We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The Tripadvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Goodbye Argentina”

El Asador Argentinian Grill
Ranked #855 of 1 659 Restaurants in Perth
Neighbourhood: Perth CBD
Restaurant details
Neighbourhood: Perth CBD
Reviewed 4 weeks ago

Arrived just before 8.30, assured by phone that restaurant open until 9.30. Ordered buffet mixed grills for $110. Food arrived about 10min sitting down and looked like it had been reheated, not freshly cooked. Barely warm and over cooked. Freshest and the best was the salad.
Definitely not $110 worth of food at all.
After mentioning to waitress that the meats weren't hot was,was told the kitchen had closed when we walked in.

Date of visit: January 2021
Thank Gednie72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a reviewReviews (33)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

3 - 7 of 34 reviews

Reviewed 8 February 2020

What a complete disappointment. Service slow and not attentive and not helpful. No champagne flutes and when the table next to us arrive (it was only 7.20pm at this stage) they had run out of wine glasses!!!

Started with empanadas...they were actually OK. Then everything went down hill.

Wanted to order the pork shoulder..apparently 7.20pm on a Saturday night they had already run out...seriously? So husband and I ordered the rump, chips & bearnaise sauce with sides of vegetables and the lentil salad. Son ordered the lamb ribs, chips, lentil salad. We had asked for medium rare...there was no medium rare to be seen completely well done. The chips were crispy shards of chips. The lentil salad was supposed to be lentils, beetroot and feta. I think there were shard of beetroot and no feta to be seen and the vegetable were carrots and crunchy potato with bits of onion and a couple of mulchy cherry tomatoes cut in half. The son's lamb rack was SO fatty he could hardly eat anything.

When asked how the meal was we told the waitress and she came back and said 'well you should have told us at the start'...we may have if we had even seen her! Then she said do you want us to cook you another meal now so we can do better? Seriously??? I would have preferred a discount/lamb removed from bill.

If you want good service and good food do not go to El Asador. And it is not cheap...most meals are around the $40 mark!!!

Date of visit: February 2020
Thank leeleecycle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 25 August 2019

We came here for my mum's 70th birthday dinner, 3 teens 1 child and 5 adults, we adults ordered the share platter that included chicken wings lamb and beef ribs rump steak and salsa criolla. The teens ordered the 25 dollar burger with chips. and there was one child meal of steak and chips with a juice and icecream, the little one ordered apple juice. We got our platters without the salsa criolla or the chicken wings. The teens didnt get their chips with their burgers . And the childs meal had no ice cream, they had 'run out of icecream' and there was only orange juice available.
As it was a birthday celebration we were all busy chatting away and eating and then realised that we didnt get the chips or chicken wings so we mentioned it to the waitress, she went away to find out what happened, we asked for a couple of more beers . She never came back and we had to go and get our own beer and wine and water. Service was poor. Waitress came back to apologise about the chips and that they will start cooking them now, by that time we had our dinner so we said no dont worry, we would like to order desert. So we ordered the icecream for the child and 2 churros an alfajore and a brownie. The waitress comes back to tell us there is no ice cream so we said can the child have a churro instead? so we waited for a while and got our deserts, 4 churros. we only ordered 3, so she goes back and takes the extra churro and comes back with the rest of the order, but get this the brownie has "ice cream" with it?? yet they have run out of ice cream for the childs meal. At the end of the night we spoke to the chef and said to him that the meal was ok but dissapointing with the service and things missing? he said he had run out of chicken, but we pointed out to him that the people next to us had chicken wings? he got flustered and just wanted to go back to his cooking. He said that he has given us 10 dollars off the burgers and that was it . We will not be coming back. The quality of the meat wasnt great, it was cheap cuts and fatty and grissly also the ribs hardly had any meat on them and the childs steak wasnt touched as it was very dry and chewy. over all very dissapointing night.

Date of visit: August 2019
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Alex_Traveller67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 July 2019 via mobile

We love El Asador , the food is great , the atmosphere is so welcoming , the open coal fire really adds to it , & its BYO !
We have eaten there twice in the past three weeks .
The first time was a group of 6 of us .
We started with the delicious home made empanadas , I could actually eat these all night .We had a mixture of vegetarian , meat & chicken , they really are wonderful .

For our mains , there was much laughter around the table as we tried to zero in on our dishes .
Two people had The Meat Lovers , which really is as the name suggests , it was a big hit .
I had the slow cooked pork shoulder , served with sweet potato chips & coleslaw & that too was delicious .
Other people enjoyed the Cordero & the chicken .
We ordered the roast vegetables as a side & they were excellent .
A variety of vegetables were served in a small enamel baking dish .
They came out super hot & full of flavour .

It’s a fun place , & we look forward to our next visit .

Date of visit: June 2019
2  Thank robynh110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 June 2019 via mobile

Tucked away in North Perth, this small restaurant cooks high quality meat to perfection. We also had croquettes and empanitas for starters which were delicious and churros for desert that were to die for. Give it a try, you won’t be disappointed!

Date of visit: June 2019
Thank AlanPerth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed El Asador Argentinian Grill also viewed

 
Perth, Greater Perth
Subiaco, Greater Perth
 

Been to El Asador Argentinian Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing
US$USD
South Africa
© 2021 TripAdvisor LLC All rights reserved.

This is the version of our website addressed to speakers of English in South Africa. If you are a resident of another country or region, please select the appropriate version of Tripadvisor for your country or region in the drop-down menu.