrieving it once it was found! We are beyond grateful for everything they did.
Their property is charming, and is well located. Breakfast is good, and enough food to get you started for a day of sightseeing. Both Collen and Ashley are great resources for information about the area and will even help in securing reservations for restaurants, boat rides, etc. should you need them. Highly recommend Appledore Lodge if you are traveling to the Bay of Islands.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wendy s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
sheepgalore, Owner at Appledore Lodge, responded to this reviewResponded 4 weeks ago

You two were a real treat to entertain and we feel very privileged that you made the trip up north to stay with us on the recommendation of your friends. Thank you. I trust that no further luggage disasters occurred and that Marvin packed some extra clothes into his carry on for the final leg home! Kind regards and fond memories, Colleen and Ashley

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews