We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Grand Mercure Auckland
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel Grand Windsor(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Internet
Stamford Plaza Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Restaurant
Hotel DeBrett(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Breakfast included
M Social Auckland(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Shakespeare Tavern & Hotel(Auckland Central)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Internet
View Hotel
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Pool
  • Fitness centre
Reviews (276)
Filter reviews
276 results
Traveller rating
131
112
18
10
5
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
131
112
18
10
5
Show reviews that mention
All reviewstop floorvue restaurantcustoms streetgreat locationamazing views of the harboursky busskybus stopqueen streetjunior suiteaccor membershopping and restaurantssky towernice hotelcentrally located hotelwalking distancerecommend this hotelsmall gym
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
21 - 26 of 276 reviews
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Extremely pleased with this hotel. The location is perfect at the bottom of Queen Street and one block from the waterfront. It's also next to the airport bus stop. The hotel is modern and stylish, the rooms are small but very comfortable. The breakfast was excellent. Everyone working at the hotel was friendly and professional. Will definitely stay here next time we are in Auckland

Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank ianf22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure A, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear ianf22,

Thank you for your amazing feedback and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor. I am so glad to read that you enjoyed your recent stay with us and that our central location was a great highlight of your stay.

Once again, thank you for your precious time and please come back to stay with again if your travels bring you back to Auckland!

Ciao,
Carla Bencivenga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

This hotel is very comfortable and central, close to the harbour and Ferry Building and at the bottom of Queen Street. The restaurant lets it down however as the service is poor and many of the waiters seem to think they are too cool to provide customer care. The reception staff however are exceptional.

Stayed: March 2018, travelled as a couple
Thank gloriamundi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure A, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear gloriamundi,

Thank you for choosing us and for sharing your experience on TripAdvisor.
It is fantastic to read that you had a comfortable stay with us and that our central location was very handy for your city tour around Auckland! We love seeing our valuable guests take advantage of our proximity to so many wonderful attractions.
I am glad to read as well that our dedicated team of story tellers at the front desk were exceptional, i will share with them your kind word.
I am very sorry to hear about the service issue you had in the restaurant. Should you wish to discuss your experience further please do get in touch with me, my email is h1721-dm5@accor.com. I am sure that the Food and Beverage manager will appreciate more details, so that he can investigate further the matter.

Once again, thank you for your precious time and we look forward to welcoming you back if your travels bring you back to Auckland.

Ciao,
Carla Bencivenga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed at this Hotel for one night before we boarded a ship in Auckland. Our room was good the bed and pillows were very comfortable. The best part was the next day the hotel was in easy walking distance to the ship so we didn't need to get a taxi, we wheeled our cases the short distance to the pier and dropped them off,then we and had a coffee to fill in time before we boarded the ship.

Stayed: February 2018
Thank 410marionw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure A, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear 410marionw,

Thank you so much for taking the time to provide us with such a valuable feedback.
I am thrilled to hear that our location made your experience with us even more comfortable, i agree that we have the best placement in the city and we love sharing it with our treasured guests.
I hope you had a great time on the ship and please come back to stay with us again if your travels bring you back to Auckland.

Ciao,
Carla Bencivenga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Hotel that is located conveniently by the harbour and is close to Britomart restaurants and Viaduct. It is also a short walk to Queen street for Shopping. To the airport, it is located just next to the Skybus stop which connects to the Airport directly or via their lounge.

  • Stayed: March 2018, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank vernonlyz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure A, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear vernonlyz,

Thank you for choosing the Grand Mercure Auckland and for taking the time to share your experience on TripAdvisor.
I am very pleased to read your compliments to our unbeatable location, it is wonderful to learn that our location was perfect for your trip to Auckland and that you made a good use of it.

Please come back to stay with us if your travels bring you back to Auckland!

Ciao,
Carla Bencivenga

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

We stayed three nights before our cruise. It was a perfect hotel for our pre-cruise stay as we were able to walk to the ship with our rolling luggage. Also waliking distance to ferries and restaurants.
Rooms clean but on the smaller side. Nepresso coffee maker really nice!
Front desk not the most friendly; when we checked in the clerk offered no information about the room or hotel.
Coffee bar in lobby nice and girls that work there are super friendly.
Enjoyed a nice glass of wine from the top floor restaurant.
Overall a good value for Auckland but service not really equal to the room rate charged.

  • Stayed: February 2018, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chris B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mercure A, Guest Relations Manager at Grand Mercure Auckland, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Dear Chris B,

I am honored you chose to stay with us and thank you for taking the time to leave a feedback on TripAdvisor.
It is fantastic to read that our central location and competitive pricing were perfect for your trip to Auckland. The great team at Custom Lane Cafe will be delighted to hear your kind words, i will make sure to share with them your feedback. I am very sorry to hear instead that you did not experience the same service from our team at the front desk, please rest assured that i will address your concern to the Front Office manager, she will use your feedback for training purposes and will take the necessary steps to prevent similar occurrence.

Once again, thank you for your precious time and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.

Ciao,
Carla Bencivenga


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews