We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“What a wonderful place”
other travellers have booked this property
View from apartment
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
View from apartment
Apartment deck Lounge
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
12 reviews
View from apartment
Apartment deck
Lounge
Dining / TV
Laundry
Paihia Wharf
Paihia beach
Sunrise
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Condo/Apartment -
1 Bedroom, 1 Bathroom, Sleeps 2
Paihia, Bay of Islands, Northland Region, North Island

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 12 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

roderick...
North Yorkshire, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“What a wonderful place”
Reviewed 18 November 2019 for a stay in October 2019

The perfect location for a stay in Bay of Islands.
We were delighted by the warm welcome from Pam and Murray and all the helpful tips they provided about the area.
We thoroughly enjoyed our 10 night stay here in this lovely bright, self contained apartment with its own private entrance and balcony. The view was magnificent- as was the view of the stars at night. The accommodation consists of a large open plan kitchen, sitting and dining area, separate bedroom, bathroom and laundry. It is very well equipped. Pam and Murray have thought of everything here, making us feel very much at home - including a welcome bottle of wine in the fridge.
A few minutes walk from the garden took us to a very quiet, beautiful beach and walking into town with plentiful restaurants was about 10 minutes.
This was a great base for visiting the North land and we will definitely stay here again if we visit Bay of Islands.

Date of stay: October 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
20 Nov 2019
Hi Rod and Pauline
We are delighted that you enjoyed our apartment so much and everything it had to offer.
Thank you so much for leaving the apartment spotless and we would welcome you back anytime in the future.
All the best for all your travels.
Kind regards Pam and Murray
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kerrie N
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful hosts, spectacular views!”
Reviewed 29 March 2019 for a stay in March 2019

Pam & Murray have created an amazing apartment with everything you could ever need, and with views to die for! We enjoyed a day just sitting on the deck relaxing. They are both warm and inviting hosts with loads helpful tips on the area. Our only regret is staying 3 days, simply not enough!
Cheers guys till next time.

Date of stay: March 2019
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bettina M
Berlin, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Delightful stay with amazing views!”
Reviewed 6 March 2019 for a stay in March 2019
2
people found this review helpful

Pam and Murray welcomed us to the apartment upon arrival with a smile and were very helpful telling us about the surroundings and giving us tips on where to eat and what to do. They even lend us a beach umbrella so that we could go out and explore the beaches and be safe under the strong sun. 



The location is great, just a 10 to 15-minute walk into the village with nice restaurants and with great views over the water. From the village you can also take the ferry (5 minutes) across the water to Russel, I can highly recommend to do this. Walk through the city, visit the beautiful Long Bay beach and enjoy a wonderful meal at The Gables. 



The apartment has everything you need: a washing machine, rack to hang your laundry, a nice balcony with amazing views, beach towels, very fluffy bathrobes, and if you fancy they even have a bottle of tasty so that you can enjoy a nightcap under the stars (tip: when it is absolutely dark go outside on the balcony or grass and enjoy the view of a thousand stars, it’s very impressive). 



I don't think we could have come across a better place to stay and we were sorry we had already booked the next accommodation ahead and could not stay longer! Thank you, Pam and Murray, for making our first days in New Zealand so great.

Date of stay: March 2019
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
19 Mar 2019
Dear Bettina and Oliver
Thank you for taking the time to write such a nice review of your stay at Panorama Heights.
We are so glad you found everything to your liking and that you enjoyed your visit to the Bay of Islands. It is a special part of the world and we love sharing it with our guests.
Hope the rest of your stay in New Zealand was as enjoyable and hope perhaps to see you back this side of the world one day.
Kind regards Murray and Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alan W
1 review
“Perfect couples luxury retreat”
Reviewed 5 March 2018 for a stay in February 2018

Superb location overlooking the Bay and Islands beyond.
Murray and Pam couldn’t have been more hospitable and friendly and advised us on the various trips, places of interest and restaurants.in the area. (Would highly recommend Alfresco).
The apartment was very comfortable with many luxury touches - from the chilled bottle of wine in the fridge to the nightcap of a wee port in the bedroom.
The weather was awful for our two night stay but it didn’t detract from our overall enjoyment of Panormam Heights and Paihia.
Hope to return next year.

Date of stay: February 2018
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Mar 2018
Hi folks. Thank you for your complimentary review of your stay at Panorama Heights. And yes you certainly didn't get good weather but so pleased you didn't let that spoil your time too much. Am glad you enjoyed one our local restaurants, Alfrescoes, and would love to see you back up here in the Bay of Islands some time in the future.
Kind regards Murray and Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HCE4
Wicklow, Ireland
Level 4 Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Perfect, just what we needed!”
Reviewed 18 February 2018 for a stay in January 2018

Not hard to find, if you do your home work beforehand. We met Pam and Murray there, they were very genuine, friendly and welcoming. The Apartment is the lower level of their house, where you have your own entrance and balcony. Incredible views from balcony where you can sit and have a meal etc. or just chill and enjoy The Apartment itself was lovely, clean well kept and spacious. They seemed to think of everything from breakfast, tea and coffee to clothes detergent, robes etc. etc. and a bottle of wine and some port ( a nice touch). We could just relax and enjoy ourselves there, when we weren’t out and about enjoying all the Bay of Islands and the North had to offer! Just what we needed, perfect! Pam and Murray were both so very helpful, in short wonderful hosts. Definitely worth a look, would stay there again in a heartbeat! Thanks so much for everything, Heath

Date of stay: January 2018
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
27 Feb 2018
Hi Heath and Helen
Thank you so much for your kind review of your stay at Panorama Heights. Am so glad you enjoyed yourselves and were able to relax and enjoy our facilities. Although the weather was not perfect, you certainly made the most of your time here in the Bay of Islands and got a dive in.
Hope you had a good time in Sydney on your way home catching up with family.
We see it is pretty cold over your side of the world and we here are sweltering in high humidity.
Would welcome you both back anytime and all the best for any other travels you make.
Cheers Murray and Pam
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, Tripadvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.