We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Acoustics in the restaurant even though busy, didn't interfere with our dining guests hearing aid.”

The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar
Reserve a table
Ranked #23 of 212 Restaurants in Napier
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: US$7 - US$29
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Reservations
Reviewed 28 June 2019

We took friends out for dinner and chose The Gintrap So Glad we did. We all enjoyed our courses wines & service. The restaurant was busy and it was interesting in that our friend with us who has a hearing aid commented that the acoustics in the restaurant meant his hearing aid didn't get interference so he was able to converse easily. These are things that you do not consider normally so I was happy to learn that.
The photos have descriptions of each course. ALL were well worth ordering.

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank grannygeeha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnabelDavenport, Manager at The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2019

Thank you for your amazing review grannygeeha! We are happy to hear you all enjoyed your time with us and that our acoustics didn't interfere with your friends hearing aids so he could converse easily.
We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (434)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

51 - 55 of 434 reviews

Reviewed 16 June 2019

Popped in here for lunch and pleased we did.... good selection on the menu... something for everyone...
Hubby said Caesar salad rated up there as one of the best he had had... but would have like anchovies to make it the best..
Good size servings....

Date of visit: June 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank karenj279
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnabelDavenport, Manager at The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 3 July 2019

Thank you for your lovely review Karen, we are pleased to hear your hubby rated our ceaser as one of the best. Next time you are in just ask one of the staff to add anchovies to your ceaser and we are more then happy to do it. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 June 2019 via mobile

Excellent meals and portions! Thank you to Dan and the team for a lovely dining experience. Fantastic salads and a lovely selection of drinks.

Date of visit: May 2019
Thank 594oliviav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnabelDavenport, Manager at The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2019

Thanks for the great review! I will pass your thanks on to Dan and the team. We hope to see you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2019

Great atmosphere, we sat in the main dining room on a Saturday night, it was busy but not too loud. The drink menu has lots of gin options, and several tonic options. You can get just the tonic to drink if you want, which I thought was neat. Food was very good. My table ordered the risotto, lamb chops, and pork belly, all of which were entrees. The portion sizes were good, the flavor was fantastic. Highly recommend!

Date of visit: May 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank noturavggurl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnabelDavenport, Manager at The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2019

Thank you for taking the time to write us a great review. We are happy to hear you had a great time with us on Saturday night and enjoyed your meals.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2019

This is a pub/eating house were old friends meet. Every year we visit Napier and this is were we meet up with friends and family for a late afternoon gathering..Relatively low cost beer and food,.Good views over the "Iron Pot" (local name for that part of the Bay) and glorious sunsets all combine for a pleasant evening for small to moderate size groups.

Date of visit: March 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Robinjyates
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
AnnabelDavenport, Manager at The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar, responded to this reviewResponded 6 June 2019

Thank you Robinjyates for your review. We are happy to hear you visit us every time you are in Napier. We look forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar also viewed

Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
Napier, Hawke's Bay Region
 

Been to The Gintrap Restaurant & Bar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.